We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, super location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Opduin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Opduin to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Opduin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ruijslaan 22, 1796 AD De Koog, Texel, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in De Koog
Certificate of Excellence
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, super location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We enjoyed the Junior suites as family rooms (each can hold up to 4). They were large and comfortable with one double bed (2 very comfortable single mattresses next to each other) and one pull out couch, good for children but also ok for an adult and child.

Location of this hotel is super. It's right in the dunes above the sea. If you want a view of the dunes, the higher up the better, and some of the rooms overlook the parking lot and then the dunes so ask to make sure. The other side is fine as well w/ views of the town.

The walk from the hotel to the beach is 7 or 8 minutes, down & up a hill, and the beach itself is wide and white sand, one of the nicest in Holland. Sunsets are especially beautiful on the beach, incredible colors!

The walk to the town De Koog is less than 5 minutes; it's a real beach town, very touristy & crowded esp. in high season, lots of reasonably priced and good but not great restaurants.

The staff at the hotel was friendly and the breakfast was really nice. The kids loved the fresh orange juice machine where you can have as much fresh OJ as you want. Also lots of breads, muffins, cheeses, meat, fish, eggs any way you want them. The koffie verkeerd (latte) is delicious.

The rooms were a bit hot at night (no airco, just fans) but the weather was exceptionally warm so no complaints. The pool was nice and the lounge areas of the hotel were comfortable.

The hotel was not extraordinary (I am quite spoiled by having been to some really top hotels) and some details were missing (no shampoo available while we were there which was a bit strange but they compensated by giving us extra bottles of shower gel), there were not enough towels in the room for the number of guests we had, no refrigerator in the room, no airco only fans, but we were overall very happy with our experience there.

We did not try the restaurants, there are plenty of choices just a few minutes' walk away in the village De Koog. We did enjoy the happy hour on Friday afternoon, nice touch offered by the hotel, very friendly and served outside right in the dunes, drinks & small appetizers.

Kids did try the pool and enjoyed it, it was not crowded and is a nice size. There is a game room w/ a pool table and some board games, and a small gym.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking out over the dunes, the higher the better - and there are some rooms that do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davis123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Manchester
Level Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had concerns re The Brasserie from previous comments and unfortunately this was very disappointing service. It started well from friendly staff but then they all disappeared and we had a long wait between courses and for plates to be cleared. Not acceptable standard for a 4 star hotel.
However, the hotel room was spacious, comfortable and clean and well appointed. Re negative points,the shower was too small and air conditioning inadequate for the hot weather but otherwise no complaints.
The breakfast choice was lovely and very good reception staff. The new veranda was peaceful and a great place to relax.
We choice the wine and dine package and it was a great choice.
Overall, we were glad we chose this hotel and would return and hope service improves in the meantime.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacobs08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I enjoyed staying in this hotel a lot, great location, friendly and helpful staff, wonderful breakfast. I would recommend to stay there, will come back. The beach is close, De Koog is also nearby, good for walking, biking.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IvanaHr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsten D, Owner at Grand Hotel Opduin, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Ivana,

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your holiday on Texel and in our hotel. We hope we have convinced you that Texel is the place to be for a relaxing holiday and are looking forward to welcoming you back to Grand Hotel Opduin.

Kind regards,

Kirsten Dashorst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meerbeke
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This hotel deserves the word "grand" in its denomination. Located at the boarder of the small village, close to the seaside, it is an excellent starting point for all activities possibile on Texel. Very nice swimming pool, spa and beauty center. The breakfast buffet inlcudes everything you can immagine. The rooms are not small and have nice view, regardless the side of the building the room is. The Nespresso machine in the room makes you can drink a premium class coffee whilst enjoying the nice view from your room. The bar is very cosy.

Room Tip: all rooms have nice views and are quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonja p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsten D, Owner at Grand Hotel Opduin, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Sonja,

Thank you so much for your kind words about your stay in our hotel. We loved having you as our guest and would be honoured to welcome you back to our hotel.

Kind regards,

Kirsten Dashorst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ymare
Level Contributor
125 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We spent quite a good time in this hotel. The room is large, well equipped, and we could rent an electric scooter to visit the Texel island. Only a part, but we know that we will go again there to continue our visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancoisD76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Very nice hotel, friendly staff, good facilities, close walk to the beach, Rooms are not that up to date and a bit messy but clean and spacious. Brasserie is very very overpriced, we had dinner there once but would not recommend it, quality is poor and prices high. Much better value for money is the beachbar nearby, they have an excellent menu, very good quality for nice prices and stunning views over the sea.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Felicia2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsten D, Owner at Grand Hotel Opduin, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Google Translation
Beste Felicia,

Hartelijk dank voor het delen van uw mening over uw verblijf in ons hotel. We vinden het erg jammer dat het diner in onze brasserie u is tegengevallen. We zouden u graag bij een volgend bezoek aan Texel een diner willen aanbieden in ons hotel om u te overtuigen dat onze kwaliteit van het eten en de persoonlijke aandacht van de bediening zeker beter zijn dan die van een gemiddelde strandtent. We kijken uit naar uw reactie en hopen u nog een keer te mogen begroeten in Opduin.

Met frisse waddengroet,

Kirsten Dashorst
Directrice Grand Hotel Opduin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zevenbergen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
93 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Grand hotel Opduin is good hotel for a break. The location is near town centre and a small walk to the beach. The interior of the hotel has different places for relaxation and with good weather you can sit outside. There are a restaurant and a brasserie. We visit the brasserie for dinner with good selection of food and service. The breakfast was served in the restaurant with a great varity of food and drinks. From the hotel you can have nice walks and a graet selection of restaurants.
Recommended to have a visit.

Room Tip: Only at the westside of the hotel you can look over the dunes to the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisgeldof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near De Koog
0.4 mi away
Hotel Greenside
Hotel Greenside
#1 of 11 in De Koog
4.5 of 5 stars 186 reviews
3.4 mi away
Boutique Hotel Texel
Boutique Hotel Texel
#3 of 6 in De Cocksdorp
4.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
0.3 mi away
Strandhotel Noordzee
Strandhotel Noordzee
#3 of 11 in De Koog
4.5 of 5 stars 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kogerstaete
Hotel Kogerstaete
#2 of 11 in De Koog
4.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel de Lindeboom
Hotel de Lindeboom
#1 of 6 in Den Burg
4.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
1.1 mi away
De Pelikaan Texel
De Pelikaan Texel
#9 of 11 in De Koog
4.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Opduin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Opduin

Address: Ruijslaan 22, 1796 AD De Koog, Texel, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Texel > De Koog
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in De Koog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Opduin 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere and Booking.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Opduin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Opduin Texel/De Koog

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing