We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Van der Valk Hotel Wolvega-Heerenveen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Wolvega-Heerenveen
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wolvega
Certificate of Excellence
Central Coast NSW
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

This was a great 1 night stop my sister and i found when we followed a hotel sign on the A32 coming from Giethoorn.
When enquiring about the prices we were told they had a last minute/standby special. We paid 80Euro for a luxury room and breakfast was included.
The room was large, clean, comfortable. We were on the ground floor facing the lake. The bathroom was huge and included a separate shower and a big bath, great for a long soak.
We ate at the onsite restaurant, the service was exceptional and the food was fabulous and we thought the prices were reasonable.
We were disappointed with the breakfast buffet. There was not a great choice of cereals, the pancakes were never refilled the whole time we were there and the bacon and eggs seemed to have been sitting there too long.
The reception staff for both check in and out were very pleasant and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    50
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
16
49
2
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

I travelled to Wolvega last week for a business trip and i had to spend 4 days in this hotel. If you take into account that is a little remoted, all the other sound perfect. The rooms are really spacious and you can play football! If you are lucky enough end you have an even number of room (122, 124 etc.) then you also have a wonderful view on the river. Breakfast was sufficient enough. There was variety of products; however it was not something special. Main weakness was the lack of sweeties. Lunch and dinner buffet were excellent. I would definitely recommend it as well if you are a fan of ice skating as there is a stadium just 10 minutes away!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

The staff was amazing and so was our room. We booked it in october 2012 for 1 night for a family visit and had the perfect stay. The ambiance is to die for and you are really taken care of by the staff. We had a buffet diner, which I really recommend, and it was to a very high standard same as the breakfast the next morning, this was even better and the choice is really overwhelming. The room was the size of a ballroom, that big!! The bed was at least king size and it had everything you which to find in your hotel room. The only negative thing I have is that van der Valk has 140 x 90 cm duvets which I find really odd. I really hope they will take in consideration that people nowadays are longer, (and sometimes even) bigger and to a great certainty have llits-jumeaux's at home!! But except this minor detail the hotel is amazing and I could recommend this hotel to anyone who is considering to stay here. Just book it it is a real value for money. Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMHWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noordwijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

The room was very good, very big and spacious. It was quit. The breakfast was very good, with a lot of choice. I will come back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvia048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

We stayed 1 night with no Pre-booking. The rooms are big and spacious and has everything one needs but are nothing special. The Resturant was a bit noisy so we ate in the large bar area with a nice fire place. Food was good and well priced. The view from our room was very nice. Nice and quiet area.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WLRoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

Stayed in the hotel while attending a conference on site. The hotel was good with nice spacious rooms, the restaurant offered a very nice buffet stype breakfast and lunch, whilst evening dining was also enjoyable. If you're travelling in the area, you should have no complaints here.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T1m-L1z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

We spent 3 nights at the hotel while traveling in north Netherlands. The hotel was a great base with nice spacious rooms, very good breakfast, and very kids friendly. We had rooms in the ground floor and the kids had much fun walking out thr room back door to a big lawn and the close (50 M.) lake side.

We ate supper twice there. The food was good, the stuff very tolerance to the kids special request, but service was slow.

BTW - Freisland area in the north of Holland is a lovely place to travel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bendex054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wolvega
17.1 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Sneek
24.7 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Zwolle
5.1 mi away
Golden Tulip Tjaarda Oranjewoud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Holland Inn Wolvega
16.3 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Emmeloord
22.3 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Assen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Wolvega-Heerenveen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Wolvega-Heerenveen

Property: Van der Valk Hotel Wolvega-Heerenveen
Address: Atalanta 10, 8472 CA, Wolvega, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > Friesland Province > Wolvega
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wolvega
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Wolvega-Heerenveen 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Wolvega-Heerenveen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing