We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good value for money - great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of WestCord Hotel Schylge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
WestCord Hotel Schylge
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good value for money - great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Ideally situated, just a couple of minutes walk from the Ferry Terminal, or 3 minute bike ride if you hire bikes once off the boat. I enjoyed my two day stay at the hotel, room was clean and bright and furnished to a good standard, however it did lack a few mod cons that you may come to expect, such as a TV (didn't bother me but some may like)...and also no air con...however, we did have a balcony with lovely harbor view so we did manage to catch a breeze during the night. The bar terrace, dining & breakfast rooms and reception area all seem to be outfitted to much higher standard than some other parts of the hotel, the indoor pool area and corridors leading to the rooms seemed a bit more dated - not really a complaint, just an observation. A bit of dusting would go amiss on the balcony too!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PLBLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    140
    27
    9
    2
See reviews for
58
186
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
64 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

It is the upmarket hotel on the island. Bayview is wonderful, easy to reach from the ferry. Away from the tourist humdrum in the village. Rooms, beds, bathrooms are as to be expected in this price range. But the hotel needs attention to detail. The shower shows wear and tear, balconies are not kept spotless clean (algae), barservice on the sunterrace is slow, waiting lines at the coffeemachines over breakfast, no serving trays for your breakfast stuff.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meijerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Had a very nice stay for two nights. Apartment with a beautiful view over the harbour and a large deck. Excellent service in the restaurant with good quality food and good wine. All in all a hotel to return to.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rik_vd_Schalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The staff was very carefull. We had a no sea side view but the room was very nice and you can watch the sea from the restaurant. Breakfast was excellent with very much choice. We didn't use the pool so I can't commend on it. It's a short walk to the village and you can park your car in the garage.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jvt68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the Netherlands
Level Contributor
151 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 382 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Very good hotel. Excellent value for money. Nice rooms, all features and balcony. Be sure to book a seaside room. Very good beds. Average breakfast (not that much choice). Pool is somewhat on the small side. No towel service.

Room Tip: Seaside room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HPBKraaijeveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limburg
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is our second stay at the Westcord Hotel Schylge. Everything was perfect again!
Excellent beds. Clean rooms. Great service, friendly staff. Beautiful view. Loved the indoor pool.
And than the breakfast, in one word WOW! We would recommend this hotel to everybody! It is not the cheapest hotel on the island, but you get really value for your money..
Also we received a nice "thank you" postcard from the hotel when we were back home. :-)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmoony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed here as a couple for three days in late October. Everything was perfectly arranged, from smiling and welcoming staff to perfect bikes. The gastronomic food is not to be missed and the restaurant has a very warm and cosy feel to it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank timg1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West-Terschelling
2.6 mi away
Sandton Paal 8 Hotel aan Zee
Sandton Paal 8 Hotel aan Zee
#2 of 6 in West-Terschelling
4.0 of 5 stars 463 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bornholm
Hotel Bornholm
#5 of 6 in West-Terschelling
4.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
0.3 mi away
WestCord ApartHotel Boschrijck
WestCord ApartHotel Boschrijck
#3 of 10 in Terschelling
4.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Westcord Strandhotel Seeduyn
4.7 mi away
Hotel de Walvisvaarder
Hotel de Walvisvaarder
#4 of 10 in Terschelling
4.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nap
Hotel Nap
#6 of 6 in West-Terschelling
4.0 of 5 stars 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WestCord Hotel Schylge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord Hotel Schylge

Property: WestCord Hotel Schylge
Address: Burgemeester van Heusdenweg 37, 8881 ED West-Terschelling, Terschelling, The Netherlands (Formerly Golden Tulip)
Location: The Netherlands > Friesland Province > Terschelling > West-Terschelling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in West-Terschelling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — WestCord Hotel Schylge 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Schylge (4-stars) is in the lively harbour of the village West-Terschelling and has a wonderful view over the Wadden sea. The hotel views are dramatically influenced by the continuous movement of the sea and tidal changes. Hotel Schylge offers luxury and comfort. Restaurant 'Op West', one of the best on the island is led by star decorated chef Ton van Scheppingen. Within a short walk along the harbour you will find yourself in the charming village of West. Walking and cycle paths to the beach, woods and sea begin from both the front and back of the hotel. In the last few years Hotel Schylge has been largely renovated. The rooms have a luxurious designer feel but at the same time still manage to capture the unmistakable island feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your WestCord Hotel Schylge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip West-Terschelling
West-Terschelling Golden Tulip
WestCord Hotel Schylge Terschelling, The Netherlands - West-Terschelling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing