We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine but lacked polish”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel De Pelikaan Texel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in De Koog
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed here at the end of July with my son on a cycling holiday.

The hotel is really quite large. The public spaces are modern and well-presented. Our room (2 single beds) was very small with a tiny bathroom and a shower over the bath. The single beds were very narrow.

We ate in the hotel. The menu was short (one starter (soup) two choices for mains and one for dessert. The food was ok but nothing special.

The hotel provided a shuttle to the ferry (€5 per person).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abonae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 125 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

The hotel is clean, good size rooms and a comfortable atmosphere. The upkeep of the hotel was to a high standard. Breakfast was good quality. Free WiFi. I enjoyed the hotel and its accommodation and would stay here again.

There are several issues that need to be addressed however to change the hotel from good to excellent. There were no taxis when a group of us traveled from the ferry to the hotel - took a bus and missed the turn off as there are no signs to the hotel on the main road. The reception only opens at 0800 hrs and it was not possible to address some charging and account issues whilst at the hotel. Advised before traveling to the hotel that they do not accept credit cards - had to send a cash deposit; on arrival find that credit cards are accepted but at a 5% premium.

I am not sure who the hotel's target customer is but for somebody traveling on business, a few improvements are needed to smooth the stay.

Room Tip: Go for a de luxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antarctic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The hotel was a nice place to be. On the day we arrived we take our dinner at the restaurant this was very good and tasty. Also the breakfast was very good. From the hotel you can walk in the woods and to the beach. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

We were with a group of approx 100 people. Everybody was enthusiastic about this hotel and the hotel was able to serve a (very good) dinner in a short period so that everyone could have dinner at the same time. Hotel offers additional services such a bike rental (recommended)

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronald010-27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

If you look for a place for sleeping and breakfast this hotel is ok. The rooms are of good size, fresh and clean. The mattresses are a bit too soft but acceptable. The towels in bathrooms were fresh and new, but the size of a dishcloth. The breakfast was ok quality with enough choices, but served in a typical environment of a 3* plus quality business hotel. We only used this hotel for sleeping and breakfast and had some drinks one afternoon at the terraces of the hotel bar, which was nice. I would not recommend this hotel for travelers who seek improve their romance or leisure groups or family who plan to spend a lot of time in the hotel. Of course Texel has a lot to offer and no need to spend leisure time in this hotel. The hotel has no personal touch. Not the service and neither the interior. For anything extra you first have to pay a deposit or pay full in advance. The staff is friendly and professional, but obviously not pushed but the management “to go the extra mile for its guests”

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JansenPraha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Kategorie: Comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jörundur Ó
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near De Koog
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Opduin
Grand Hotel Opduin
#2 of 11 in De Koog
297 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel de Lindeboom
Hotel de Lindeboom
#1 of 6 in Den Burg
177 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Greenside
Hotel Greenside
#1 of 11 in De Koog
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Boutique Hotel Texel
Boutique Hotel Texel
#1 of 6 in De Cocksdorp
170 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Cooghen
1.0 mi away
Hotel Kogerstaete 4 sterren
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Pelikaan Texel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Pelikaan Texel

Address: Pelikaanweg 18, 1796 NR De Koog, Texel, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Texel > De Koog
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in De Koog
Price Range: $80 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De Pelikaan Texel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel De Pelikaan Texel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Pelikaan Texel De Koog

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing