We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Rustic Location, Great for Seeing Northeastern Netherlands”
Review of Hotel de Oorsprong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel de Oorsprong
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sint Nicolaasga
Reviewed October 26, 2007

We booked through [--]

The Oorsprong is located in southern Friesland, just off the major highways but tucked away in a forested area which is quite rustic and beautiful. The hotel was quite nice, with a great restaurant (admittedly, slightly pricy -- but worth it), and a comfortable sun room which serves for the good breakfast buffet and a good afternoon cafe.

The room was large and quite comfortable. The bathroom and shower room were a bit small, but sufficient for a hotel. We went for one of the "boskamer" rooms with a private sunroom looking out into the forest -- I highly recommend this if any are available.

A few minor annoyances, which all in all didn't detract from the hotel's charm:
* the wireless internet was relatively pricey, compared to other hotels we stayed at in the Netherlands (as well as business hotels I've stayed in in the US)
* the wireless didn't quite reach my room at the end of the corridor, so I had to go into one of the public areas to use the internet to upload photos, read email, use VOIP, etc.
* some areas of the hotel could use a bit of sprucing up - minor paint touchups, etc.

In general, though, we were quite happy with our stay here. The staff were helpful, the room was comfortable and easily situated for motoring about Friesland, Overijssel, or Flevoland, and the food at the restaurant was excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jbeebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 37 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
Thank GerardvK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Tia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Inge G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank Luus768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Han R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sint Nicolaasga
2.9 mi away
Haje Hotel Joure
Haje Hotel Joure
#1 of 1 in Joure
114 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampshire Hotel – St. Nicolaasga
7.0 mi away
Haje Hotel Heerenveen
Haje Hotel Heerenveen
#3 of 4 in Heerenveen
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Oorsprong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Oorsprong

Address: Huisterheide 7, 8521 NC Sint Nicolaasga, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Friesland Province > Sint Nicolaasga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sint Nicolaasga
Price Range: $74 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Oorsprong 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel de Oorsprong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing