We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings!”
Review of Boshuys Hermitage

Boshuys Hermitage
Reserve a Table
2
Fri, 9/20
8:00 PM
Ranked #7 of 69 Restaurants in Oisterwijk
Price range: $9 - $18
Cuisines: Belgian, French, Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Boshuys Hermitage is a charming restaurant, drinking occasion, and party location beautifully situated in the Oisterwijk forests. Boshuys Hermitage gives each visitor the opportunity to feel welcome and just unwind. We work as much as possible with organic ingredients in our food and beverages. We hope you enjoy our culinary cuisine and the peace of the idyllic pond. An oasis in the heart of Brabant; Oisterwijk. The terrace overlooks a beautiful pond where ducks and swans (with or without newborn offspring) slide past.
Reviewed September 24, 2017

We have eaten here a few times over the last 10 years but were never overwhelmed by the food inside the restaurant but had eaten some very pleasant snacks & drinks several times on the lovely terrace outside. When we heard there was a new chef we decided to give the restaurant another try. Although we all enjoyed our food we were very surprised at the lack of vegetables on our plates. I ordered an entrecôte steak which had been described as being accompanied by purée. The plate arrived with just the right amount of beautifully cooked steak, which was delicious, but with only four tiny little blobs of purée, with nothing else and which amounted to about a dessert spoonful. When I asked the waitress if we were getting any other vegetables, she rather haughtily said no, that was how they served it. As my husband had ordered a portion of fries with his steak tartare we all shared these and promptly ordered another portion, otherwise we would have been very hungry indeed. We understand how chefs like to present their dishes in a creative way but this really was a joke. We could not believe that the bill came to almost 200 euros. Between us we had three starters, two mains, three desserts, one beer, a bottle of red house wine and a bottle of Cava (I had asked for Prosecco but they don't have it) which cost an astonishing 34.50 euros - as much as champagne usually costs! We eat out a lot and are not normally hard to please but obviously we won't be eating there again because, although the food is good, we did not come to eat a painting!

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cecily221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 130 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2017 via mobile

Having just returned from a long trip to the US, where a large majority of all restaurants are either over-priced or just plain bad (and most are both), we were pleasantly surprised to find this place in the middle of the forrest near our camping ground. The venue is enchanting, with a large terrace overlooking a pond with geese and swans. The Boshuys offers inventive cuisine at reasonable prices. Chicken breast on a bed of squid with spinach was one of the discoveries. The Chardonnay by the glass was very good, as was the cheeseplate. The menu included standard Dutch fare for the kids, such as kroket with fries. The service was attentive, albeit a bit slow. Two waiters for a well-stacked terrace seemed like a case of borderline understaffing. Still: highly recommended.

Date of visit: August 2017
1  Thank Vinzenz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2017

We were sitting outside and had to wait a while to be noticed. Which is completely understandable if it's busy, but it was very quiet. The food was not really special, but very overpriced. Some ingredients were missing, which can happen, but again it took ages to be noticed. We had to pay an absurd amount of money for a lukewarm coffee afterwards. When we gave polite feedback we got zero response. Maybe it was the wrong day, but not again for us.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank valerie868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2017 via mobile

Very helpful staff, children friendly. Relatively small portions which keeps the high quality food affordable.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Francis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2017

Full disclosure, We love the Netherlands. The people, the food, the countryside - apart from the rain maybe. Its such a great country. Dutch people are very cool and they keep things nice and low key. This place sums it up. Good food and wine. Unfussy and not too expensive. There was an issue with their card reader the night we went so we couldn't pay at the time so they took it on trust that we would pay when we returned home, which we did. As it was a wet February evening we couldn't sit on the terrace but they placed us right next to a roaring log fire - nice!

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank CasaCoco11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DickvanOstaden, Eigenaar at Boshuys Hermitage, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2017

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boshuys Hermitage also viewed

Oisterwijk, North Brabant Province
Oisterwijk, North Brabant Province
 
Oisterwijk, North Brabant Province
Oisterwijk, North Brabant Province
 
Oisterwijk, North Brabant Province
Oirschot, North Brabant Province
 

Been to Boshuys Hermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing