We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Not exactly as promised, rather disappointing experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Kasteel Erenstein

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Kasteel Erenstein to your Saves list
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Kasteel Erenstein
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Kerkradersteenweg 4, 6468 PA Kerkrade, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Kerkrade B&B and Inns
Belgium
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not exactly as promised, rather disappointing experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Like more people I was surprised to find out the 'castle' is only used as a restaurant, and the hotel is actually 2 minutes down the road. (My bad for not checking Trip advisor first !)
The hotel was good though, a bit dated, but clean and comfortable for 2 adults and a baby.
Breakfast had a good variety in what it had to offer, nothing exceptionally delicious.
We also had a problem with our booking. As we arrived they didn't have a room for us. Apparently the booking agency didn't forward our booking (and 4 others). They offered to find us another hotel 20 minutes away, but seeing we came for the Gaiazoo right next to the hotel, that wasn't an option for us. Eventually we got a room that was only available after 18 o'clock.
The staff was very friendly and really tried their best, but it was disappointing nonetheless.
We got offered a 4 course meal at the castle (instead of the 3 course meal we had already booked). But with a 2-year old baby, we only came as far as 2 courses as almost 2 hours had already passed ! This was taking too long. We only started after 7 o'clock, seeing the room wasn't available earlier. So, don't think we will be coming back here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cosmico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    43
    42
    15
    20
See reviews for
14
85
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Borås, Västra Götaland, Sweden
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Set in beautiful surroundings of a large park and ponds, we were pleasantly surprised. However, it is a bit confusing until you understand that the photo they show is the castle (restaurant) and not the hotel. Nice room, a bit dated but well looked after. A beautiful courtyard where you could have a drink or a simple meal. Downside was no aircon in the room which you kind of expect for a 4 star. Beautiful walks with our dog, and this place is highly recommended if you travel with a dog.
Nice buffet breakfast, all well priced!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anette J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

Like the hotel, 5 min. down the road, it prommised more than they could deliver. The 'luxury room' was clean, but very dated. No coffee- or tea facilities, a- not connected- small fridge. The (very good) breakfast was on offer: from € 16,00 pp, now € 15,00 pp. Wow!
Entering the castle-restaurant we were welcomed by 2 staff members who took our coats and showed us our table. The room was much smaller than it looked on the pictures on their website. On each table a small vase with a flower ready for the bin (at least consequent). It was a bad sign: the food was also very poor. The main dish of the 3-course meal consited of 3 small pieces of meat (good), 3 bright green and tough as marbles, sprouts and different stripes of a.o treackle and other frothy substance. Only the desert was O.K. And all that for € 39,-pp. When we left there was no one in the hall and we had to look for our coats. We though all in all it was a disaster. Good point: very friendly staff. I hope Fletcher Hotels will take notice of the reviews. The location deserves it!
Nino89

Room Tip: just don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nino89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kerkrade hotels

NL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Although advertised as a 'castle hotel' the hotel actually is relatively modern and 5 minutes walking from the hotel. The castle restaurant is good. The hotel really bad. We had reserved a room with 2 adults and 2 children. Upon arrival no room was avaiable for us. We received a room for 2 adults only, so small that no extra bed would fit in. The hotel manager did not want to come to solve the problem and left it to the receptionist who told us that this was his first day on the job. At 23h15 at night we received a sort of emergency room next to the reception which we had to spray against insects first. Although personnel tries hard the hotel seems to be badly managed on the basis of 'filling the rooms'. Hospitality does not seem to be a familiar word for this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BOBNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zandvoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

If you visit the site of the hotel it looks like you sleep in the Erenstein Castle. Don't get fooled: you sleep in the farm across the street. Ok, it's an old building (1713) but it's not the castle. Our stay wasn't the stay we supposed to have. We booked a romantic arrangement with a pressent at arrival, a champaign breakfast and a suite. The pressent wasn't there, the breakfast was served without champaign. This could have been better.
In the arrangement there was also a dinner at the castle. The dinner was very good: a 4 courses menu with nice wines. So go to castle for a nice dinner. The surroundings of Kerkrade are splendid! The hills of South Limburg, Aachen within a 10 minutes drive and Maastricht within 30 minutes.
The staff are young and sometimes a bit slow, but some are very good and nice.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ASandbergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerkrade
1.2 mi away
Abdij Rolduc
Abdij Rolduc
#1 of 5 in Kerkrade
4.0 of 5 stars 125 reviews
4.8 mi away
Kasteel Terworm
Kasteel Terworm
#2 of 6 in Heerlen
4.5 of 5 stars 209 reviews
2.3 mi away
Golden Tulip Parkstad Zuid-Limburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
WinselerHof
WinselerHof
#1 of 3 in Landgraaf
4.0 of 5 stars 356 reviews
4.6 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Heerlen
1.4 mi away
Hotel-restaurant Overste Hof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Kasteel Erenstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Kasteel Erenstein

Property: Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Kasteel Erenstein
Address: Kerkradersteenweg 4, 6468 PA Kerkrade, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Kerkrade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Kerkrade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Kasteel Erenstein 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Maastricht lies Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Castle Erenstein. This 4-star hotel is housed in an authentic 18th century farm. The top class restaurant of the hotel is located in the 14th-century castle, next to the farm. This gorgeous castle with its beautiful courtyard offer an oasis of calm. All the rooms in this historical farm are equipped with minibar, TV and private bathroom. Besides that, some of the rooms and suites have a vide and private rooftop patio. Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Castle Erenstein is surrounded by water. You can relax in the garden, which offers a stunning view of the surroundings. The hotel also has a cozy bar and conservatory, where you can have a drink. The surrounded area is perfect for a beautiful walk and here is a private entrance to GaiaZOO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Kasteel Erenstein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Kasteel Erenstein Kerkrade, Limburg, The Netherlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing