We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“"Quiet Norwegian Feeling in Holland"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fletcher Hotel Nautisch Kwartier - Huizen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fletcher Hotel Nautisch Kwartier - Huizen
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Huizen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"Quiet Norwegian Feeling in Holland"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hotel has various buildings that are like Norwegian cabins by the harbour. The reception is at the back of the restaurants and the view of the lake and yachts is very nice. It is a new hotel from 2012 so the rooms are clean. But they are in different buildings, maybe 4. My room was small and had two beds instead of one large. I felt the restaurant was overpriced compared to the ones in Laren or Naarden which are close by.
This is a relaxing hotel. Nice for the bikers on their route of the Gooimeer.

Room Tip: Ask reception which is the best building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FH1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    175
    46
    12
    2
See reviews for
58
257
9
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

If you are looking for a quiet hotel in a simple enviroment, you may enjoy staying here. The buildings are new; so all is clean, freshly painted and decorated. We had lunch at the hotel restaurant, which was a fresh salade with delicious wine. For dinner, we had a delicious pancake at Dickens, next door.

Room Tip: The Botter house, room 236 on the end corner was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Level Contributor
100 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 409 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The first impression when you arrive is good, and you think this is a romantic, well designed hotel with great views. It then goes downhill.

The rooms are mostly small, cheaply decorated, with mediocre mattresses and uncomfortable bed pillows.

Breakfast is a buffet but very standard and no better than you would get at a Van der Valk hotel. No service, except a stressed out waitress who asked me the number of my room to make sure the breakfast was included.

Not customer oriented at all, not pleasant for leisure (impersonal) or business (few facilities).

Room Tip: a larger room, not on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank topsmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Where can I start? The whole dining experience was awful. They took 15 minutes to seat us, 20 to give us a menu, and then 45 minutes waiting between starter and main. Then we had to send back the main twice. First the food was cooked fine but was clearly sitting around a long time waiting to be brought to the table as the food was cold. Second time they brought us the food it was massively undercooked and eating raw pork doesnt seem a wise idea. Third time the food was fine but by then we had seriously lost interest in dessert. In addition, the waiter had told us they would comp the drinks (glass of wine) but the manager then told us they wouldnt do this! Are they serious?

This place is a total joke and we will never go back...ever! I had to negotiate for 20 minutes on what we were paying for. I have never been treated so poorly in a restaurant in terms of food quality and service. And to be honest the food was nothing special. Really just basic with nothing to make it memorable.

Its a shame the kitchen and service were so awful and management just made it worse.

Save your efforts. Go to one of the other lovely places in the same area. You will be better off!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve_WorldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

This hotel appears to have been designed to look and feel like an old village, but feels slightly fake. I stayed here twice on business in May, the first time I stayed in one of the outbuildings which had a window with no curtain by design in the door, which let in the sun at a ridiculously early time in the morning. On the second trip I was in the main building with no similar window, however I needed to iron my shirt for an early morning meeting and was told by reception that the hotel only had one which someone else had for the evening... Even the spartan hotel I stayed in, in Stavanger had an iron and iron board!! All I can say is don't stay here for business.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank easytofindinaclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
91 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Upon arrival we were welcomed in the most friendly way, during our three night stay we experienced that every staff memeber made it his/her job to let us feel at home. First we were given an attick room in one of the more remote buildings, both of us being quite tall we felt claustrofobic in a room where half of the space was under a roof which didn't allow us to stand upright. We were given an upgrade to the main building, the room itself wasn't bigger but had high ceilings and an amazing view over the lake. In general the decor of the hotel and it's rooms are cosy, however I do have to wonder if the furniture and flooring will be able to stand the test of time as they don't seem to be made for a heavy duty hospitality environment.
When booking through the hotels website you will have the opportunity to purchase dinner at reduced prices, we did so for every night. The menu had limited choice but was acceptable, however I have reservations about some menu items... for example the tomato soup was very blad which led me to believe it was not prepared in house. Our last night we had a 4-course menu which was rushed through in less than an hour, probably because it was New Years Eve and everyone on duty was rushing to be with their family or friend to celebrate, I can understand that but working in the hospitality industry your guests have a higher priority, for us this definately was not how we intended to spend our evening. Instead of enjoying a romantic night out we were back in our room by 8:30PM, for the rest there was nothing else to do in the hotel that night. If a hotel or restaurant isn't prepared to give it's guest an nice time on New Year's Eve then it is better to close all together instead of taking the money and run.
All in all this really isn't a bad hotel, it just didn't meet our expectations.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeoRaeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vlijmen
Level Contributor
105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We have stayed here twice now, once just after it opened in 2012, and again in April 2013.
Positive: both stays were nice overall, and the rooms are comfortable with good beds, and a good and spacious shower. The whole brand-new area is quite a nice design at the harborside. Very good breakfast, and it is convenient to have so many different restaurants close by, although it is not very clear which ones are part of the hotel and which are not.

Negative points:
The bed pillows are lumpy - offering some pillows with other fillings would be good. Lighting in the bathroom can be better. The bedrooms do not have curtains, but wooden adjustable horizontal shutters which do not close very well, so you still have light come into the room even if you don't want to. Some blackout roller blinds would be a welcome addition.
During our first stay, there were some problems with the door locks in the rooms.
The serving staff at breakfast are not overly friendly.....probably because they are busy restocking the buffet.
Not all processes run well yet - we booked for tea and apple pie as part of our arrangement, but were not given vouchers for these, nor were we told how to get these. Visiting the bar/restaurant area, we found out we needed vouchers, so back to reception again to get these, after which it took ages for the bar staff to deliver our tea.
We were also overcharged for our stay, which I had to get rectified by phone after we had left.
So yes, definitely some loose ends.....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vsop-50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huizen
NH Bussum Jan Tabak
#1 of 2 in Bussum
4.0 of 5 stars 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Naarden
#1 of 2 in Naarden
3.5 of 5 stars 258 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fletcher Hotel Nautisch Kwartier - Huizen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fletcher Hotel Nautisch Kwartier - Huizen

Property: Fletcher Hotel Nautisch Kwartier - Huizen
Address: Mastspoor 1, 1271 GL Huizen, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Huizen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Huizen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fletcher Hotel Nautisch Kwartier - Huizen 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Nautisch Kwartier, with its unique location, lies at the northern side of the old harbour the Oude Haven, fronting onto the Gooimeer lake. The hotel offers modern decorated rooms with flat screen TV, comfortable beds and private bathroom. Restaurant J serves a menu which is inspired by both the French and the Mediterranean kitchens. Have a nice glass of wine at RIVA Wine Lounge, the place to enjoy specially selected, good wines from different wine regions across the world. All rooms are decorated with nautical elements and equipped with a desk. The surrounding area is perfect for walking or cycling. And other picturesque villages like Blaricum and Bussum, are close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Fletcher Hotel Nautisch Kwartier - Huizen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fletcher Hotel Nautisch Kwartier - Huizen The Netherlands - North Holland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing