We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay”
Review of De Rustende Jager

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
De Rustende Jager
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nieuw-Vennep
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We spent two nights at this hotel. We visited nearby Keukonof Park and rented bicycles. There are better regions for cycling in Holland so would not recommend that part. Now that we have travelled a bit through the Netherlands, giving a cold reception appears to be "normal". Nonetheless the staff was courteous and helpful. Our room was quiet and well appointed and beds were comfortable. Breakfast was abundant and varied, and even had freshly squeezed orange juice. We also had supper at the restaurant and the meal was delicious with a very friendly waiter. We are returning to this hotel to visit Amsterdam. We will take the nearby train (10-15 min walk). Nice bakery couple of doors down and great Chinese restaurant around the corner.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank MPR1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for De Rustende Jager
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 101 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2013

Reception staff rude, and don't give good impression that they know what to do.., training needed perhaps! The hotel manger was introduced.., but sad to say that he was no better at his job!
Whilst I was checking into the hotel, there was another guest complaining at the reception desk about the room and service.., perhaps this should have given me warning.
The room was smelly. Poor decoration. Poor area. Not very good value for money.
Generally the staff can make the difference, but unfortunately not in this case... I would not stay at this hotel again, and I would not recommend it!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N-M4F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel on several occasions over the years as my husband is from a nearby area, this time however was not a good experience, as on the second evening there was a Dutch blues evening in the hotel that we did not know about until the actual afternoon of the event. When we tried to find out what time it was giong to finish all we got was a shrug of the shoulders and a a sly smile from the receptionist, them she said it would finish at 2am.My husband asked for another room as they were already practicing and our room was right above and we could hear everything ,we were told the hotel was full, fair enough a lot of people from the blues evening were staying the evening, so why did'nt they give us a room further away in the first place !. When we checked out my husband complained and asked why we were not told about the evening when booking or checking in, and were told we should have been told, and as we were'nt they would not charge for one night which we were happy with, but after paying and checking the bill outside we found we had been charged for something from the restaurant that we did'nt have, 138 euros worth, and we were'nt the only ones, the reception was running out of cash as they had no way of refunding a credit card!This hotel has gone downhill, the room we had was in need of a refurb, but all the bar staff and restaurant staff were excellent and so were the rest of the reception staff , it really is a shame!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blodwynBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Well placed for a trip into Amsterdam, the Keukenhof gardens or cycling around the bulb fields - bicycles can be hired from the hotel for 5 Euros a day. Breakfast is rather expensive in the hotel, but there are very good places to eat in the village. However, if you plan to eat an evening meal at the Old Mill, you will need to book in advance.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyto2820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Unlike my last stop, it seems that depending on which side of the corridor you sleep on, depends on your experience !! The room was OK but the bathroom was falling to bits ! The sink and shelf were very unstable and the mable tiles (if thats what they were) were all cracked. The toilet also took about 45mins to fill the cystern so always make sure you flush well before going to bed !

The key thing though is that there is no aircon. When we were there it was into the 20's and it felt like 30 in the room. The consolation is that they supply a small fan, but to be honest it didnt make any difference.

Finally on a good note though, we did eat outside from the menu and the food and service was very good.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DoozeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

This hotel was a little dated but ok for the price and location. We stayed here and biked 6 miles to the tulip fields. The hotel rents bikes. The restaurant was good but expensive for what you got. The staff in both the restaurant and hotel were very good and there are a number of places to eat within walking distance.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drspringtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

We stayed here over when we went on a weekend to Amsterdam, mostly cause it was cheaper to get an hotel here than in Amsterdam itself. It was a nice, spacious and a little old hotelroom. Not very much to say, staff was friendly.

Oh and that night was BINGO-night for the ones who may be interested !!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DisKoverZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nieuw-Vennep
2.3 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol
7.0 mi away
NH Noordwijk Conference Centre Leeuwenhorst
3.5 mi away
Hotel De Duif
Hotel De Duif
#1 of 2 in Lisse
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Airport
4.2 mi away
NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
3.8 mi away
Hotel De Beurs
Hotel De Beurs
#11 of 12 in Hoofddorp
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Rustende Jager? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Rustende Jager

Address: Venneperweg 471, 2153 AD Nieuw-Vennep, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Nieuw-Vennep
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nieuw-Vennep
Price Range: $74 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Rustende Jager 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Rustende Jager reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing