We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“You want something special?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oortjeshekken Hotel

Oortjeshekken Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Oortjeshekken Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ooij
Heiloo, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
131 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“You want something special?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Oortjeshekken is a small lodgement less than 10 rooms, in the suburbian of Nijmegen. Environment is great and service perfect. But than again, please notice no television, no wifi in the room and no mini bar nor airco. Food is average to okay. I love it, like I love monastries.

Room Tip: Choose "opkamer" which offers three rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulalgra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    14
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
5
14
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Oortjeshekken really has the best of both worlds. It is right in the middle of the Ooijpolder (great views, lovely walks, nature, silence), and at a very close distance from the lovely city of Nijmegen. The rooms are not luxurious but comfortable, and have great period charm. Ours, the Koninckskamer, had a wonderful view of the garden (and beyond) and a private terrace. Oortjeshekken was always famous for its scrumptious breakfast, and although it has changed owners twice, breakfast is still inimitable. Staff are jolly and chatty. Prices very reasonable.

Room Tip: We loved the Koninckskamer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Nice, cosy hotel at the dike of the wide river Waal, not far from Nijmegen. There are bicycles for rent, or you can walk in the wild nature of the Ooij Polder with special horses.. We enjoyed the food of the resturant outside on the charming terrace, Staff friendly but service was slow.
Rooms comfortable, good for reading, there is no tv. Attractive nice and quiet garden behind the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mix30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
96 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

Sober but friendly, familylike hotel on a fantastic location, next to the river Waal. Nature in reach. Wild herds of cows and horses roam nearby.
Nice rooms, nice food en friendly staff.
Extensive breakfast.
Nijmegen and Arnhem nearby for the neccessary cultural activities.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sterres12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2004

We went there for diner after a splendid day at the Bisonbaai (just across the road) but found the whole place a big disappointment! Service was below all standards, the food was mediocre for the price they charged - we even had to pay for a desert we never had: we asked for some cheese for desert but we were told this was not possible since "the kitchen was too busy" ..... We went completely desillusioned....

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ooij
0.5 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Gelderse Poort
3.4 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - Holthurnsche Hof
2.8 mi away
Fletcher Parkhotel Val Monte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel 't Spijker
Hotel 't Spijker
#1 of 1 in Beek-Ubbergen
4.0 of 5 stars 17 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Erica
5.3 mi away
Sanadome Nijmegen
Sanadome Nijmegen
#3 of 13 in Nijmegen
4.0 of 5 stars 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oortjeshekken Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oortjeshekken Hotel

Property: Oortjeshekken Hotel
Address: Erlecomsedam 4, 6576 JW Ooij, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Ooij
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ooij
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oortjeshekken Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Oortjeshekken Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing