We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quite loaction. Very friendly.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel restaurant de Tjattel
Certificate of Excellence
Holland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice quite loaction. Very friendly.”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We booked late, so this was not our first choice. However we found it clean and comfortable in a super quiter location.
It was good value, close to the 'downtown' part which was just a few hundred meters away. Next to the bus stop, so carrying bags from the ferry was not an issue.
Very friendly and helpful staff. We didn't eat there in the evenings as we were attending events held elsewhere on the island. But the breakfast was super, as were our pre dinner drink times in the bar.
We would definately give this a thumbs up.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tilks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    37
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
38
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
amstedam
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The hotel is very clean, rooms are small but very cosy and bathroom well renovated. Breakfast is very nice, choice of hot and cold, fruits,juices... everything you need to feel ready in case you plan a long hike. Terasse is well oriented, and staff is very friendly and helpful, i am glad we stayed in this hotel as a lot of other places looks dated and in a renovation need!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank letiAmstedam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leduc, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

What a surprise! We originally booked for 2 nights and ended up staying 5. Rooms are small but well laid out and functional. Bathroom and shower are a good size. Rooms are very clean. We ate several meals there and the food quality is excellent. The owners and staff were very courteous and helpful. It made our stay wonderful. No telephones in the room but you do not need one there. Internet is very good.

Room Tip: There are mosquitoes so opening your window invites these guys in for lunch
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WMeurope2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2010

As a single traveller off-season, this hotel was just a dream. Much more than I'd expected, especially considering the very reasonable price for a mid-week off-season stay.

The location was perfect - right in the center of the island of Schiermonikoog. The room was clean and quaintly furnished, and everything was blissfully quiet. The owners were kind and friendly when I arrived -- as someone studying Dutch, I really loved that the hotel primarily seemed to served Dutch-speaking tourists; everyone allowed me to get practice trying to speak Dutch and didn't try to "help me" by forcing English.

Finally, the included breakfast was just surprisingly fantastic -- I can't believe I nearly skipped it. Easily the best Dutch breakfast I've ever had - the breads were all bakery-quality and the presentation was just beautiful. And, yes, they do even have free WiFi in the lobby, even though it's not advertised anywhere in English.

The only oddity about the hotel is that they seem to really love the MS Comic Sans font (it's just everywhere). ;-).

But this is a place I would recommend or return to without any reservations whatsoever, and I'm very grateful to the owners and staff for the experience.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eligold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2007

I stayed here in July 2007. The room was recently renovated with a beautiful bathroom w/ shower. It is very well kept. Breakfast was included, and tasted great, with alot of choice. Restaurant food was great quality and good portions.
The decortation was great and I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank js41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schiermonnikoog
0.2 mi away
Hotel Duinzicht
Hotel Duinzicht
#3 of 6 in Schiermonnikoog
59 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Graaf Bernstorff
Hotel Graaf Bernstorff
#2 of 6 in Schiermonnikoog
133 reviews
15.9 mi away
WestCord Hotel Noordsee
WestCord Hotel Noordsee
#4 of 11 in Ameland
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Hotel de Abdij van Dokkum
0.1 mi away
Ambrosijn
Ambrosijn
#3 of 5 in Schiermonnikoog
11 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pension Westerburen
Pension Westerburen
#4 of 5 in Schiermonnikoog
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel restaurant de Tjattel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel restaurant de Tjattel

Property: Hotel restaurant de Tjattel
Address: Langestreek 94, 9166 LG, Schiermonnikoog, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Friesland Province > Schiermonnikoog
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Schiermonnikoo...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel restaurant de Tjattel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our **hotel restaurant is situated in the centre of the village on the beautiful island and National Park of Schiermonnikoog. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. For a refreshing break on this peaceful Dutch island, Hotel de Tjattel has it all. This small hotel is comfortably equipped to provide you with an enjoyable stay on this welcoming island. Open all year round, the hotel has a restaurant where you can enjoy lunch and dinner or a fine selection from the special guest menu. You can also relax with a drink in the cafe or admire the natural surroundings from the sunny terrace. The surrounding area is perfect for walking or cycling, while the beautiful forests and beach will charm you with their natural beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel restaurant de Tjattel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing