We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A quite deserted hotel in the winter, but it was nice!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of WestCord Hotel Schylge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
WestCord Hotel Schylge
Certificate of Excellence
Wageningen
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A quite deserted hotel in the winter, but it was nice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2010

The hotel is located within the walking distance from West-Terschelling. A nice and well appointed room. Enjoyable leisure facilities like bowling, indoor swimming pool, sauna and solarium. Cosy restaurant. Friendly and informative staff.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bufje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    152
    32
    10
    2
See reviews for
65
211
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Namur, Belgium
Level Contributor
359 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2009

Just want to tell how disappointed i was with my last visit in hotel Shylge on Terschelling.
Here my complaints:
There was dirt on the balcony: old sandwiches , kleenex and slices of rotting meat.
There were long hairs (not mine) in the bathtub.
Internet is still not free: i spent 30 EUR for 6 hours of connection, two of which were lost due to a malfunction in the registration with t-online.
The hotel parking is becoming too small: for the first time in 11 years i am visiting, i was unable to park. This is not due to increasing number of cars but because the parking space has been reduced in the bottom story of the hotel.
Bar is not attended by a waiter: you should phone to get service; but no phone at hand.
Those points above are not individually dramatic, but summing up they clearly show a poor management. I wonder if i still will use your hotel next time.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
221 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2008

I stayed here off season, for a business meeting. There was reconstruction going on almost all floors. Normally I would hate that, but very strange, in this hotel it did not bother me. The whole atmosphere in the hotel is very friendly maybe that was the reason why it didn't bother me.

The new rooms look great, the restaurant is updated and look nice. One of my colleagues had some cleaning issues, which were solved properly. Food in the restaurant is not bad, but be sure you try restaurant "Brandaris" in the town. Hotel has everything you need: Several bars, bowling, swimming pool etc.

  • Liked — atmosphere
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank flyingdutchmannl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finger Lakes Wine Country, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2006

What a pleasant place to stay!!! Our room was perfect. The daily buffet breakfast was superior. We paid 147 euros per night, plus 5 euros per day to rent a bicycle. We stayed at three different hotels while traveling through the Netherlands. The Golden Tulip Schylge was the luxury to which I am accostumed.

  • Liked — the whole package
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Tips/Secrets — there is a very affordable internet cafe on the beach below this hotel
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SenoraSofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West-Terschelling
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bornholm
Hotel Bornholm
#3 of 6 in West-Terschelling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.3 mi away
WestCord ApartHotel Boschrijck
WestCord ApartHotel Boschrijck
#3 of 10 in Terschelling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
2.6 mi away
Paal 8 Hotel aan Zee
Paal 8 Hotel aan Zee
#2 of 6 in West-Terschelling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hotel de Walvisvaarder
Hotel de Walvisvaarder
#4 of 10 in Terschelling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
6.4 mi away
Appartementenhotel Tjermelan
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nap
Hotel Nap
#5 of 6 in West-Terschelling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WestCord Hotel Schylge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord Hotel Schylge

Property: WestCord Hotel Schylge
Address: Burgemeester van Heusdenweg 37, 8881 ED West-Terschelling, Terschelling, The Netherlands (Formerly Golden Tulip)
Location: The Netherlands > Friesland Province > Terschelling > West-Terschelling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in West-Terschelling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — WestCord Hotel Schylge 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Schylge (4-stars) is in the lively harbour of the village West-Terschelling and has a wonderful view over the Wadden sea. The hotel views are dramatically influenced by the continuous movement of the sea and tidal changes. Hotel Schylge offers luxury and comfort. Restaurant 'Op West', one of the best on the island is led by star decorated chef Ton van Scheppingen. Within a short walk along the harbour you will find yourself in the charming village of West. Walking and cycle paths to the beach, woods and sea begin from both the front and back of the hotel. In the last few years Hotel Schylge has been largely renovated. The rooms have a luxurious designer feel but at the same time still manage to capture the unmistakable island feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your WestCord Hotel Schylge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip West-Terschelling
West-Terschelling Golden Tulip
WestCord Hotel Schylge Terschelling, The Netherlands - West-Terschelling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing