We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very noisy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 1900

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel 1900
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Bergen aan Zee
Oosterhout, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very noisy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Room and especially bathroom very small and boring decoration.
The first night we stayed they had a party for about 100 people and we slept right above the restaurant. It lasted till the middle of the night, the noise was terrible.
The manager made his excuses and promised us to come up with something to make it up, but we never saw him again :-(.
Our offer was included with free parking but we had to pay 10 euro's.
Breakfast was good and the staff was nice.

Room Tip: don't sleep in the rooms above the restaurant, very very noisy!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank floweroflife12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    28
    28
    21
    26
See reviews for
11
75
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Nucia, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is a very nice family hotel with a good atmospher. Nice staff and our room was really good situated in the garden. We liked the breakfast and at the restarant Zusters you can gave a good meal. The location is in the centre of town and 5 minutes from the beach. When we are in Holland again we will visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krommenie, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
145 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Who needs a new modern hotel like Yotel or Citizen-M. This hotal is all year 1900 style. On the room the small bathroom, the old stylish lights, the curtains, the beds, everything is old. And I liked it. Ok it's a little small in the rooms, but we had a good nightrest and the rooms were clean. Downstairs is a big living room, which can be used by everybody. You can do pool, sit by the fire, watch tv or do an old school board game. Breakfast in the morning is big and for everybody something to drink or eat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank devriesmartijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Do not take some of the reviews on here at face value. This hotel is WAY better than 1star. Honestly, how can these internet savvy people use tripadvisor, and yet NOT look carefully in advance at the available information.

OK, end of rant, here is why I recommend this hotel.

Bergen is an old, pretty and touristic artisan town. And not cheap.
This hotel matches the style of the town. because the building is so old.
It is lovely, but old.
The pictures clearly show some small rooms, with odd shapes, and a very small reception.
It doesnt say it as a lift, so do not be surprised to find steep stairs typical of these older style buildings.

However, this is a lovely family hotel, with a charming sitting room, bar and verandah.
The rooms are comfortable and very clean.
The huge benefit is the location, which is central, and so all the wonderful bars, restaurants and shops are only a short and pretty walk.

If you want a holiday inn, or the ritz, look elsewhere.
Otherwise, you will really enjoy this little gem.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AirScrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ninove
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

My husband & I went to Hotel 1900 for one night by using a 'gift check' I received for my birthday. Upon booking I mentioned that my husband was in a wheelchair and got confirmation that it was OK. Upon arrival, they claimed they did not know, but I had the confirmation email. They then changed the room.
When checking into the room we found that it was decent size, but not clean at all. The bed was small (1.80m long & 1.40 m large). We are both 1.80m +, so bed to small. The bedside lamp was broken, but fixed with some metal wire (from a garden fence??). The shower was not accessible for a wheelchair patient and the shower head did not fit in the holder, so not really a pleasant and relaxing shower. Heating did not work either, so rather cold in the bathroom.
The room was not clean either. Lots of dust (from more than 1 week) was under the bed, on the heating and the plastic flowers in the room.
The third bed in the room had a mattress that was 20 cm (or so) to short, so luckily our son did not join us on this trip.
Next to that bed was an old door that led to some kind of boiler room of 2 m² where the boiler was and were the ivy was entering through the roof. It also contained old wooden boards and some other junk that was apparently forgotten there long time ago.
The wardrobe mirror was broken & instead of repaired a flower was painted over.
Outside our room we had a lounge area, but the sofas were dirty as well. Decoration of the garden was very poor (plastic flowers and lots of weeds alongside the windows.
Breakfast was OK, but not super. I missed some croissants or other breakfast rolls and hot cacoa. Breakfast room was not a gay affair either, rather dark & gloomy with plastic table cloths that felt very rough.
On the positive side however, staff was extremely friendly and helpfull and the location is ideal for walks. Bergen aan Zee is 5kms away, but a nice walk with nice views.

Room Tip: I would not ask for room 40.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sjaapeken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bergen aan Zee hotels

GTA, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

Location Excellent, Breakfast Excellent, Staff Excellent... but, room was terrible, just a tiny hole of a room with a lumpy mattress and ... priced at over 100 Euroes. This was the second room we saw, first one was even worse at the same price with small window and view of a wall.. We wanted to stay in this area and booked over the phone from a magazine add.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel200905SL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2008

We have to stay near Alkmaar some times a year because of our business. Our regular accomodation was not availlable and so we chose the 1900 for one night.
For the first and the last time.
Our room was located in an old house next to the main building on the other side of the street. The room was in the highest floor and it was not easy to reach the room with our suitcases because of the narrow floors.
The room itself was extremely small. The room-door opened directly against the bed.
The walls were very thin. When the guests of the neighbour-room were in the the bath or on the toilet, it sounded if they were in the room. At night we awoke because someone was peeing(!) very loud.
We left the next morning without giving the breakfast a chance.
As we learned there are much better places in Bergen.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room
  • Stayed November 2003, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bergen aan Zee
3.0 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#1 of 8 in Bergen aan Zee
4.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
4.9 mi away
Strandhotel Golfzang
Strandhotel Golfzang
#1 of 9 in Egmond aan Zee
4.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Nassau Bergen
Hotel Nassau Bergen
#2 of 8 in Bergen aan Zee
3.5 of 5 stars 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Heerlijkheid Bergen
0.7 mi away
Blooming Hotel
Blooming Hotel
#1 of 8 in Bergen
4.0 of 5 stars 232 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Boschlust
Hotel Boschlust
#3 of 8 in Bergen aan Zee
4.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1900? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1900

Property: Hotel 1900
Address: Russenweg 5, 1861 JN Bergen aan Zee, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Bergen aan Zee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Bergen aan Zee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 1900 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel 1900 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing