We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection.”

Culinaire Verwennerij Bij Jef Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 10 Restaurants in Den Hoorn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Dutch, Seafood, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Soest, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfection.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

We have been drafted into the army of admirers of Jef.Why he has not many followers among the owners of restaurants on Texel escapes us. Delicate, interesting flavours, perfect service, interesting wines. The amuses are abundant, 5 courses to follow were more than satisfying. Fully worth its price. To say more is impossible.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chroniceur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    17
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
114 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great innovative food in an unique setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

Culinaire Verwennerij Bij Jef (Culinair Pampering at Jef). The name of the restaurant (with hotel amenities) says it all: Indulging from A to Z.

As we slept in the hotel, we had both breakfast and dinner. Breakfast as we never had it before: served at your table in different courses (!). No buffet breakfast here. Something salty, something sweet, some fruit and in the end some 'petit viennoiseries' (croissants, chocolate breads). Very original and brought in a gastronomic way (as the dinner).

The dinners were both in menu style: one evening the 5-course Gastronomic-menu and the second night the 7-course Tasting-menu. Both very fresh (local ingredients) and executed in a gastronomic way.

Aperitif was served on the terrace behind the hotel.

Definitely a must go on Texel!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OCdR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

It was our first visit to the island of Texel and we happened to walk by the restaurant late afternoon. The menu looked very promising so we walked in to ask if it was still possible to book a table for that same night. Fortunately it was! The food was amazing, absolutely delicious. We can only recommend this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ativandijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the best culinary experiences in the Netherlands”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at Jef for a 'Lazy Sunday' package including a night in one of their great rooms and a culinary experience at dinner and at breakfast. The five course dinner was very memorable with amazing combinations (chocolate with roquefort - brilliant, lamb sweetbread with eel - truly exquisite). The wine and food matching was also impeccable. Although we're quite spoiled when it comes to Michelin starred restaurants, this is really one of the best culinary experiences we've ever had.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ErikIngeneeger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great experience. The place to go @ Texel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

We have been at Jef's a couple of times before but also this time we were amazed again with the level of professionalism and friendliness in this Michelin star restaurant.
Upon entering the restaurant we were immediately greeted and had our champagne and a selection of little "taste bud teasers" in the lounge area.
Jef came in person to explain the menu and to make sure that he knew about our potential dislikes or allergies. We decided to go for the 7 course surprise menu with matching wines. With all the amuses you do end up with 10 or 12 different taste experiences and the great food - wine pairing made it even more special. Our dining experience at Jef's lasted from 19:15 to 23:45 (which is the way we like it), so when you go here do plan for a full evening.
Obviously such a dining experience doesn't come cheap and it will set you back a few Euros but as I see it, it is definitely worth it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 100NightsPlus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Culinaire Verwennerij Bij Jef Restaurant also viewed

Oudeschild, North Holland Province
 

Been to Culinaire Verwennerij Bij Jef Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing