We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbelievable collection and setting”

Kroller-Muller Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$170.26*
and up
Small Group Day Trip to Kröller Müller Museum and The Hoge Veluwe National Park...
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Otterlo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kroller Muller Museum features one of the largest Van Gogh collections and the largest sculpture garden in Europe.
New Orleans, LA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unbelievable collection and setting”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

This is a full sensory experience! To start, the location is incredible. Situated within a national park, there are trails to explore the forest and dunes by using one of the free bicycles that are available at each entry. The sculpture garden is a beautiful combination of works in controlled setting and some nestled into their natural environment - east to walk, and a surprise around each corner. The collection inside is unbelievable - the number and quality of pieces collected by this couple is staggering. I won't do it justice in attempting to describe, so please go to their website. It was a wonderful day excursion into the countryside and a nice break to the explorations of Amsterdam.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    762
    246
    51
    12
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
99 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great Museum , both inside and out!”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Back in 2008 we took a wonderful day trip down here to get out of Amsterdam for a day. While getting to and fro was not easy due to an unexpected transportation strike we had a wonderful day and will be returning this summer with my grown children. We reached the museum by taking the white bicycles that are free at each of the three park entrances and it only took us about 30 mins to get there . Because the sculpture gardens are so lovely try to visit when the weather is pleasant enough to spend time outside. The collection of Van Goghs here is truly amazing , supposedly the second largest collection ? And of course there are many other artists represented here also. The best for us was the time spent outside in the gardens. We were too late for the tulips BUT we were there at peak time for the rhododendrons and walked between towering hedges of them ! This was a wonderful place to visit and truly interesting styles of art everywhere. Make the trip , one will not regret it !!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank sorrisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
86 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful museum, great sculpture garden”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

This couple collected art, mostly Van Gogh's it seems. A great exhibit of several I had never seen plus an interesting history of history of the collection, when the paintings were purchased and what was paid. The outdoor sculpture garden looked fantastic unfortunately we only had about half an hour to roam. Be sure to check this place out. Fascinating.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank spixton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
105 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A must-do for those who love Van Gogh's work”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

If you love Van Gogh's art, you have to visit this museum. No, it is not particularly easy to get to, but it can be done more easily than you think. Rent a car for the day in Amsterdam, it's a simple drive to get there and back, makes a lovely day trip. We put off visiting for years, hoping to find a simpler way (train/bus?), before biting the bullet. On a pretty day you can ride a bike from the park entrance to the museum, or just drive there if biking doesn't suit. The museum's collection of VG art is second only to the Van Gogh Museum in Amsterdam, and many of their pieces are of the more unusual sort. The also said they loan out pieces frequently, so what's on display changes several times a year...will have to visit again perhaps to see what we missed.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JaymoOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Kroller-Muller Museum”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

This museum has an excellent collection of Van Gogh paintings and sketches -particularly those from his time in Arles.

I did find it to be a fine museum.

but i did find it rather annoying that the museum is around 7 miles into the park. If my friend had not have been driving in the first place, we wouldn't have seen the magnificent park and the art at all. cost at least 15 euro. Very expensive and hard to get to. Staff rush you out the door, before its even 5....it closes to early.

The collection should be on display in Amsterdam, for tourists and a venue which is easy to reach....9 out of 10 people i talk to about this museum, have never even heard of its existence.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kroller-Muller Museum also viewed

 
Arnhem, Gelderland Province
Oosterbeek, Gelderland Province
 

Been to Kroller-Muller Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing