We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, even in winter”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Kogerstaete 4 sterren
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in De Koog
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Booked hotel on ferry ride over from Den Helder. Very nice, even if we did miss the free bottle of wine. Very last minute decision. Lovely hotel, room, breakfast, and staff. Allowed us to stay extra time at check out which we appreciated. Would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leishatx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 158 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013

There's so much love for individual details in the suites (some of them with private sauna, jacuzzi and sunshower - amazing!!!) that you just have to fall in love with this hotel! I've never experienced such a warmhearted atmosphere in a hotel - which is definitely created by Jeanet, the owner of this hotel. You feel so very welcome that you wish you could stay forever. Forget Steigenberger, Moevenpick & Co., THIS is the place to be!!! Much more than just Texel's best hotel - Hotel Kogerstaete is worth being in the top ten of the world's best hotels!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanniGabriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This hotel was ranked in 2012 and 2013 as 'best hotel of Holland'.
That's not for luxury, but for the great service, clean rooms and breakfast with regional products and own made bread.

Nice hotel for a few days stay on Texel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stevenenhilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We were visiting Texel off-season, in February. We booked a room with sauna and bubble bath, not sure what the winter weather would bring. It turned out to be a brilliant choice - the room was bright, tastefully decorated, and seemed recently renovated. It was exceptionally clean. The sauna and bubble bath were new and could fit two people.

Despite the windows facing the road we could barely hear the cars passing by. The room had a door leading to the terrace which (I imagine) could be a really nice place to sit around in the warm spring sun.

The breakfast provided by the hotel was by far the best I've had in a while: wide choice was topped by freshly baked (still warm) bread.

The most remarkable part, though, was the hospitality of the hosts. Because we arrived early in the day, they also made the room ready earlier. They even added an extra heater in the room just in case we needed it (despite the weather we did not). They were nice and chatty, asking about our day on the island and seemed genuinely interested in our answers. They offered advice on sights and lots of information about the island. We felt extremely welcome, and will definitely stay at the same hotel when we return to Texel.

One last note, after reading other reviewer's comments on the steep price - I think what we paid for the room with own sauna, bubble bath and sun shower was fair - after all, it was a small luxury.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingMouse9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is a pretty nice base for a lovely visit to the island of Texel. The owners were very welcoming and certainly know the definition of hospitality. The hotel is clean and well laid out. The rooms may be a little on the small side for my liking but that is a common problem with hotels the world over. There was a unique sauna/standard shower combination cubicle in our room; we used the sauna for the novelty value and found it refreshing. The room lacked for nothing of the usual essentials travellers need. Breakfast was above average in variety and quality for The Netherlands.
The whole island is most enjoyable and this is one of the major towns with a good number and variety of attractions, so I can recommend staying here for good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoolMum64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This hotel has such raving reviews, not only on TripAdvisor but also on a couple of other review websites, so I really hate to be the one to bring down the rating. However, perhaps because of those wonderful reviews, we had such high expectations of the hotel that we were disappointed when we stayed there in May 2012. We had a 'standard' room.

Let's start with the positive points:
- Delicious breakfast with freshly baked bread
- Convenient location near main shopping street of the Koog and restaurants, with bicycle rental shop nearby
- Friendly and pleasant service by the owners
- Free parking within hotel compound
- Coffee/tea-making facility in the room

Why we were disappointed:
- The room is rather basic and the 'double bed' is actually made up of two adjoining single beds
- The bed is too soft
- The decoration of the room is a little dated and 'homespun'
- The 'bathroom' is actually integrated into the room as one open space, i.e. the shower cabin and basin are almost right next to the bed, with no dividing wall for privacy. It wasn't a problem for us but travellers who aren't comfortable with showering in the presence of other people may want to check if there are other types of rooms available before booking.

I agree with the reviewer RT1971 that the owners try hard but not sure it deserves a top TA rating. In my opinion, I would consider this a basic and clean B&B and nothing more.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MochaAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Very friendly and helpful service. We stayed in one of the appartments (courtyard facing) which was clean, comfortable and pretty well equipped, with enough space for our family of 4 (2 adults and 2 small kids). Car parking was also right behind the hotel.

We found the location ideal for exploring the island by car, with the beach easily walkable within 15-20 minutes and the small town with numerous restaurants and bars (most kid friendly) reachable within 5 mins.

The only very slightly negative point would be that the beds in our appartment were *really* soft which was not ideal for back support. But this really is a luxury moan ;-) and may even suit some people anyway.

All in all we would recomend the hotel |(appartments) as a good place to stay for families.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steven s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near De Koog
3.3 mi away
Boutique Hotel Texel
Boutique Hotel Texel
#1 of 6 in De Cocksdorp
175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Opduin
Grand Hotel Opduin
#2 of 11 in De Koog
302 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Greenside
Hotel Greenside
#1 of 11 in De Koog
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel De Pelikaan Texel
Hotel De Pelikaan Texel
#7 of 11 in De Koog
126 reviews
0.5 mi away
Strandhotel Noordzee
Strandhotel Noordzee
#8 of 11 in De Koog
59 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Tesselhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kogerstaete 4 sterren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kogerstaete 4 sterren

Address: Dorpsstraat 230, 1796 CH De Koog, Texel, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Texel > De Koog
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in De Koog
Price Range: $140 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kogerstaete 4 sterren 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Kogerstaete 4 sterren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kogerstaete 4 Sterren Texel/De Koog

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing