We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Hotel Hulsman

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Hulsman
Ranked #3 of 4 Venray B&B and Inns
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We recently enjoyed a pleasant stay here at this fairly new hotel. The staff is very friendly and aim to please. The rooms are modern, tidy, quiet, offer adequate heating for cold nights. Our room overlooked the square. We tried to open the window, but either the window cannot be opened or we couldn't figure it out. The bathroom was also modern- a suggestion would be to add a small stool for clothes. Also, the bathroom did not come equipped with a hair dryer; instead a hair dryer could be borrowed from the front desk. The parking is located in a covered garage less than 5 minutes walking. However, the staff informed us we could pull our car up to the front for loading our luggage. The breakfast is tasty with breads, cereals, hard boiled eggs, etc. and the hours for breakfast are reasonable for early and later risers. This is a lovely hotel and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    8
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
8
Solo
0
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke on Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Had a great 35 days staying at the Hulsman while working in Holland, we could have stayed much closer to work but the hotel is situated in the main square of the beautiful town of Venray.

Nothing is too much trouble for the staff, quality of service is top class and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is very clean and modern. Would highly recommend this hotel !!

Room Tip: Just ask !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke- on- Trent
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Visited here for a couple of nights and, even though we turned up 3 hours late (10:00 pm) - they still cooked dinner for us and gave us a lager while we waited. The staff are fantastic, owner very friendly, rooms are large and spotless - I cannot speak highly enough of this hotel! How it fails to get 4 stars is beyond me; as it is much better than most 4* hotels I have visited and quite a few 5*.
In fact - I have booked to stay here again next week, even though we are working in Eindhoven - the extra drive is worth it.
They even keep the bar open until the last person has left (not me, by the way).
The ONLY downside is the lift - probably one of the worst I have ever seen, but I am fit enough not to use it - so I did not :)

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room - try to book a room at the back of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnPotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hounslow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Hulsman for a few weeks on business and found it to be quite enjoyable. The rooms are clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. This became a second home and is always nice when the staff know your name and can sit with you and talk about the day. I highly recommend this hotel for long and short term stay.

Room Tip: Ask if any events are happening in the square at night (carnival, fair). If so, you may want to ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErinR_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

This is a modern hotel which appears to have been very recently fitted out. We were a last minute booking and the only room available had disabled facilities which meant both room and shower room/toilet were lovely and very spacious. The room overlooked the main square at Venray and had a very open view. The staff were very approachable, cheerful and helpful. Nothing was too much for them. Breakfast is a typical Dutch one with choice of fruit juice, cereal, ham, cheese, breads, jam etc. and taken in the cafe which is part of the Hotel. We ate an evening meal in the cafe and found it delicious. The menu was a little limited but good. The food was delicious being well prepared and presented. The only slight drawback is that car parking is in an underground garage needing a walk of some 500yds. with cases but this is far outweighed by the advantages of the hotel. I have no qualms in highly recommending this establishement and will return if in the area again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have a very open and bright outlook with lots to see in the square w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2012

My wife and I spent a night at the Hulsman after visiting the 2012 Floriade expo. The hotel is convenient to the expo (15 - 20 minute drive) and is an excellent value. The hotel is located on the main square in Venray and is affiliated with Cafe Hulsman, which provided a nice breakfast. The staff is friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcv25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Petherton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Once you have located the Hotel Hulsman you will find an immaculately clean establishment with wonderful staff. The rooms are perfect for a short stay (I stayed here to visit Floriade which is just 20 minutes away by car). After a peaceful night in a very comfortable bed the continental breakfast was a good start to the day. I would not hesitate to stay here again or to recommend this hotel to family and friends.

Room Tip: The hotel is on a pedestrian square with no passing traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C0rnish_Maid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Venray
1.9 mi away
Hotel Asteria
Hotel Asteria
#1 of 3 in Venray
159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eurotel
Hotel Eurotel
#2 of 3 in Venray
38 reviews
0.4 mi away
De Witte Hoeve Hotel/Conferentie- & Partycentrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Parkhotel Horst
Parkhotel Horst
#1 of 1 in Horst
235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Brasserie de Zwaan
4.9 mi away
No photo provided
Vakantie Meerlo
#1 of 2 in Meerlo
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hulsman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hulsman

Property: Hotel Hulsman
Address: Henseniusplein 9, 5801 BB Venray, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Venray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Venray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hulsman 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Hulsman is a new modern hotel in the centre of Venray, The Netherlands. With it's 15 luxuous rooms and authentic Hotel Bar, the Hulsman Hotel is the perfect place to stay for your bussiness trip or holiday. Hotel Hulsman has 1 room specially adapted to disabled people. This room is accessible for wheelchairs.Venray offers you the best small city centre of the netherlands (2011) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Hulsman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing