We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Hospitality at a very high level!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bij Jef

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bij Jef
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Den Hoorn
Hoeilaart
Level Contributor
238 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Hospitality at a very high level!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

My wife and me spend the weekend of Pentecost there. The package of three nights, three dinners and breakfasts had an excellent price:quality ratio. The rooms were not so much to our likings (quite modern and minimalistic decoration), but they were spacious, quiet and with all amenities. The private parking place is a must, since the location of the hotel/restaurant is in the middle of the quiet village in a narrow street.
There are two main aspects why I strongly recommend this place: the hospitality and the quality, diversity and creativity of the food. All people at Jef's have have only one goal, to make you feel comfortable and to give you the best experience. They have this type of hospitality that is natural but very accomodating. They don't impose, but are there to fulfill your wishes. This goes for everybody, the owners and all of their staff.
The package included a three, a four and a five course dinner. Well, one thing they do wrong is counting. In all the dinners I am sure that we had much more then the number of courses mentioned. The 'amuses bouches' and and he other bites in between made us forget about the number of courses, we simply enjoyed. I am not going to mention one particular dish because the creativity was so enormous and the taste so good of every dish individually so good that I wouldn't even remember. Not once over these three days I had the impression that we ate a dish that we have eaten before or alike. Even the breakfasts were at a high culinary level. If there is one point of (minor) criticism, perhaps normal breakfasts after the culinary dinners would also have been OK. Sometimes bacon and eggs taste wonderful after high level chefs creations. But if you love life and nature go to Texel to Jef.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janbnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
40
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
amsterdam
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

This was our first visit to Texel and staying at Bij Jef made it memorable. When we arrived our room was not yet ready but we were offered a drink in the lovely lounge area. Room stylish and comfortable, with Nespresso machine and double walk-in shower. Seven course meal with accompanying wines (kudos to chef's wife, an award-winning sommelier) was excellent, as was breakfast the following morning. Highly recommend both hotel and Michelin star restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hmamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
419 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

Me & my wife loved the simple but stylish design on the newly built rooms. The attention to detail is as immaculate as the food in the downstairs restaurant. Location is excellent for cyclists coming from the mainland and it served great for us as a base to explore Texel from. The added bonus of being able to walk upstairs to bed after a fantastic 7-course menu is also worth noting. Three things that stood out: the walk-in rain showers, the lovely view from the French balcony and the lovely wool rug at the foot of the bed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LassiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneve
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

Nice design, excellent gastronomy food. We were surprised by the quality of the products and the fantastic presentation.

We will come back and stay at the Hotel as well!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frgad3c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2010

Making holidays on Texel doesn't necessarily mean to go to De Koog. Touristically well equipped, this village rather reminds of Jesolo in Italy than of a relaxing village in the North of Holland. Bar next to bar, low quality restaurant next to low quality restaurant. HOWever, there are gems on Texel. Just go to Den Hoorn an check in "Bij Jef". The rooms are spacious, simple and clean, there is wooden floor, a hugh bathroom and absoult silence. It was just fantastic there. Price: 110 Euro per night (breakfast included) for the double room. Apart from that Jef's restaurant is simply the best on the island. It's expensive, but excellent! A double must if you plan holidays on Texel.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank BonnieClyde2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2007

We had a very nice stay at the Culinaire Verwennerij Bij Jef in the laied back island town Den Hoorn - my family and I were pampered by Jef, his wife and the crew for three days. We went there for the food - which is just fantastic. The rooms are rather simple but very nicely designed.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Den Hoorn
7.5 mi away
Boutique Hotel Texel
Boutique Hotel Texel
#1 of 6 in De Cocksdorp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
5.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Opduin
Grand Hotel Opduin
#2 of 11 in De Koog
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel de Lindeboom
Hotel de Lindeboom
#1 of 6 in Den Burg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hotel Greenside
Hotel Greenside
#1 of 11 in De Koog
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
2.9 mi away
De Smulpot
De Smulpot
#2 of 6 in Den Burg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Kogerstaete
Hotel Kogerstaete
#3 of 11 in De Koog
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bij Jef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bij Jef

Property: Bij Jef
Address: Herenstraat 34, 1797 AJ Den Hoorn, Texel, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Texel > Den Hoorn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Den Hoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bij Jef 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Bij Jef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bij Jef Den Hoorn, Texel, The Netherlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing