We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Captain, we've been Topidoed”

Streekrestaurant Topido
Ranked #3 of 20 Restaurants in De Cocksdorp
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $29
Cuisines: French, Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Aalst, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Captain, we've been Topidoed”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Our dinner was really exquisite.
We took a discovery menu with 5 courses. After the appetisers we received:

Red beet soup
Carpaccio of beef with rocket
Wild duck and its gratinated potato tower
Fish, if remembered correctly, sea bass with vegetables
Caramel based desert with cream and patisserie accompanied by a caramel liqueur.

When course was served, the chef took his time to come at the table and explain how the dishes were made and which ingredients he used. A matching wine is proposed at each course which you don’t have to take every time we took one just for the duck. The local red wine, produced in Texel, was surprisingly good if you like full bodied wines with deep and well rounded aftertaste. It went perfect with the duck.

Pricewise, it is well worth its money. The hosts are truly marvellous. The setting has something of a tavern but it's fitting with the character of the island of Texel.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank BonnieAndClyde9300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    28
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aalsmeer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This one you should not miss”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Went to eat hear two evenings. We ordered the suprise dinner twice and realy it was all a big surpise. Wonderful food, nice wines, great hospitality and we realy enjoyed the passion of Rene and Karin, the owners of the restaurant, for their work. A lot of products from Texel and vegetables grown in their own garden. If you visit Texel do not hesitate to eat at Topido's. We certainly come back!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Deserving of it's #1 place!”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

An amazing experience we had during our stay in Texel.
I booked the restaurant to surprise my boyfriend after I saw it ranked as #1 on tripadvisor. Having read other reviews of the Topido, I had high expectations and these were completely fulfilled.
The service was outstanding. Every time they were bringing us a new meal they were telling us about the ingredients and the way of cooking it.
We were impressed that almost all the vegetables were grown on the backyard of the restaurant. Every single meal we had, from the starter to the dessert, was delicious. The selection of wine in the restaurant is very wide as well, courteous and polite, the waiters are always there to help you with your choice.
Without any doubts the restaurant deserves it's #1 place and when we will get back to Texel we will visit it again for sure.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent open sandwiches”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Excellent lunch in this restaurant, good service and good fresh produce

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank SusanNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowichan Valley, B.C.
Level Contributor
222 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“As good as I remember”
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Had dinner twice last May, 2010. Had lunch a couple of days ago - same high quality of food and service which brought us back to Texel and to De Cocksdorp. We tend to research a fair amount when we travel and we like to have an idea of what we can expect when we get to a stop. As I said in my previous review, fresh, top quality ingredients imaginatively prepared and served by professionals who know what they're doing. Really shouldn't be missed.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jhsheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Streekrestaurant Topido also viewed

 
Oudeschild, North Holland Province
 

Been to Streekrestaurant Topido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing