We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth a stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of De Halve Maan

De Halve Maan
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
De Halve Maan
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bovenkarspel
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well worth a stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed in this hotel on a Shearings tour last week. After seeing previous reviews we were a bit doubtful about it, but need not have been. We had a room with 3 twin beds even though there was only 2 of us. Our bathroom/wetroom was plenty big enough, with both a bath and shower, we had taken bath towels with us after reading that they weren't provided, that was also wrong, we had both bath and hand towels, which were changed each day. When we arrived our cases were taken to our room, so we didn't have to worry about them. The food at both breakfast and evening meal was lovely, with plenty of choice of both hot and cold food at breakfast. Our only problem was that we couldn't pick up the wireless internet, whereas other people could, but having said that we were on holiday so it wasn't really needed. All in all this was a great holiday in a very good hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wenjohn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    10
    9
    3
See reviews for
8
11
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

Have just spent 3 nights here on a Shearings tour. The hotel has obviously had a complete make over and all the rooms are spotlessly clean, the bathrooms are small but adequate (how much of your holiday do you want to spend in the bathroom anyway?) and the towels were changed each day.
The staff (family) are friendly and helpful - we arrived at 11.00pm and they had the bar open for us while they took all the bags to the rooms.
The food is good; breakfast is buffet style continental or cooked and the coffee just keeps coming. As we were a group of 50 dinner was a fixed menu but the food was excellent (3 courses) and nobody had to wait. I noticed that the locals eat here.
As a group we were highly satisfied with our stay
I suggest to the moaners that if they want 4star service they should stay in 4star hotels

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KentGrandad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed here on a Shearings tour to see the flowers in Keukenhoff Gardens and Amsterdam. I have stayed in better backpackers. Beds uncomfortable, pillows like rocks, no tea making facility or toiletries. The food was ok but we were on a tour so I guess you get what you pay for. I ordered in the bar a cup of tea with milk for myself and a cup of hot water for my sister to add her herbal teabag to as there were none on offer, I was charged the same price for the water as the tea. Bottom line is, don't do this Shearings tour to the Netherlands and avoid this hotel like the plague.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bovenkarspel hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

A disappointing stay in a family run hotel. The twin bedroom was very small, the beds consisted of iron bedsteads with mattresses. The toilet was far from adequate in what seemed to be a cupboard with no ventilation, The wash room, again with no ventilation, was very small and had a six inch step to enter and there was no room for dressing after a shower or wash. Television balanced on top of the wardrobe shared a plug point with the shower room light! To access the wardrobe meant moving a chair to open the doors, Suitcases had to be stored under the bed. The hotel is close to the railway line and on the flight path. Much building work opposite and local traffic seemed non-stop. Very disappointed that Shearings should use this Hotel for a holiday based on the Bulb Fields - a good one and a half hours journey.

Room Tip: I don't honestly think I could recommend this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Penelope B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed here for three nights on Shearings coach holiday. The bedroom was small and like something out of the 40s.Small basic twin beds.2 upright chairs that we couldn't get to or sit on ,so sat on bed to put on shoes etc,but fluff came off flannelette sheets over everything.
The shower room was adequate and clean ,but the towels were not." 2 hand towels each, no bath towels. There was no heating .Asked for upgrade but told hotel was full.Ours was not the worst,we saw the one with the folding door to the toilet- absolutely unbeleivably small !
As it was after midnight when we arrived and we were 1 1/2hrs from civilisation , there wasn't much we could do. 3 hrs each day travelling to sight s!Think very carefully before booking this trip .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Arrived at 12.30am after a long journey. Room was totally inadequate as a twin and measured 9ft x 8ft , very small shower room, toilet was separate with a shutter door which was 20 ins from my bed offered no privacy and was very small without any ventilation or window. Beds were basic bedsteads as was the room Asked to be moved but told nothing else available the owner really not interested. Fire and safety regulations were in small print which we could not read in the very poor lighting. Hair dryer a travel model which did not dry was also unsafe as it sparked.
The set meals were of a good quality, but breakfast was a bit sparse. Needless to say we would not want to repeat this experience felt like being in a 50's time warp!

Room Tip: Room at the front of the Hotel on first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mugglesbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Angleterre
Level Contributor
105 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights on a Shearings coach holiday.
On a positive note, the bedroom was large, warm and comfortable.
However, the breakfast was extremely basic - fruit juice, bread, ham, cheese and cake -
not even any cereals. 2 days we were each given a single boiled egg but the other
day were told no eggs available !
The staff seem disinterested and look like they wish they were elsewhere.
There was no choice of menu for the evening meal.
Smoking was allowed in the bar so the air was very fuggy.
Some outside noise late at night from locals on scooters - take your earplugs !
Location was a bit remote if you are visiting Amsterdam - approx 1hour drive north from the centre.
Not a patch on some of Shearings other choice of hotels - maybe you will get a better experience if you book individually.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank thefrancophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bovenkarspel
9.5 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Hoorn
1.1 mi away
Hotel De Koepoort
Hotel De Koepoort
#1 of 5 in Enkhuizen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hotel Petit Nord
Hotel Petit Nord
#3 of 5 in Hoorn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
SuyderSee Hotel
SuyderSee Hotel
#2 of 5 in Enkhuizen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.0 mi away
Het Roode Hert
Het Roode Hert
#1 of 1 in Bovenkarspel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
1.7 mi away
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#1 of 10 in Enkhuizen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Halve Maan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Halve Maan

Property: De Halve Maan
Address: Hoofdstraat 254, 1611 AN Bovenkarspel, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Bovenkarspel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bovenkarspel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — De Halve Maan 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your De Halve Maan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing