We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Tulip West Ende
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Helmond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Was a guest for three nights while on business. Staff was very professional and courteous. The breakfast was an excellent way to start my work day. Rooms were very clean and bathroom was very spacious. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Txgiants22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 194 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

The reception of the hotel is a bit oddly located, but once you find it, staff is really helpful, lovely, friendly. Strange that the only apparent way to the hotelroom was by elevator.

Did not really care for the colour scheme of the room, but that's just a matter of opinion. The bed was comfortable (allthough not really 'matrimonial'' since it were two beds put together, which of course creates a gap between te beds. Pillows were nice and comfy.

Bathtub was nice as well, good shower. The washbasin wasn't too user friendly and I could really do with some clothing hooks in the bathroom. Did love the generosity with bathing products and coffee/tea.

We did enjoy the coffee making facilities. Missed some sort of (alarm)clock though, would me nice if there was one at the nightstand or in the tv. The nightstand, well, that was a story in it's own... the bedside lamps were too big, way too big! They took up all the space on the nightstand, could put by own stuff there. No drawers in the stand, it was just a table, so not really convenient. There were two comfortable seats and a a big flatscreen tv (annoying blue light during the night from the standby button, but oh well), good information directory, free wifi, which was much appreciated!

Shelves in the closet were a bit narrow and there was not enough light there, so maybe a small lamp in the closet could help (also since there is a mirror in the closet).
Room was tidy and clean.

We loved the bar, staff at the bar and the brasserie (restaurant) was nearly perfect, leading staff there was absolutely lovely! Food was good, wines were fitted quite well!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seolram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed there for my friends wedding (the reception and dinner was also at the hotel), very friendly staff, nice clean rooms, good bathroom. Also enjoyed the breakfast pretty much, nice variery of things.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank florentia86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Lovely hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. Help was needed especially to locate the different floors of the hotel if you wanted to use the stairs rather than the lift. We used the wrong stairs on more than one occasion! Would definitely recommend it. I can't comment on value for money as it was booked through a travel company in GB as a package deal to visit Floriade in nearby Venlo, but will say that the standard of hotel was far better than I was expecting for my stay. I think we did well here.

Room Tip: choose a room when there is no disco/wedding/party booked at the same time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolynC477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This was a friendly hotel with a pleasant atmosphere. The staff were friendly and accommodating. The first night's stay was marred by a very loud wedding disco - luckily sleep easily put paid to that. Although the bedroom was comfortable and the facilities were good ( a few more hot drink options would be nice as well as more supplies) there was no full length mirror - do business people not care how they look? (We were told this is primarily a business hotel). The quality of the breakfast (more than just a continental breakfast with bread and pastries that were delicious) made up for the over salted "Roast Lamb" which looked and tasted as if it had been reheated in the microwave. A free portion of chips and salad (two of our party had salad as their main course, anyway) were a nice but unnecessary gesture. Overall we had a lovely stay and I would recommend it but opt to eat out for your evening meal - the bar on the diagonally opposite corner had a limited but pleasing menu.

Room Tip: The rooms at the rear of the hotel overlook the car park and the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Numpty59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Stayed here on business whilst visiting a business partner in Holland. Hotel was okay with decent service. Expensive for what it is. Whilst the food at the hotel is okay, my advice would be to try some of the restaurants over the canal. De Bank restaurant is really excellent and we ate there 2 nights running. (Be aware that one of the bars along the canal allows smoking even though there is a ban on smoking in bars. Loophole is that you pay for an ashtray and they use the funds from this to pay the fines when they are caught out.)
Overall a good experience but very expensive for what it is. I think they have a bit of a monopoly which doesnt help.
Staff were really attentive and helpful.
Hated the room decor which reminded me of some kind of weird goth cemetery ( maybe I am missing something in the design) but it was spotlessly clean and the bathroom was great.

Room Tip: Try the restaurants over the canal, particularly De Bank for better value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zigazag33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

A friendly and pleasant hotel with a good restaurant and helpfull pleasant staff. There are not that many options in Helmond, but one certainly does not need to stay in Eindhoven when one can stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elsetravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helmond
Carlton De Brug
#1 of 2 in Mierlo
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Binnenstad
Pullman Eindhoven Cocagne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip West Ende? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip West Ende

Address: Steenweg 1, 5707 CD Helmond, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Brabant Province > Helmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Helmond
Price Range: $112 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip West Ende 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome to Golden Tulip West-Ende, located in the center of the historic textile town of Helmond. Housed in a distinctive manufacturer villa, built in 1880. Golden Tulip West-Ende has all the luxury you expect from a 4-star hotel. Thus, the hotel features modern rooms, a brasserie and bar, 7 function rooms and a 24-hour reception. Be surprised by the Brabant hospitality of our staff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Golden Tulip West Ende reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip West Ende Hotel Helmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing