We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lekker!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of De Marlijn

De Marlijn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Dutch, Bar, Seafood, European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Holland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lekker!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Attended a private party here. The food and service were super.
The northern most place to eat in the Netherlands, on the widest longest beach I have ever been on. Great!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tilks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    116
    20
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bloemfontein
Level Contributor
215 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Brilliant location, disinterested service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

A wonderfully located place to eat, but be prepared to wait, to learn that dishes on the rather extensive and ambitious menu are not available (this IS an island, after all, and the local Spar may not stock emergency ingredients), or to have to go in search of service, that might disappear quicker than the sunshine.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank HunterBloemfontein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Long wait”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

We came for a bite of lunch and searched on a complicated menu for something simple that would satisfy our hunger after a long walk on the beach but what we ordered never turned up. We waited and waited and saw others being served, some came long after us, so in the end we paid the drinks we had and left. And only then we were told that the food was just about to be ready...if we could just stay a little longer.... Well, no. Thank you very much. After waiting 45 minutes for two sandwiches and a cup of soup. Our advise: take the bike and ride into town. It's ten minutes away and you have a splendid choice of several places to have a great lunch.

Helpful?
Thank lazyziggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fish soup excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Good service, ambiance and menu. Recommend. Good choice of beverages. Nice terrace. Reading tables and even games available. Excellent fish soup with aioli and bread. Wadden ice cream with cranberries and vanilla sauce a surprise treat! Location fabulous for walk on beach after long lunch.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Leslie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect spot for perfect food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

I went to Schierminnokoog with a friend and we heard of this place. We had two lunches here, I loooooved the bread and dips (see picture). We wanted to have diner here as well, but they were fully booked for both nights, which was a shame, since there are not places that are coming close to the quality of food as this place. It is a bit of a walk at night, but during the day it gives you the perfect break near the ocean after a walk. Make sure to make a reservation for the evening and do not come in later than 6 pm, since they close at 7 or 8 pm (yes, really!!).

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Inge R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Marlijn also viewed

Schiermonnikoog, Friesland Province
Schiermonnikoog, Friesland Province
 
Schiermonnikoog, Friesland Province
Schiermonnikoog, Friesland Province
 
Schiermonnikoog, Friesland Province
Schiermonnikoog, Friesland Province
 

Been to De Marlijn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing