We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charge for tap Water!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Gelderse Poort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ooij
Reviewed April 28, 2012

They charge for tap water with the meal (first night free).
Cheap Spanish wine is 20 euros a bottle.
The guest computer doesn’t work but they have wifi.
One of our party had a bedroom ceiling which was damaged and pieces were falling on the bed but management refused to move her to another room.
Pleasant staff but poor management.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterBroadstairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 139 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2012

Nice, out- of- the way place, good value for your money. But rooms have connecting doors with next-door guests. It means pretty bad neighbour noise, even when they are not the noisy type of neighbour...Food is good and breakfast was excellent. Worth another stay. The "Ooij "polder provides some very good walking trips.Beautiful scenery.

Evert Smit

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2008

We stayed here for three nights with our two sons of 12 & 10 while visiting relations. It is a little off the beaten track and quite quiet, but remarkably handy for places such as Nijmegan, Arnhem and Germany just across the border. We visited Amsterdam on our first two days while based here which was a one and a quarter hour drive.

The Hotel itself is reasonably modern, clean and functional. The rooms are all twin bedded as far as I could tell, but there is nothing to stop you pushing them together to make a double bed. Two bedside cabinets with room phone, table and two arm chairs, large dressing table and drawers and open hanging closet with ironing board. The bathroom had no bath but a large walk-in shower with a good powerful shower. Our bathroom was adapted for the disabled, with drop down hand rails, raised WC and level thresholds. Plenty of towels and toiletries provided. This is not the lap of luxury but thoroughly practical and functional. If I have one criticism it was the lack of tea and coffee making facilities. This is fairly typical of continental hotels of this type however and easily overcome by us taking a travel kettle and mugs, etc.

The good points were an excellent restaurant, serving a very good value table d'hote menu for €17.50 or an excellent a la carte menu. Again a minor criticism is the time of last orders which was 8.00pm but, as everything was freshly cooked to order, this was not a major hardship. The staff were excellent, extremely eager to please, friendly without being over attentive and, like most dutch, spoke excellent english.

Would I stay here again? Yes. it was very good value and perfectly pleasant but I suspect we might have tired of it if we had been there more than three nights. It is well used by locals and would be good for a biking holiday centre or stop off.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank family_manDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Yolanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank MartinenMartine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michiel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kelly V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ooij
2.4 mi away
Fletcher Parkhotel Val Monte
Fletcher Parkhotel Val Monte
#2 of 3 in Berg en Dal
318 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Erica
3.0 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - Holthurnsche Hof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Van Der Valk Hotel De Molenhoek
12.0 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Arnhem
5.4 mi away
Bastion Hotel Nijmegen
Bastion Hotel Nijmegen
#10 of 13 in Nijmegen
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Gelderse Poort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Gelderse Poort

Address: Kon Julianalaan 32, 6576 AS Ooij, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Ooij
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ooij
Price Range: $38 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Gelderse Poort 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Gelderse Poort is situated just outside of Nijmegen and just outside of the delightful village of Ooij. This charming and comfortable hotel is the perfect place to stay if you would like to discover the Gelderse Poort. The Gelderse Poort is a unique nature reserve between Arnhem, Nijmegen and Emmerich where you can walk or cycle for hours. Hotel-Restaurant De Gelderse Poort offers you all of the comfort and facilities for a relaxing and enjoyable stay. The charming restaurant serves a wide range of delicious dishes, something for everyone's taste. The hotel also has a patio where you can enjoy a beautiful view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Gelderse Poort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing