We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice hotel, excellent hosts, quiet area, close to Aachen” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel-Restaurant Vijlerhof

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel-Restaurant Vijlerhof
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vijlen
Norway
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, excellent hosts, quiet area, close to Aachen”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

If going to Aachen again chances are more than good that I'll stay at this small hotel again.
I arrived late at night, actually after closing time. Still the host arranged for me to be able to access the hotel and the room. They even made me an excellent chicken salad with bread and great local beer to go with it for me to eat as a night meal in my room – even if the kitchen was closing down for the night.

The room was small but had the most important facilities: a comfortable bed, a small table and a couple of chairs – in addition to bed-side tables and a cupboard for the clothing of course. What really stands out is the bathroom. Must be newly renovated. Great design! Compact luxury. It’s not Hilton, but it’s nice, personal and with great value.

The breakfast offered great variety and far more than I could cover. The locale is facing some of the back side of the village, with e.g. the church and a couple of large trees on a meadow sloping down towards a small river. Nice, quiet surroundings.

I was in a hurry, so I didn’t have the time to check if the kitchen offered other coffee. The coffee on offer at the breakfast was from a machine. The only small thing I’d like to change. Everything else was great.

I’d be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Farsan_Baloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    29
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
33
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights and had a lovely time! This hotel is family run and you can tell that the owners really care about the guests.
The hotel is set in a beautiful location, ideal for walking and bike riding. The rooms are pretty basic, although spotlessly clean and cosy with picturesque views of the Dutch countryside. The bathrooms are newly renovated and reflect something you would see in a 4 star hotel.
The restuarant is warm and cosy with a homely feel, the food was exceptionally good with very generous portions. They use locally sourced produce which really makes all the difference! Breakfast was especially tasty with so much variety.
I visited just as sinter klaas was approaching and the hotel looked beautiful at nights with the lights and the nativity scene on the front terrace.
The staff were all very friendly and kind, I'm not sure if they are used to receiving English speaking guests but when my boyfriend mentioned I was an English speaker, the staff went out of their way to talk to me in English - which I thought was extremely kind.
Worth visiting the nearby town of Valkenburg where there is a christmas village and also the town of Vaals where you can visit the three land point tower.
Would love to stay at this hotel again, very enjoyable stay and no negative points.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MooMoo19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Just wanted one night away from it all while travelling to the south of Germany. This was a lovely hotel. Very friendly staff and nice food. Great view out the back over the valley. Lovely and peaceful and quiet... just what we were looking for for one night. The hotel was nice although we did find the room very small... but it was ok for us for one night. I would want a larger room if we were staying longer. All-in-all, very pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank igudgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel because we wanted to go for walks in the area. The location is great foor walks around the country side. The surrounding area is beautiful.
The hotel is well run and staff is extremely friendly and give great service. Food was also very good. After a long walk we had a great meal. The rooms are clean but they can use an update. The only downside was that the kitchen is right below the stairwell and the food smells traveled all the way up to our room. Also, as far we could tell, there was no elevator and we needed go up 3 flights of stairs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EKampert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vijlen
2.2 mi away
Bilderberg Kasteel Vaalsbroek
0.7 mi away
Hotel de Linde
Hotel de Linde
#2 of 2 in Vijlen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kasteel Bloemendal
Kasteel Bloemendal
#1 of 2 in Vaals
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Creusen
Hotel Creusen
#2 of 13 in Epen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Ons Krijtland
Hotel Ons Krijtland
#4 of 13 in Epen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
7.0 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Heerlen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Restaurant Vijlerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Restaurant Vijlerhof

Property: Hotel-Restaurant Vijlerhof
Address: Hilleshagerweg 2, 6294 AP Vijlen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Vijlen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vijlen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel-Restaurant Vijlerhof 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel-Restaurant Vijlerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing