We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gringo Dave's Last Resort
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Casa Blanca(Chetumal)(Great Value!)
$30
$25
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Marlon(Chetumal)
$35
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$26
$25
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Los Cocos(Chetumal)
$46
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$33
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Juliette(Chetumal)
$34
$32
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$58
$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveler rating
18
5
0
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
5
0
2
0
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 25 reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2012

My boyfriend and I got there by pure luck. We were in Chetumal looking for a hotel when someone asked us for a pen. Turned out he was one of the partner owners of the place. He recommended us to go there, so we decided to go and check it out. And we were very happy we did. It was more than we expected. Dave and Al, the owners, are extremely friendly and they made our stay an unforgettable experience. The place is gourgeous, clean and very safe. As we were traveling on motorcycles, it was always challenging for us to find a place safe to leave our bikes. Here we had no problems at all, we felt very safe. All the staff over there is very friendly and helpful. We went there for a night and we ended up staying two nights. We thouroughly enjoyed it, and if we didn't have to go all the way to Argentina, we would have definitely stayed there for a longer time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camelia f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We found this place by chance when searching the internet. The path is not marked well by signs, allowing this to be a hidden jewel for campers, tents, and RV'rs. The lush green grass leads right up to the tranquil lagoon offering amazing sunsets and pop up showers. We camped directly on the shore of the lagoon next to the onsite restaurant. There are many extracurricular activities including, swimming, kayaking, sailing, sunset cruises, and much more! Dave (the owner) is onsite and extremely friendly. We pulled into the campground around 7 pm, and Dave greeted us promptly. After we set up camp, he came by to ask if we had dinner yet. We said, "no", so he said "come with me, Ill show you a great local restaurant". We had great Mexican dishes and very inexpensive. There is plenty of room for campers, tents, and RV's, however, there are also quaint, romantic palapas on site for rent. I would recommend this to anyone! We will be stopping back in on our way back from Belize.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScottWoodhams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Dave is a great host, the staff and the dogs are very friendly. The location is some hundreds yards from the main highway where the buses (Mayab, collectivos - not the ADO) make a stop. The lake is amazing, the yard is superb. Kayaks and sailing boat (HobieCat) are available for rent. The cabins with a thatched roof are large enough for 4 persons. We'll come back for sure...

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mexicorentals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

We loved Dave and Gallo, their place was awesome with cabanas on the lagoon with swimming, kayaks, hobbie cat sailing. We stayed there on our way down to Belize and again on our way back cause we loved it. We had some medical as well as automotive issues while there and these guys went way out of their way to help us out - driving us around for appointments, assisting with translations, can't say enough of how much we appreciated the hospitality. We will be back....

Room Tip: the two story cabana is very private and you can swim off your deck, so it's our favourite, but the other single cabins with swinging beds were pretty cool too
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AbbyEarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

What a wonderful experience. Dave was (as usual) a wonderful Host and Capt. Gallo was there to take care of anything we needed. We are a family of four and the two-story cabana on the water fit our needs perfectly. The lagoon is fresh water and crystal clear. We sailed the catamaran to the small islands around the lagoon, just amazing and also rowed kayaks (I am very sore today!). The resort has five one story cabanas and a lovely two room (two-story) cabana with a large deck area over the water. The restaurant was also very good and the prices more than reasonable. With so much to do, not only at Dave's, but in the surrounding area, this is a must visit for RVers, campers, backbackers, families and couples!

Room Tip: All of the cabanas are very nice, especially the two-story on the water.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank songlady131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews