We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable and clean hotel with friendly owners and staff”
Review of Hotel Zeerust

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Zeerust
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in De Koog
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The Hotel Zeerust was completely newly renovated approximately two years ago. It is located conveniently in De Koog near by the town centre and pretty close to the beautiful dunes and beaches of the Island of Texel. The hotel owners and staff are friendly and helpful. I would stay here again!

Room Tip: Rooms are modern!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 75 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

Friendly staff, very clean, modern and deluxe. Excellent value for money. A real bonus was the breakfast. Usually we don't expect too much from the breakfast at smaller, non chain hotels, but the breakfast was superb! Fresh smoothies!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We normally stay in our own apartment, but since our family was using the apartment and we wanted to go to the Texel Airshow, we made reservations in a hotel nearby. We were extremely pleasantly surprised with Hotel Zeerust. This hotel is a real boutique hotel run by a couple. He is also the chef of the restaurant. It has a few rooms and the hotel is recently renovated and nicely decorated.

The rooms are nice, with dark carpet and light walls. The spring box beds are very good, and we liked the little touches, such as the poets on a card in the window and the beautiful picture of the sea on the wall. I hardly see any hotel with good lighting and here it was. Several nice lamps could be switched on and off from your bed. No aircon, so you have to open a window, and with the way the curtains are positioned, it is not easy to open them wide.

The bathroom was small but very nice, the rainshower immediately gives a luxurious feeling, but the extra smaller shower is nice too, when you do not want to wet your hair. Minor detail: because space is limited, the water will run over the edge of the drainage.

Breakfast is pleasant in the comfortable and light restaurant. Fresh fruits (yess!), tastefull dairy from a local farmer, breads, sweets, eggs, fresh smoothie, a machine to make your own capucino or espresso, what more could you want? Maybe not the most extended breakfast I've seen, but for sure one of the best!

Location is in the village of De Koog, just a few steps away from the main shopping street and the road to the sea. If possible, ask for a room on the right side of the house, not facing the village. In the night, the people going out can be very loud.

Absolutely recommended!

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room not facing the village (shopping street) because of the noice of people going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This was the nicest hotel I stayed in while on a 16 day trip through Holland. The staff is super friendly. The rooms are modern, clean and spacious. The bathroom included a jacuzzi tub and a rain shower. I did not expect this luxery for this price. The complimentary breakfast was outstanding. We also loved the location of this hotel. You are very close to all the restaurants and shops but just far enough away to have amazing peace and quiet. The beach is a 5 min walk. We also loved renting high quality bikes from the bike shop around the corner. If you have not been to Texel, you must see this place. I will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 622Sophia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We pitched up at this hotel one evening after a problem with our campsite. They were immediately welcoming and helpful, and arranged a very good deal for two adjoining rooms for our family of four. The rooms were clean and modern and a reasonable size, with good bathrooms, and we all slept soundly.

The price included a very good breakfast, with a decent selection of tasty food. We didn't eat dinner in the hotel, but enjoyed some of the refreshing local beer in the evening.

The location in the small town of De Koog was excellent, just away from the main street, and very close to a really good bike hire shop. From there it was a lovely bike ride through the dunes to the Ecomare centre, and on to the lighthouse at the top of the island - just beware the headwind on the way back!

But what I really liked about this place was the people, and the calm relaxed atmosphere. It's not the place to go if you want uniformed flunkies serving your every whim, but that's the last thing I want in a hotel! There was hardly ever anyone at the front desk, but they turned up quickly when the bell was rung, always with a smile. They were invariably charming and helpful, and the laid back feel was just right for this lovely place.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank climate_criminal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We loved this hotel and plan to return again for a weekend visit to Texel. The location is perfect for going to the beach or riding the numerous bike trails around the island. The town is also well situated for an easy bike ride to the neighboring towns and the Ecomare and there is a great bike rental shop right around the corner from the hotel.

Our room was very modern, clean and spacious. (I believe the rooms have been recently renovated) The beds were also very comfortable (something harder to find in Europe). The breakfast area was quite lovely (and included in the room rate) and had a nice selection of tea/coffee, juice, breads, meat/cheese, fruit, and cereals. The terrace area in the back looked nice to sit and relax, but it was still a bit cool in the morning for us to enjoy.

We stayed on the 1st floor (2nd floor to Americans) in room 6 and had a view of the bos (forest) behind the hotel. Floors must be thin as we could heard the noisy people above us early in the morning. There is no refrigerator in the room or coffee/tea service. There is free parking and a covered area to lock up your bike. Also, free internet, but we didn't use so I'm not sure about the quality of the signal.

We definitely plan to return again and will stay at Hotel Zeerust for our weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onthego2009Manhattan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Hotel Zeerust has it all: the nice owners, the service, the perfect location (the beach is right around the corner, the restaurants only a block away), the great interior decoration, the cleanliness, and the breakfast you really start to look forward to.
We spent a really nice long weekend here and regretted to have to check out on Sunday - but because it was quiet by then, we were allowed to take as much time as we needed. Thanks again!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariann3h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near De Koog
3.2 mi away
Boutique Hotel Texel
Boutique Hotel Texel
#1 of 6 in De Cocksdorp
180 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Opduin
Grand Hotel Opduin
#2 of 11 in De Koog
303 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel De Pelikaan Texel
Hotel De Pelikaan Texel
#7 of 11 in De Koog
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Boschrand
Hotel Boschrand
#8 of 11 in De Koog
42 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel de Lindeboom
Hotel de Lindeboom
#1 of 6 in Den Burg
190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Tesselhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zeerust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zeerust

Address: Boodtlaan 5, 1796 BD De Koog, Texel, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Texel > De Koog
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in De Koog
Price Range: $89 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zeerust 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Zeerust reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Zeerust Texel/De Koog

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing