We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel”
Review of Lake Land Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Land Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Monnickendam
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good budget hotel”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

After reading some of the reviews of this hotel I wondered why coach companies would send their tours here but I think some of the criticisms are unfair. The hotel is in a beautiful spot and rooms at the front and back have lovely views of the marina and lake. My room was clean, the bed comfortable with very white, crisp sheets. The bathroom was spotless and looked to have been recently refurbished and there were no problems with lack of shower screens as had been previously reported. I used the bath and there was a plentiful supply of hot water which crucially remained constant when other people were using their facilities. Yes they only supply one towel but it's large and changed daily. The decor is dated but really how much time do you spend actually in the room? For those who prefer something more aesthetically pleasing then a trip to the village with it's waterways and pretty houses is a must! The food is a bit school canteen like but it's hard to see how it can be done any other way given the amount of people they have to serve. They may have several coach loads in who all need feeding at the same time. It's not like a restaurant whose clientele are staggered throughout the evening! The staff were friendly and helpful. The menu was a bit unimaginative but it was tasty and plentiful. They don't do fresh fruit though - expect the syrupy tinned varieties and nowhere seemed to offer decaf tea or coffee either so take your own if you need it. I did miss a kettle in the room but you can get hot drinks throughout the day in the bar. I slept well and there was no evidence of the place being used as the local youth hangout as one reviewer reported. I was there all weekend and slept like a log - no disurbances at all. It is what is - a budget hotel and it doesn't pretend to be otherwise. So if you book to come here and you don't get 5 star luxury and haute cuisine don't whinge about it because it isn't fair or helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    62
    105
    45
    39
See reviews for
42
98
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

The first hotel on my first trip to Europe. Located in the village of Monnickendam, about 30 min from Amsterdam, Lake Land Hotel is right beside a beautiful marina and is not far away from the serene village. Scenery aside, the stay at the hotel is average. The room, though nicely kept, looks like a motel. The TV is small and only plays limited number of channels. At night, there were a lot of chattering from the tourists outside my room, making it really hard to sleep. On the plus side, it is a very quaint little hotel, and the breakfast there, consisting of both continental and a wide variety of ham is delicious!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank oklahomatornadoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed here in November on a coach trip with my brother & sister.

Couldn't fault the place good food buffet style for breakfast and dinner.
Rooms were basic but clean and the heating was on when we arrived.
Bar was great in the nights plenty of music and free drinks as we were on a package.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jamie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed here on a coach trip in June, it's in a fantastic location on the edge of a lake with the village a short flat walk away with shops and bars. The room was clean and comfortable with a balcony and seating, the food was basic but plentiful, served buffet style with a choice of different meals. This is a good budget hotel, not too far from Amsterdam in a lovely location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dibspl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I was at this hotel for one night, the view is pretty with lots of yachts in front of the hotel. The room heater wasn't working good, and the door insulation was bad when the wind blew during winter. I was shivering under the blanket until I dozed before dawn. Overall, the food was good. It is a little away from the city of Amsterdam but the location is nice near the canal.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clueless279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We stayed here as part of a tour group. Rooms were clean and spacious, we had a scenic view of the yachts. We just had a bit of problem with the water pressure at the shower, other than that, it's ok. The wifi was not free, costs 2 euros for 1 device for 24hrs. Plenty of food selection for breakfast. Staff was helpful and accommodating. The only point of interest at this area is the cheese & clog factory is just across the lake. Stay here if you want the countryside feel of Netherlands since it's 45-60 mins away from the city or main attractions is Amsterdam (Canals/Red light district).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uberfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

This place is nasty ,grubby run down ,very basic. Tour companies use this hotel for a start and finish for their tours. One person on the tour thought he may of caught a virus from the bed spread,in his room. If you are from North America and are use to, Best Westerns , Comfort Suites etc, then this place is not for you. It is too bad because the hotel is in a lovely, area near the small village.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamplemousefull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monnickendam hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monnickendam
1.7 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Volendam
0.2 mi away
Suitehotel Restaurant Posthoorn
2.7 mi away
Hotel Spaander
Hotel Spaander
#1 of 4 in Volendam
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
De Rijper Eilanden
De Rijper Eilanden
#1 of 2 in De Rijp
112 reviews
2.1 mi away
Marinapark Volendam
Marinapark Volendam
#2 of 4 in Volendam
185 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampshire Golfhotel - Waterland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Land Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Land Hotel

Property: Lake Land Hotel
Address: Jachthaven 1, 1141 AV, Monnickendam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Monnickendam
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Monnickendam
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Land Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lake Land Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing