We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“adequate, not a 5-star hotel.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Zuiderduin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Zuiderduin
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Egmond aan Zee
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“adequate, not a 5-star hotel.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

The good: friendly service, and 100 meters from the beach. Bowling, sauna and spa inside the hotel.

The bad: black mould in the bathroom, had to change room twice, no airconditioning, breakfast poor. No terrace outside. Sauna a bit 'shabby', swimmingpool has seen better days.

Hotel is 20 years old and it shows.

Room Tip: Avoid 5th floor (flat roof: very uncomfortable in the summer)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RELC71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    127
    80
    28
    14
See reviews for
66
144
5
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
57 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

I booked this hotel since I attended a conference there. And since it was only for one night, I thought it to be easy to just stay there.

The good news: the hotel is 100m from the beach and my room had a balcony with sea view.

The bad news: where to begin?
Some of the other reviews called it "past glory". I was wondering when it ever had been glorious.
The building is a horrible concrete eighties thing. Few rooms have a sea view, most of them look into the car park.

The room I had was decorated with furniture that even at the time they put it there it was considered bad taste. The carpet from the same era was full of stains and the curtains full of holes. There was still some beach sand of the previous guests on the floor. The bed was uncomfortably soft, so I was broken when I woke up next day.

Breakfast was in the "restaurant", which actually turns out to be a canteen. You take your plastic tray to join the line at the buffet. It was very hard choosing a healthy option. I was there on a sustainability conference, so the contrast couldn't be bigger. Even the scrambled eggs were clearly mass manufactured, like everything else. The only coffee they had was regular; no cappuccino or latte.
They've put those plastic bins on your table with a little plastic bag in it for waste. A staff member pushed a canteen trolley round to collect the trays. All in all very stylish - real four star! - not.

The hotel is big and has lots of extra facilities: swimming pool, sauna, squash court, beauty salon, bowling alley et cetera. I didn't even dare to think of using them...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Yozsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Egmond aan Zee hotels

Spotsylvania, Virginia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

A very large complex, but comfortable and convenient to all the Egmonds and the beach of the North Sea. The breakfasts were nothing special, but adequate and plentiful. Free wifi in the lounges. Staff spoke english, but wasn't very helpful.

Room Tip: Good luck, this place is huge, we didn't have any issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jall55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

It is near the beach, main street and bus station
clean rooms and nice people, no room service or mini bar or laundry service

Room Tip: Near Restaurant will be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MITawfik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

I have been in this hotel about 3 times now for a yearly training. The hotel is a very big groups and convention hotel. Therefore the service if not really personal and the restaurant is only buffet (food is ok, but unless it is included I would reccomend to go to another place). Rates for the use of internet in the room is around €12.50, which I think is quite high.

The rooms are nice and spacious, beds are a bit too soft but further ok (I requested a badboard). If you wanna pay the extra fee some rooms have a great view on the North Sea.

Due to the trainings I have not been into town much, but Egmond seems like a nice little town, nice foor a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

We went here because we were celebrating my parents in law 50th wedding anniversary.
The location was GREAT, but when it was booked they said it was a 4 star hotel. Well maybe our idea of 4 stars is different, but after our first night our children complained that they did not sleep well, after inspecting there beds we found that there was a plank between the mattress and the box spring! When I went to reception to complain, instead of apologizing they just said that was to make the mattress more firm...we had 3 rooms for our family, almost a whole floor for all the relatives and everybody was complaining about the soft beds. Maybe if you need to use a wooden plank to firm up the mattress you need new mattresses?
The food was an open buffet... breakfast was okay but the eggs were awful, dry on top, wet and full of water on the bottom, dinner was not 3 or 4 star, little potatoes so under cooked that you could use as ping balls.... must say there was one waitress at the restaurant that was very very nice.
One final complaint, the elevators were very small with no air (no air-conditioning in our
room either) and the employees would use the same elevator, and would not let customers go first, they would just shove there cleaning cart in there, not even say hello and take up 3/4 of the elevator!
All in all the beach was beautiful, the towns were nice, but this hotel needs to work on customer service for sure! Also stayed at a two start hotel in Amsterdam and they were way more customer orientated and a lot less snobby for sure!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelPatty80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Level Contributor
58 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2010

The hotel was built in 1980 and has not been renovated since then. Rooms are pourly furnished and do not have airconditioning. The breakfast is served in a sort of army mess and is fully self-service. Staff treats you like a number. Location is good, but for the rest price-quality is bad

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DutchAlfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egmond aan Zee
0.3 mi away
Strandhotel Golfzang
Strandhotel Golfzang
#1 of 8 in Egmond aan Zee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Vassy
Hotel de Vassy
#4 of 8 in Egmond aan Zee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#1 of 8 in Bergen aan Zee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel De Dennen
Hotel De Dennen
#5 of 8 in Egmond aan Zee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Nassau Bergen
Hotel Nassau Bergen
#2 of 8 in Bergen aan Zee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
6.8 mi away
NH Heemskerk Marquette
NH Heemskerk Marquette
#1 of 1 in Heemskerk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zuiderduin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zuiderduin

Property: Hotel Zuiderduin
Address: Zeeweg 52, 1931 Egmond aan Zee, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Egmond aan Zee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Egmond aan Zee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Zuiderduin 4*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Zuiderduin is great to relax with the wide sandy beach just 100 meters away. At the foot of the dunes, you will find a wide variety of facilities. Besides modern furnished hotel rooms, apartments and suites offers this 4-star hotel an excellent restaurant where you can enjoy a rich buffet breakfast and a varied dinner buffet. You can also opt for the cozy bistro and pub. On the squash court and in the gym you can show off your sporty side. In the hotel you can relax in the sauna center and heated indoor pool. For optimal pampering use our Wellness Center. Children will enjoy themselves in the indoor playground 'Wally the Walrus'. In the hotel there are 8 bowling lanes equipped with spectacular light shows in the cool vibe of the 70s. In the bowling center you can enjoy snacks and drinks and also dance on the illuminated dance floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Zuiderduin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing