We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid stay in harmony with island” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Van der Werff

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Schiermonnikoog
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Van der Werff
Save
You added Hotel Van der Werff to your Saves list
Reeweg 2, 9166 PX, Schiermonnikoog, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Splendid stay in harmony with island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Lovely place to stay in this old-style hotel with good atmosphere, adequate rooms and restaurant for good breakfast and nice evening meals. The island is full of nice beaches and dunes, so walking around freshes your mind.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulusAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Emmeloord, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Back in time hotel,with a really good atmosphere. You don't need to spend a lot of time in your room when you are on the island.
No loud music into the restaurant, sometimes a guest plays on the piano.
Dinner is great with good food in the most beautiful diningroom on the islands, lovely services and nice prices.
I, ve been here twice into the hotel for a weekend to stay. But each time when i am on the island i am going to eat into the restaurant into the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jose1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monster, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
259 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Before rating this hotel I have questioned myself a lot about which rating I should give it. On the one hand (the restaurant: dinner, breakfast, terrace outside) it is great and on the other hand (the rooms) it is poor. As I love sleeping and really value a nice bathroom with a good shower with sufficient water coming out of the showerhead I probably will never come back here, but looking at the service and the nice (nothing fancy) food you get here there are a lot of restaurants and hotels that can learn a thing or two from this place.

The waiters and staff are very attentative to anything you ask for or also not even ask for. The service during meals and also on the terrace outside is just outstanding. Quick, flawless, great knowledge, some excellent wines at very fair prices, Great !

The rooms however are disappointing in my opinion, the beds are small (width), the room does not feel comfortable and the mix of things that are in it does not give you a comfy feeling. Really if you just want to sleep it is fine, but do not expect anything else over that. Don't think about spending 2 hours in your room reading or so... The bathroom is very basic and the shower has problems producing water, but outside of that everything is clean and you will have plenty towels.

Last but not least the price is very fair and reasonable, we choosed for half board and were not at all disappointed pricewise, however if the rooms would be a little bit upgraded and made a little bit more cosy and warm then I would have no problem paying more (and would probably come back here more often). However it is fully booked now also around the year, so probably there is not much of a drive or necessity to do it. Which is a shame according to me.

A weekend was a sort of a pleasure with the special atmosphere and the outstanding service, so we took the rooms for granted, you will sleep anyway after a day biking and some drinks on the terrace, but I would not have stayed longer than that.....

Room Tip: Ask for one of the renovated rooms and ask for a room on the backside which is more calm, the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aliceesjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We booked this hotel because we read good reviews about it. And they are right. Already the bus service from the ferry is very convenient. It was raining and most of the people had to go with the paid bus (which was very full) while we had plenty of space to sit. Check-in was very quick, we just got the key and that was it. The hotel is very old, but the rooms are adequate. Anyway, you don't need to spend a lot of time in your room when you are on Schiermonnikoog.

Breakfast was very good, would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kamukwam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Lovely dutch old fashion "brown" hotel. No fancy rooms, simple beds, bathroom, table, chairs, closet and tv. best way to describe the rooms is "cute".
Very dutch cold breakfast, (bread, yoghurt, fruit). I was little dissapointed there was no toaster and no cappuchino (just plain coffee or Black tea).
Dinner is great, lovely service when being served by the older men. good daily menu's with a lot of side dishes.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valeggua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
78 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Every night.
The daily menu.
3-courses
Perfect waiters.
Perfect atmosphere.
Perfect food.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank highabove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Last week my family visited this hotel. It is a wonderful place to be for a few days if what you seek is to disconnect from your busy modern life and reconnect with your family. This is not the place to be if you seek luxury. The rooms are strictly for sleeping and showering. The hang out is downstairs where you can watch the natives come and go all day. You can also read, play chess or cards, and sip tea or whatever suits you. It is wifi connected but you will wonder why you need to be connected at all after a while. The food is very good and served with a wonderful old fashioned elegance that is hard to find in the Netherlands. I would recommend the hotel for downtime with the family.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schiermonnikoog
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cafe Restaurant de Tjattel
Hotel Cafe Restaurant de Tjattel
#1 of 6 in Schiermonnikoog
4.0 of 5 stars 36 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Graaf Bernstorff
Hotel Graaf Bernstorff
#3 of 6 in Schiermonnikoog
3.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Cafe Duinzicht
Hotel Restaurant Cafe Duinzicht
#2 of 6 in Schiermonnikoog
4.0 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Strandappartementen Noderstraun
Strandappartementen Noderstraun
#5 of 6 in Schiermonnikoog
4.0 of 5 stars 8 reviews
0.9 mi away
Strandhotel ZandtaanZee
Strandhotel ZandtaanZee
#2 of 5 in Schiermonnikoog
4.0 of 5 stars 17 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Brasserie Om de Noord
Hotel & Brasserie Om de Noord
#1 of 6 in Schiermonnikoog
4.5 of 5 stars 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Van der Werff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Van der Werff

Address: Reeweg 2, 9166 PX, Schiermonnikoog, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Friesland Province > Schiermonnikoog
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Schiermonnikoo...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 61

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing