We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Arcen
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Arcen
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel is in the centre of this village which is situated on the banks of the river Meuse.
During the summer months there a various things to do and see and the area lensde itself for walking and cycling.
The hotel has 26 rooms and is furnished in a style you can see up and down th country - neat, functional but nothing tot would make it stand out from any other 3 star hotel. If anything, we found the room rather dark.
The bathroom was in dire need of an update. There was a shower in the corner with just a shower curtain sticking to you every time you made a move. Plenty of hot water though!
Staff were friendly and it appeared this was some sort of training place so there were a lot of them.

Room Tip: Rooms at The front have a very nice view but I suppose during the busier months they might also be n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janny20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 125 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2012

We booked this hotel just for one night before we had flight from WEEZE AIrport. We arrived around 22:00 and found that reception is already closed, but there was a sign welcoming us. Nice clean two level rooms. In the morning we met friendly receptionist. Hotel is situated in the center of this beautiful village.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sergios K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Like others this year choose this as a stopover for visting Floriade as it was on their website.
The little village is pretty, but parking is limited and you have to carry your bags from a church car park some distance away and then there is no lift but some rooms up two flights of stairs!
Rooms are clean and simple, but no tea/ coffee making in rooms but you can pay for it in a machine on the landing!!! Breakfast was average but staff did not set or clear tables as guests were coming down for breakfast so you were lucky if you got a clean and set table.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mel22Lancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We (family of 4) stayed in this hotel to visit Floriade. It is easily accessible to Venlo by bus from where the shuttle to Floriade departs. The family room is at two levels, with beds at each level. The kids really liked this arrangement. The room was spacious and clean. Coffee was available from a vending machine in the corridor. Breakfast was very good. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thiru S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Arcen is situated in a beautiful area of Limburg and close to the site of the Floriade 2012, we chose Hotel Arcen because it had links to Floriade and offered tickets for sale. The Hotel Arcen is situated in the centre of Arcen, it is not possible to park outside the hotel but take the road to the side of the hotel and turn left into a free public carpark. Access can be gained from the car park thriugh the back door but it isn't easily identified. The access is very rough and littered with plastic wrappings from cigarette packets.

The checking in was uneventful but it was evident that the staff didn't have any knowledge of Floriade and had to call three members of staff who couldn't tell us much. Despite writing to us prior to arrival offering a meal as part of the Floriade package but no-one knew about our booking, tickets for Floriade were not available. This was disappointing as there were flags and posters in the hotel advertising Floriade.

The evening meal was very disappointing, spare ribs were dry and probably reheated, the chicken was also dry. The desserts were nothing like what we ordered. The service was very slow. Having seen preparations for dinner the next night we believe there might have been a stand in chef as the restaurant is normally closed on Mondays, they decided to open specially for the next three Mondays. We decided not to eat in the restaurant again.

The room was quite big facing the market square, it was quiet and peaceful but not very clean, it would do with a good vacumn and duster at the floor level. Plenty of storage, a safe and tv. The bathroom only had a shower with a curtain which blew out when the powerful showerhead was on, our friends and ourselves managed to flood the floor and had to lay towels down to soak up the water. The hot water was boiling hot BE VERY CAREFUL., suggest taking the shower head down to mix the water. The beds and pillows were comfortable.

There is a tea and coffee machine on the landing and costs 1 euro per portion,

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank horwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

The personel is very friendly. When you check in you get a key for the front door so you can get in any time you want to.

At 40 EUR a night for two the room is real cheap, but is also very small, and the air in the room is rather stale. The room is also not very clean, and the airconditioning made a lot of noise.

Breakfast for two was charged separate at 25 EUR and rather disappointing. I would advice anyone to have his breakfast at Arcener Backhuys, across the street from the hotel. We enjoyed an excellent lunch there, and they serve breakfast too.

The castle gardens of Arcen are the major attraction around here and they are absolutely worth visiting.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Huddie-k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2010

We have stayed in this hotel as was very close to Dusseldolf where we have to attend congress. Hotel is in nice square, and as we later discovered there are a lot of interesting things to see in Arcen (Therma Spa, brewery, garden park)
Hotel staff very helpfull, breakfast very nice
Rooms were ok, but bathroom didn't have good light. We left heating on and when we came back in evening was off, and window open. Making the room very cold and taking a long time to warm up
Luckiliy we went to local Thermal Spa and warmed up:) that was fantastic

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZabkaWoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arcen
1.5 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Rooland
0 mi away
Hotel de Maasparel
Hotel de Maasparel
#1 of 3 in Arcen
110 reviews
5.5 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Venlo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Parkhotel Horst
Parkhotel Horst
#1 of 1 in Horst
255 reviews
8.6 mi away
Bilderberg Hotel De Bovenste Molen
5.7 mi away
Campanile Venlo
Campanile Venlo
#5 of 7 in Venlo
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arcen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arcen

Address: Raadhuisplein 6, 5944 AH Arcen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Arcen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Arcen
Price Range: $46 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arcen 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Arcen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing