We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent Hotel at the beach!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandton Paal 8 Hotel aan Zee

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sandton Paal 8 Hotel aan Zee
Certificate of Excellence
Limburg
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel at the beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We've stayed 4 days in a junior suite. We've had a wonderful stay. The suite had 2 floors. On the first floor a bathroom and 2 bedrooms, on the second floor a giant livingroom, kitchen with dishwasher and another bathroom. The beds were lovely. The breakfast was excellent and the staff was very friendly. The hotel is situated at a 5 mins. walk from the beach, since the beach is very broad at this end of the island.
From our suite we could see the sea on 2 sides (2 balconies). At our time of stay (May) the weather wasn't great, so it was lovely we could take a dip in the indoor swimming pool to compensate the fact that we weren't able to take a swim in the sea.Towels were provided by the hotel! We would recommend this hotel to everybody. We didn't have any pets with us, but the hotel allows pets. At the entrance there are a few bowls with fresh water for dogs.
We've had a wonderful stay at the Sandton Paal 8 hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmoony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NielsSmit, General Manager at Sandton Paal 8 Hotel aan Zee, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Cmoony,
Thank you for your nice comments and review on Tripadvisor regarding your stay in May 2012.
We hope to welcome you again this year at Sandton Paal 8 Hotel aan Zee.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    191
    85
    19
    4
See reviews for
117
265
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

We really like this place, it's modern architecture is very pleasing amidst the sand dimes. However, it is true that the seafront facing rooms are without much sun on the balconies whereas the island facing rooms will get the best of the sun : you can't have it all.

The practices
we took room 106 with a nice sea view for 280euros for 2 nights It consists of a nice living area, bathroom, toilet room, bedroom & fair size balcony. The bathroom is clean & has both a bath and shower with separate toilet room. Typical of the Dutch our bed consists of two singles pushed together with separate duvets.

The restaurant is nice, but a little pricey with an average of 20euros for a main. We were unable to eat anywhere else on arrival as apparently kitchens close around 8pm this time of year for the beach restaurants.

The good bits:
Wifi heaven. Sea view. The balcony. Large windows. BBC world service on TV, bike hire and breakfast (soft boiled eggs).

Top tip
Make your lunch sandwiches using the breakfast buffet of cheeses nice meats.

Don't be afraid to hitch a ride back to the hotel if you find yourself walking in the rain.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank motoperpetio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauchringen, Germany
Level Contributor
170 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We spent three nights at this hotel and there was just one complaint to make: The menu of the restaurant never changes, is relatively limited and does not take into account local specialities. The meals it offers are ok, but nothing to write home about. The service could certainly be better. It is quite slow and not very friendly. This is somewhat sad, because due to its location, there are no restaurants in the vicinity.

But everything else is great: The location right in the dunes and just steps from a wide, white and seemingly endless beach is just perfect. You are surrounded by nature. The beach and a practically unlimited number of hiking or biking trails that start directly at the hotel offer you many possibilities to explore the beautiful island of Terschelling. (The hotel rents bicycles and sells good maps for hiking and biking.) Moreover, the rooms are spacious, comfortable and clean. All of them offer balconies (or terraces). (A minor problem was the air-conditioning which cannot be turned off or changed individually. The hotel knows which room temperature is good for you! Also, the noise is a bit disturbing at night at an otherwise quiet place.)

A nice indoor pool and a sauna are found in the basement of the hotel.

We found it quite helpful to take the car over to the island, but it is not really necessary, because public transport is quite good and there is a bus directly connecting the ferry to the hotel (and vice-versa).

Be careful when selecting your room: Only the upper floor offers 'true' seaview rooms. Moreover, if you go for 'seaview' you have a wonderful view, but very little sun, as these rooms are facing north. Nevertheless, this is probably one of the most beautiful places (not only) on Terschelling, if you want to be close to nature.

Room Tip: Sea view means facing north = not much sunshine, but wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Horst S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Very nice hotel that allow pets. It's located at the north side of the island, 60 km away from the main village, located near the beach. Terschelling is a small island where you can enjoy nature by making making walks or you can explore the island bike.When we arrived we could not find the entrance of the hotel and parking. The entrance is around the corner and not visible from the street. The parking is 100 - 200 meters away from the hotel. The service is friendly and good. The restaurant provides lovely meals. Because of the location of the hotel there is not much choice in restaurant that are located near the hotel. The rooms on the first floor are big and have a separate bedroom and living room.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hlamers1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

We spend here two nights and never slept so well, hearing the seashore and seagulls together early the morning!!!!!. In the evening you see fishboots and -if possible- a sundown from your balcony (take seaside!).
A nice small pool, great sauna you find in the basement of the hotel.
In the mornig you are able to eat as much as you want from a delicious breakfastbuffet and in the evening you get served a tasteful 3-course dinner. All for a fair price, if you book an special offer. Of course you need to rent a bike or take your car to find another restaurant, but in Midsland( 3,5 kms ) there is much to choose. Also the beachhouse in front to the sea serves good food. Rent your bike through "zorgeloos Terschelling.nl ", it's a bit cheaper and still good service!

Room Tip: on the seaside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria188590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
69 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

The location of the hotel is fantastic, but there are only very few places on Terschelling that are not fantastic, so that is easy.
When you take your car onto the island the accessibility is ok, plenty parking. But who would need a car on Terschelling? There is also a bus connection a few times per day. Bicycling from the ferry is 6 km, bit too far to walk. You will need a bicycle on the island but the riding is brilliant. The hotel provides rental bikes, good deal.
The rooms are fine, balcony is roomy, splendid view, pitch dark nights, total silence.
Nice and clean pool (bit small) and turkish and finnish sauna, free robes and towels.
Breakfast is a great start of the day. We did not try the restaurant but I have hear that it is good.
Reception and restaurant staff are friendly and welcome.
Very recommended.

Room Tip: On the seaside you will hear the sound of the sea, you will have sun on the balcony in the morning o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frans M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittard, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

My husband and I stayed 4 nights in this hotel in November. The hotel is good, breakfast is good. The location is amazing. The hotel restaurant is a little bit too expensive to eat every night. You have to walk or bick at least 3.5 km to get to another restaurant when you visit the island outside the main season. This is something to consider when you leave your car behind on the mainland.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank red188577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West-Terschelling
2.6 mi away
WestCord Hotel Schylge
WestCord Hotel Schylge
#1 of 6 in West-Terschelling
4.5 of 5 stars 324 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Bornholm
Hotel Bornholm
#3 of 6 in West-Terschelling
4.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
2.4 mi away
WestCord ApartHotel Boschrijck
WestCord ApartHotel Boschrijck
#3 of 10 in Terschelling
4.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Westcord Strandhotel Seeduyn
3.0 mi away
Hotel de Walvisvaarder
Hotel de Walvisvaarder
#6 of 10 in Terschelling
4.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Nap
Hotel Nap
#6 of 6 in West-Terschelling
4.0 of 5 stars 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandton Paal 8 Hotel aan Zee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Paal 8 Hotel aan Zee

Property: Sandton Paal 8 Hotel aan Zee
Address: Badweg West 4, 8881 HG West-Terschelling, Terschelling, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > Friesland Province > Terschelling > West-Terschelling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in West-Terschelling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandton Paal 8 Hotel aan Zee 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandton Hotel Paal 8 Hotel Aan Zee is a comfortable hotel with an excellent restaurant, and various facilities to help you relax. Set atop the dunes of Terschelling's North Sea beach, it's a place to recharge, enjoy the fresh air, and escape your everyday life, every season. Made for a holiday to remember, or as inspirational location for your business event. Recently, all (but a few) were refurbished with brand new Kingsize beds! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Sandton Paal 8 Hotel aan Zee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandton Paal 8 Hotel Aan Zee Terschelling, The Netherlands - West-Terschelling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing