We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to relax in a beautiful natural setting.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Paal 8 Hotel aan Zee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2010

Recommended by a friend as a great place to stay and we were not disappointed. Although the hotel is set in the dunes on the opposite side of the island the local bus service synchronises it's timetable to and from the ferry. The best way to see the island is by bicycle and you can hire these at the hotel and enjoy miles of cycling routes through the dunes and down to West Terschelling town. The local beach is superb too as are most of beaches around the island. After a day out discovering the island it was wonderful to return to the comfort of the Hotel, the rooms are well furnished and comfortable, good hot power showers, the only downside I thought was the lack of toiletries in the bathroom which I thought was rather mean for a luxury expensive hotel. Particularly in these difficult days of travelling with liquids. I would have expected at least shower gel, shampoo and body lotion. There is also a complimentary spa ie pool, sauna and steam room, most welcome after a day's cycling. Although avoid school holidays if you want to enjoy a quiet relaxing time. The breakfasts were the best on our week long tour of northern Netherlands and we were very impressed with the food in general. Normally, we prefer to dine away from of our Hotel but in this case I would say the Paal 8 offers some of the best food on the island.
Another downside of this hotel, more irritating than costly is the fact you have to buy credit to gain internet access. An Hotel presenting itself as 4/5 Star should provide this service free of charge.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BERO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (592)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 592 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2008

Stayed for 2 nights here in the summer of 2006. The hotel looked very new. The summer was warm, the hotel was too (no airco!).

The room was spaceous with a seperate living area. The hotel was impeccable clean (new!).

Though not much to do, you have to make your own entertainment.

Good for relaxing... if your party lets you!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DutchyCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2007

I stayed here 4 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment. My standards are high and I must say I was impressed by the accomodation, the surroundings and the entire time in Terschelling. This hotel is fantastic, it has everything - the accomodation is spacious and serviced daily. There are 2 restaurants serving good food and the area is truley stunning. You could go here summer or winter, its a holiday like no other. The dunes are so gorgoeus and make you feel like you are somewhere...but not quite sure where. The beach is HUGE when the tide goes out...and Im from Australia.
I was very impressed with this hotel, however it has only opened a year ago and the staff are still a little inexperienced. This didnt matter to us too much as we had out own thing to do and a toddler to keep us busy but if I was travelling as a couple I would have found it a little annoying. I would go back again.

2  Thank LaGalejade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled with family
Thank Wouterbakker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Als het waait hoor je dit wel in het hotel. Het helpt om het ventilatierooster dicht te doen. Mooie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bart P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Vraag bij boeken kamer naar grootte, indeling en faciliteiten van de te boeken kamer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Hubert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kurosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West-Terschelling
2.6 mi away
WestCord Hotel Schylge
WestCord Hotel Schylge
#1 of 6 in West-Terschelling
410 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Bornholm
Hotel Bornholm
#3 of 6 in West-Terschelling
63 reviews
2.4 mi away
WestCord ApartHotel Boschrijck
WestCord ApartHotel Boschrijck
#3 of 10 in Terschelling
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel de Walvisvaarder
10.7 mi away
Westcord Strandhotel Seeduyn
3.2 mi away
Hotel Nap
Hotel Nap
#5 of 6 in West-Terschelling
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paal 8 Hotel aan Zee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paal 8 Hotel aan Zee

Address: Badweg 4, 8881 HG West-Terschelling, Terschelling, The Netherlands (Formerly Sandton Paal 8 Hotel aan Zee)
Location: The Netherlands > Friesland Province > Terschelling > West-Terschelling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in West-Terschelling
Price Range: $104 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Paal 8 Hotel aan Zee 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandton Hotel Paal 8 Hotel Aan Zee is a comfortable hotel with an excellent restaurant, and various facilities to help you relax. Set atop the dunes of Terschelling's North Sea beach, it's a place to recharge, enjoy the fresh air, and escape your everyday life, every season. Made for a holiday to remember, or as inspirational location for your business event. Recently, all (but a few) were refurbished with brand new Kingsize beds! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paal 8 Hotel aan Zee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paal 8 Hotel Aan Zee Terschelling, The Netherlands - West-Terschelling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing