We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Best Terrace view on Schier” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Strandhotel ZandtaanZee

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Strandhotel ZandtaanZee to your Saves list
Strandhotel ZandtaanZee
Badweg 117, 9166 NH, Schiermonnikoog, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best Terrace view on Schier”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed here one night in July 2013 and were lucky to get the last room. This small hotel (only 13 rooms) was recently taken over by a father and son. It is casual, facilities are basic, but has everything you need on the island. Rooms are comfortable and clean, there is free wifi, the atmosphere is relaxed. Breakfast is typically Dutch. They serve up a few lunch and dinner dishes, which are tasty and reasonably priced. ZandtaanZee is located in the dunes very close to the beach. Best of all is the terrace, with beautiful views, and when the weather is not so nice, there are blankets and pillows enabling you to still sit outside. As we live in Groningen we usually go to Schier for the day, but staying overnight makes it a small holiday and has the great advantage of being able to capture sunset and/or sunrise. We will almost certainly come back.

Room Tip: We had no choice of room anymore, but if you do, opt for a room on the seaside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MariaPaalman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    9
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bielefeld, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in May 2013. The hotel was just renovated and few days before re-opening. Anyhow, we got a wonderful room overlooking the dunes and sea (small windows at eye-level all along the wall). The bed was very comfortable, bathroom was clean, not too small, and also got a window. The staff (and also their dog) was really friendly and does everything to make your stay nice and comfortable.

Breakfast was okay, for me it was all a bit too much of these portion packs, even for the cheese and ham. But maybe that was because the hotel was not officially opened and that changes with more guests. The restaurant / breakfast room is furnished and decorated very tastefully, maritime and light, with lots of wood. It's also possible to sit outside with a nice view towards the dunes and sea.

The location is a bit outside the centre, but wonderful quiet and relaxing and near the sea. It's about 20min to walk to the centre, or one can also take the bus, which stops just a few metres from the hotel.

Room Tip: Take the sea-view rooms. They are a bit more expensive, but definetely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phoD78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
104 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed in this hotel during the last days of December and were extremely satisfied. The hotel is well located in the dunes, the staff is very friendly and does everything within their powers to make your stay pleasant.

Rooms are not extremely big, but the beds are very comfortable, the bathroom is clean and there is a very good shower. Breakfast is nice and served in the restaurant with lots of wood and a nice view.

Only minus is that the rooms are in long 'chalet-like' looking constructions, and that the isolation (towards noise) might not be optimal. However, we did not have any problems with this,

Room Tip: Some rooms have see view. We travelled during the winter and all was very quite and serene, both in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pieeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schiermonnikoog
0.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Cafe Duinzicht
Hotel Restaurant Cafe Duinzicht
#2 of 6 in Schiermonnikoog
4.0 of 5 stars 43 reviews
0.1 mi away
Strandappartementen Noderstraun
Strandappartementen Noderstraun
#5 of 6 in Schiermonnikoog
4.0 of 5 stars 9 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cafe Restaurant de Tjattel
Hotel Cafe Restaurant de Tjattel
#1 of 6 in Schiermonnikoog
4.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Graaf Bernstorff
Hotel Graaf Bernstorff
#4 of 6 in Schiermonnikoog
3.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
10.7 mi away
Herberg de Waard van Ternaard
15.7 mi away
WestCord Hotel Noordsee
WestCord Hotel Noordsee
#2 of 11 in Ameland
4.0 of 5 stars 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strandhotel ZandtaanZee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strandhotel ZandtaanZee

Property: Strandhotel ZandtaanZee
Address: Badweg 117, 9166 NH, Schiermonnikoog, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Friesland Province > Schiermonnikoog
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Schiermonnikoo...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Strandhotel ZandtaanZee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing