We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very nice hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Greenside

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Greenside
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in De Koog
Certificate of Excellence
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
143 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We spent 3 nights in this hotel. It's situated very close to the beach and the city center. We really loved the breakfast, so much to choose from! We stayed in a 'tuinkamer'(garden room) and had a big room with private terrace.
In the bathroom was a separate shower and a bath and Rituals shampoo and bath/shower gel, very nice!

Bikes were included in our room, so were bubbles&amuses.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. And they even put a a postcard and present in the room, since it was my birthday.

The matresses were a little too soft for us, but reasonably comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AvW12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoukeWeber, Eigenaar at Hotel Greenside, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Dear AvW12345, thank you for your kind words. You have booked our Summer Special which is also bookable next year. So why not ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    81
    19
    1
    1
See reviews for
37
166
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We enjoyed a weekend at Hotel Greenside and did not regret our choice for a second. The dinner in the hotel's restaurant was delicious as was the breakfast. The breakfast buffet was very good with a great array of Texel products and healthy options. Very delicious and a good start of the day.

The superior room was spacious with a well-equipped bathroom. I would definitely stay at Hotel Greenside again when going to Texel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sugarsweet_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoukeWeber, Eigenaar at Hotel Greenside, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you Sugarsweet for you're kind words. You have been visiting lots of places all over the world. Giving us 5 out of 5 means a lot to us. Hope to see you next time on Texel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niteroi, RJ
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Very comfortable, rooms with bathtub. Staff extremely courteous. Food made with products from the island. Very near the village and the beach. Since you arrive there it is so peaceful and so adorable that is hard to go away.

Room Tip: Look for the special rooms with tanning light at the shower. Taste the Texel beer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PMCortez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoukeWeber, Owner at Hotel Greenside, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. Next time just stay a few days longer ... And, Skuumkoppe (Texel beer) is also my favorite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Stayed at Greenside last weekend with friends. What a treat! Here they know the meaning of Hospitality with a capital H. Rooms are very spacious and comfortable, staff is friendly and helpful, food is excellent. After a nice day of playing golf at the 'Texelse', we had the 5 course surprise menu for dinner. And surprising it was! Delicious courses, great wines and all served by staff that knew exactly how to give us a good time. We really had a great time here and will certainly be back again next year!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jurrien P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoukeWeber, Eigenaar at Hotel Greenside, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Google Translation
Beste Jurrien, zodra we een ambassadeur zoeken voor Texel, de golfbaan en niet in de laatste plaats Hotel Greenside, weten we jullie te vinden. Heel erg bedankt voor deze mooie recensie. Hij hangt inmiddels naast andere leuke berichtjes op ons prikbord in de 'kantine'. Inspirerend! Tot volgend jaar. Jullie hoeven natuurlijk niet zo lang te wachten ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

De Koog is a good location on Texel with plenty for the visitors and near the village centre and the beach. Our Garden Room at the back of the hotel overlooked a scrap of grass and a bare hedge behind which was a car park. To call them garden rooms is a misnomer as there is no real garden. The private terrace space outside the room was unswept and not 'spring ready'. But reception happily changed our room to one in the front of the hotel with a view across some water and a Landal Green Park.
Having said that, the rooms are very spacious and well furnished with a large sitting area and a spacious bathroom. Bed was comfy for us but a bit on the soft side for those with back problems. Tea in the room cost 5 Euros per day and included biscuits but no milk. Nice bathroom toiletries supplied.
Breakfast was a wide variety of cereals, yogurts and continental items plus a warm dish. The toaster was welcome, but they do not serve you at the table with tea/coffee. You make it yourself in a cup at a machine - not as nice as a pot! Staff very quiet and professional. Restaurant and bar menu looked good but we ate out so cannot comment. There is a mini bar in the room and Wellness facilities are included in the room price but we did not use them.
A garden makeover to bring some life and colour to the garden areas would benefit future guests for very little cost.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a nicer outlook. Some rooms are Wellness rooms with jacuzzi baths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank UkOma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoukeWeber, Eigenaar at Hotel Greenside, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are clearly on the right track. Except in the garden. Last year at this time there was still snow on the terrace and in the garden. Thanks to the influence of a cold sea spring begins on Texel in April or even in May. And in June, the garden is at its most beautiful. Perhaps this explains the bare trees and shrubs. Improvements to our garden are constantly needed. I hope to see you next time on Texel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We arrived on bicycles but we were made to feel we had come in a limousine. The staff are amiable, informative and efficient. We treated ourselves to dinner, and the waiter took an earnest delight in explaining every item on the menu (written in Dutch, an English translation would be good), and how much of it was locally sourced. The meal deliciously lived up to its advance billing. Later we found that the hotel has its own herb garden at the back overlooking the lake. Nothing in De Koog seemed to compare in quality. So don't go to town. Eat Greenside. The hotel is built on a hexagonal plan so all the rooms open out on to wide balconies. Such space. What joy.

Room Tip: For a tranquil view choose a room at the back overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed four nights. Just one critical remark should be made. It's about the mattress. Unfortunately it is not supporting enough. Too soft. If you ever had the experience of a slipped disc or if you are close to it. Check the mattress carefully. This the reason why I have assessed the sleeping-quality: avarage.
Staff (reception as well as restaurant) is very kind and helpful. A special diet? They will take care of it. The breakfastbuffet is rich and the quality of the dinner is very much allright. French cuisine with a strong local touch. A combination that works out very well.
Free wifi in every room 48,0 till 54,0 mps and the carparking is free as well. Our Luxery Room was very well equipped with good furniture (comfortable bench and easy chair, a small desk/tabel, cosy lightning, a well filled fridge and a huge flatscreen. Bathroom has enough space. Good quality shampoo, soap and bodylotion is included. Hairdryer is stored in the cupboard and there is a standard choice between two different kinds of pillows on your bed.

Room Tip: All rooms are fine. But if possible ask for the backside. It has a very relaxing view over a small l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterquint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near De Koog
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Opduin
Grand Hotel Opduin
#3 of 11 in De Koog
4.0 of 5 stars 209 reviews
3.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Texel
Boutique Hotel Texel
#1 of 6 in De Cocksdorp
4.5 of 5 stars 113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kogerstaete
Hotel Kogerstaete
#2 of 11 in De Koog
4.5 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel de Lindeboom
Hotel de Lindeboom
#2 of 6 in Den Burg
4.5 of 5 stars 114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Tesselhof
0.2 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Cooghen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Greenside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Greenside

Property: Hotel Greenside
Address: Stappeland 6, 1796 BS De Koog, Texel, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Texel > De Koog
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in De Koog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Greenside 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Greenside is an intimate four-star hotel in the seaside resort De Koog, just outside the centre where peace predominates. The spacious rooms are surprising. The large sitting area, the comfortable beds and your own private balcony or terrace. Extra luxurious are the Superior bedrooms with Whirlpool and Sunshower. Greenside has a separate wellness and fitness area. Bordering on the water is the restaurant Wambinge. Classic simplicity characterizes the tasty dishes; products from Texel reign supreme. Greenside can also facilitate business meetings. A tasty lunch or dinner and a relaxing stay in Greenside compliment your business event on Texel. In cooperation with sport and cultural partners Greenside organizes complete made to measure (day) programmes. Our function rooms form the perfect setting for family dinners, weddings and other parties or functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Greenside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Greenside Texel/De Koog

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing