We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arrogance and filth”

Restaurant Planken Wambuis
Reserve with
Restaurant Planken Wambuis is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 90 Restaurants in Ede
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Arrogance and filth”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Very arrogant approach and very filthy all over. You can smell the toilets from the parking lot!
We informed the waiter we could not consume anything from porc, so no bacon, no ham, etc. Yet several items came on the table with bacon mixed through. "Ah, but you can take them out, can't you"? The glasses for beer and wine were not clean, I had to pick a knife and fork from another table as mine were not clean...

Helpful?
Thank Badger_Adept
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    147
    39
    17
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, well balanced tastes”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We visited the place with our friends. Place is great, peaceful, stylish. We had first drinks outside and then went in when everything was ready. Food was great. Well balanced tastes, really delicious.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Matti_matkustaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieuwegein, Nederland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food, nice setting, warm atmosphere”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Visited this place for the first time with 2 other people. The location is in a forest, close to a road. From the outside it looks cosy. We were welcomed in a good mix of warmth and politeness. The inside looks nice, includes a fireplace. Dish quality was certainly above the average, the same can be said of the service. I had a good time here and will visit this place again if I am in the neighborhood.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank RolandV030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good food and a warm atmosphere”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The restaurant is located at the corner of the historical “Ginkelse Heide”. In 1994 most paratroopers of Operation Market Garden landed here. The owners and their staff is very friendly and make you feel comfortable. The dishes are originally prepared with fresh products. Price quality is quite good. The art in the restaurant is for sale.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very good food”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We tried Planken Wambuis as it was a pleasant drive out from the small town where we were staying. We found the staff friendly, though in common with other Dutch restuarants where we have eaten.....very slow, with a long wait for the menus to arrive. We find in this part of Netherlands certainly 2 hours is about a minimum for a decent meal, sometimes longer. Having said that, the food was really excellent, tasty, well presented and very enjoyable so well worth the wait. We ate outside in beautiful surroundings. We will be back!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank R2e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Planken Wambuis also viewed

Heelsum, Gelderland Province
 
Ede, Gelderland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Planken Wambuis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing