We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel and area.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Santpoort-Noord
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Charming hotel and area.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

It was our second stay at that hotel. The first time, we booked a room in the old part of the mansion, it had a great view of the pond but was located under the roof. It was too small for the heavy furniture. It was also dated. The bathroom was very nice though.
This time, we asked for a room in the more modern part. We were surprised to find ourselves facing an interior court but fortunately on the second floor where we could see a bit of green by looking up... The room was comfortable.
The food was good in the dining room and at breakfast the next morning. Before our departure, we took a walk around the pond and saw a deer - so charming.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoniqueVG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landgoed D, General Manager at Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

First of all I would like to thank you for posting your review. We are glad we could welcome you again here at Duin & Kruidberg Country Estate, and we hope to welcome you again in the nearby future.


Yours Sincerely,

Bernard Lensink
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    135
    29
    16
    8
See reviews for
52
201
8
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We found out this beautiful hotel online. Our choice was great. Wonderful park, plenty of parking spaces, and the sorroundings were marvellous. Even though the food was a bit expensive, we had a great dinner with exquisite dishes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kumari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landgoed D, General Manager at Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

First of all I would like to thank you for posting your review. This sets us to improve the service and facilities of Duin & Kruidberg Country Estate. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and diner in our restaurant. We hope to welcome you again at Duin & Kruidberg Country Estate.

Yours Sincerely,

Bernard Lensink
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Imposing hotel in lovely parkland, Polite and efficient staff. Plenty of parking and and a 15 minute drive to the ferry terminal, so ideal for us. Comfortable,spacious room in main hotel,furnishings a little tired but very clean. Interesting Saturday afternoon sitting on the terrace in the sun, drinking wine and watching a wedding service in the grounds. We ate in the Bistro good evening meal, pleasant service the staff were very busy and the chefs at the open cooking area were working so hard to get the meals out. The breakfast experience was chaotic and not at all relaxing due to some of the children of wedding guests running around unsupervised and helping themselves at the buffet table then putting the item back after I bite. I do think the hotel management should look at this aspect of the hotel to give guests a better breakfast experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Collybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landgoed D, General Manager at Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

First of all I would like tot thank you for posting your review. This sets us to improve the service and facilities of Duin & Kruidberg Country Estate. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and your diner at Brasserie DenK. We hope to welcome you again at Duin & Kruidberg Country Estate.

Yours Sincerely,

Bernard Lensink
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We chose this hotel primarily for it's proximity to the DFDS Terminal in Ijmuiden, our port of departure back to the UK after an extended motoring tour of Europe. The hotel is a lovely old house with lots of original features and with plenty of car parking spaces in the extensive wooded grounds. Our bedroom was spacious and clean and we had a most pleasant evening meal in the Brasserie served by very attentive and pleasant staff. The only negative point to make is that some of the children of the wedding guests staying in the hotel were a little unruly at breakfast with some showing some very poor manners when at the serve yourself buffet tables.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fife2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landgoed D, General Manager at Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

First of all I would like tot thank you for posting your review. This sets us to improve the service and facilities of Duin & Kruidberg Country Estate. We are glad that you enjoyed your meal in Brasserie DenK and we hope to welcome you again at Duin & Kruidberg Country Estate.

Yours Sincerely,

Bernard Lensink
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essen, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The Hotel "Landgoed Duin- en Kruidberg" is located on the brink of the national park Kennemerland, this location makes the hotel to a silent place in this bustling and stressful time. Just 5 to 10 minutes by foot you can reach the station "Santpoort-Noord" whereby a fast connection to cities for example Amsterdam, Haarlem or Alkmaar is given. While you arrive with car there were no problems if you have notice that you can drive over the above named station.

Should you decide to go by train for a day trip it's recommendable to change the amount for the train in coins because the ticket machine doesn't accept Visa, Amex or notes. A trip by train to Amsterdam cost 5 Euros that’s definitive cheaper than parking in Amsterdam. A day in a car park could cost you 35 Euros and more.

Reception/Service
The reception and their service were without fail. The women and men who worked there in the time of my stay were friendly, kindly and courteous.
At the arrival they gave us the right information’s, showed us the room and told us something about the hotel and the areas (sports, breakfast, etc.). You feel welcome with a team on the reception like this.

The bike rental worked well even we had a problem with the height of a bike the reception react immediately. The same immediately service with problems with the room service. The reception team earned a special thanks to make a stay like you want it.

Gym and Sauna
The gym is not very large but comprised all gym equipment you need for an effective workout. The low light is enough for training thought you don't want to stay there longer as you need. I missed at my visits germicides to clean the equipment after usage.

The sauna is appealing designed even the light concept is more low light than to feel comfortable. What the sauna round should not stop! In the sauna and gym area you find towels, products of body care, two showers and toilets and the cleanness is given! The practical in this area are the locker rooms and this is not always standard in hotel of this level but the locker room (men) were not that clean i expected it smells obtrusive and not really fresh.

For someone who wants to make the daily exercises is it enough. The care of the locker room and more love for this would be nice. A little bit more cleanness and love and a better room arrangement would make this offer more attractive!

Room
The rooms are comfortable and large even the standard room which I booked was larger than I expected it. 4 seating’s, large luggage storage and comfortable beds.

The lighting was really dark, I work in the lighting branch and I know a concept of lighting like in the public areas of the “Lounge Bar” or the breakfast room would be a little bit better for the guest. The room was dark so I needed to put the light on in the middle of the day. One or two room lights that are plain could solve this problem.
The room service (daily cleaning) was not really good also we had a mark on the wall and the curtains were dirty and perforated.

In 4 days the room service never had hoover the floor or made the beds as well at the arrive.
Also I missed new shower gel after usage. That all can happen but I guess I have to recheck this hotel to rate this hotel new and have a look if this mistakes happen again or the service on the room will be better.
The cleanness is the only point to subtract in refers to the room.

Bathroom
The bathroom is large and you miss no products of care but unfortunately the bathroom had the best times. Some places especially in the shower could be much better. The rubber-joint of the door should be changed. The floor of the shower have chalk marks. The separate toilette is well especially you travel not alone here was everything well clean and the bathroom.

Balcony
The balconies in the new building, where I was located would not be good looked after. The ashtray was crowded. Cobwebs and death bugs were laying around on the floor and walls. That I can't accept 100% cleanness on a balcony which is so near located to a national park is sure but I could accept ground cleanness. However the balcony had something good smokers don't have to walk the far way to the garden or the entree to smoke and would be the balcony passably clean you could dry your clothes from the beach here.

Good idea but the realization of upkeep is in short supply.

Outdoor area
The outdoor area of the hotel is spacious and welcoming designed. there are many place to stay or play soccer or volleyball. In the garden/park are different figures and a direct entrance to the national park. The levels of the patio invite you to have a lunch at the Brasserie DENK or/and have a dinner at the "Vrienden van Jacob" and enjoy this place with the lake and the old venerably building. The new building is hidden build that means that nothing bother the view of the old location.

In the front area of the hotel are enough parking lots for the guests of the hotel and the guests of the restaurant and brasserie as well as for bikes (bicycles). In summer offers the parking always a shady parking lot for your car.

The responsible personal cogitate about this area well and worked effective and efficient to make the ideas well in reality.
A place where you gladly come back and enjoying the silence and nature again and again...

Final result:
For a standard hotel in this level certainly a good result. The Landgoed Duin en Kruidberg set the own level high with the culinary facilities which are not fully achieve in the hotel area.
Few little points are sometimes tips the scale. Exactly the details in the bathroom and the room and balcony care were not enough why a better rating isn’t possible.
Guests who stay overnight there should be mobile or should be up to dinning in the hotel for culinary comparable restaurants are located in Overveen, Haarlem or Bloemendale. For business canvasser, family with older children or couples is this a good hotel especially in the summer because the ways to the “top destinations” are costly in terms of time and you can explore the national park best. As well in other periods of the year is a lot arranged. For example you can make a day off in the spa and wellness facility “Sauna-Thermen Ridderrode” in Santpoort Zuid. Who just want to escape the daily grind is at the Landgoed Duin en Kruidberg right. Relaxing and resting as well as good meals are on items of the daily agenda.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhillipAmstel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landgoed D, General Manager at Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

First of all I would like tot thank you for posting your review. This sets us to improve the service and facilities of Duin & Kruidberg Country Estate. We hope to welcome you again at Duin & Kruidberg Country Estate.

Yours Sincerely,

Bernard Lensink
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
100 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This mansion hotel has a great archictecture and is located in the middle of a wonderful park. I had a room in the main building on the first floor which feels more authentic than the newer rooms which are part of an underground annex. The room was nice and comfortable but could use a makeover, as the furniture looked pretty tired. The food is above average and can be great on a good day.The old dining room gives the feel of estate living. There is also a restaurant and bar section in the newer annex which has a modern, not very distinctive look. All in all the Hotel has a lot of character if you manage to stay in the historic section.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Batta83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landgoed D, General Manager at Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

First of all I would like tot thank you for posting your review. This sets us to improve the service and facilities of Duin & Kruidberg Country Estate. We hope to welcome you again at Duin & Kruidberg Country Estate.

Yours Sincerely,

Bernard Lensink
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
188 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This hotel wants to be good, and the guests want the same, but..... We arrived on a warm day, and our room was on the third floor with a very small window. It was too hot, and the desk staff attempted to start the 'air conditioning'. This failed, and they somewhat reluctantly showed us another room that might meet 'our preferences' - well, we just wanted to sleep really. Same story for the second room, so after making noise about moving hotels, we were given a suite with large windows and fans. Bottom line is that the 'air conditioning' does not work in the top levels, so this hotel is ok on a temperate day.
The setting is lovely, and the dinner was well delivered. It is a bit old on its support systems

Room Tip: Insist on satisfaction for your room accommodation - the staff do not always know the available room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike_J1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landgoed D, General Manager at Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

First of all I would like tot thank you for posting your review. This sets us to improve the service of Duin & Kruidberg Country Estate. I am sorry to read that we could not get you the service and quality we aim for. Again we apologize profusely for any caused inconvenience and we hope to welcome you again at Duin & Kruidberg Country Estate.

Yours Sincerely,

Bernard Lensink
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santpoort-Noord
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Ijmuiden Seaport Beach
4.6 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem
6.3 mi away
NH Heemskerk Marquette
NH Heemskerk Marquette
#1 of 1 in Heemskerk
4.0 of 5 stars 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bastion Hotel Haarlem Velsen
Bastion Hotel Haarlem Velsen
#2 of 3 in Santpoort-Noord
4.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
5.2 mi away
NH Zandvoort
NH Zandvoort
#1 of 26 in Zandvoort
3.5 of 5 stars 922 reviews
2.4 mi away
Augusta Hotel
Augusta Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ijmuiden
4.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg

Property: Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg
Address: Duin- en Kruidbergerweg 60, 2071 LE Santpoort-Noord, Velsen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Velsen > Santpoort-Noord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Santpoort-Noord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel and conference retreat offers 75 luxury hotel rooms, the Michelin-starred restaurant De Vrienden van Jacob, a modern Brasserie & Loungebar DenK and a variety of classic style rooms. Our modern banquet rooms can be used for venues for meetings, conferences, dinners and receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg Hotel Santpoort
Landgoed Duin And Kruidberg
Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg Santpoort-Noord, The Netherlands - North Holland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing