We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Place”
Review of Wairepo House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wairepo House
Ranked #1 of 1 Mariri B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 21, 2010

This was our second visit to the Wairepo House. Joyanne and Richard are fabulous and warm hosts. Gorgeous grounds and accommodations along with the best breakfast in NZ.
Have visited many B&B's in NZ and this is at the top of the list.
Enjoy

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ranger77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 28 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2009

Boutique Hotels can be hit and miss. You can find a great place with nightmare hosts, a terrible place with wonderful hosts and anyting inbetween.

Wairepo House is therfoee truly a rareity and maybe even a one off because the setting, rooms, price, hosts, food, everything iscompletely first class and would put to shame a business class hotel.

Having stayed there in November 2008 for two nights as a part of our honeymoon the only complaint that we had was that we only stayed for two nights and not four like the other honeymooners below!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alastair R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2008

We decided to come and stay at Wairepo House in November as part of our honeymoon trip around New Zealand. We stayed for 4 nights and where to begin.... Joyanne and Richard were lovely hosts. Whether pointing us towards the best sights in the area or suggesting restaurants, they were really helpful. Both have an excellent sense of humour and make you feel welcome as soon as you arrive. The accomodation was a spacious room with ensuite and dressing room and all a very high standard. The main property was a lovely family home set in beautiful gardens and orchards. There was even a tennis court! Joyanne prepared what can only be descibed as the best breakfasts ever. No, really, they were so good and there was so much choice! I can recommend the waffles and bacon, they are to die for! IAlso, if you are stuck for a traditional pizza ask Richard VERY nicely and he may even make one for you with his very own pizza oven. Would also like to pass on a big thank you to Vanessa and Charlotte who helped make our last night so much fan. Thank you all very much and who knows we may come and visit again!

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Wullstat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2006

As I was passing by, I noticed no one has reviewed this incredible B&B, more of a intimate boutique hotel than B&B. We have stayed there twice and will be staying there again 2/07. I can't imagine being on South Island and not staying there. It would be like not dropping by to visit old friends. Joyanne and Richard do everything to ensure a fabulous stay, from the extravagant breakfasts that stretch into lunch to the platters of late afternoon snacks and drinks, to the complimentary stocked fridges with wines, beers, and non-alcoholic beverages.

The rooms are all charming and restful. The bathroom toiletries are lovely. The towels are big and fluffy. Everything is done impecably. Then there are the gardens and grounds...beautiful. The setting provides absolute quiet and rest.

Joyanne will do anything to ensure that her guests have a wonderful time. When we came back soaking wet from a rainstorm during a hike, she sent us off to warm up and get dry while she had our clothes laundered. She knows all the local points of interest and where to find all the local arts & crafts. If you want to be left to yourselves, then you shall be left alone. But if you want conversation and to get to know the locals and South Island from the inside, then Joyanne and Richard are great company and full of information.

A stay at Wairepo House is a must, consistently lovely and a great value for the money, especially compared to some of the other boutique B&B's, hotels, and lodges in New Zealand. And believe me, over the years we have stayed at many of them. This is the only place we'll stay when we are in the Nelson area.

  • Stayed: February 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank ruthtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthias-Romy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wairepo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wairepo House

Address: Weka Road, Mariri 7175, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Mariri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mariri
Price Range: $266 - $509 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wairepo House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wairepo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing