We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location, fine hotel and nice food.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Galamadammen Restaurant Jachthavens
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Koudum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We booked this hotel for a weekend near the water. We had a superior room at the waterside and it was very clean and spacious. It was very quiet. Very pleasant welcome at the desk.
The restaurant was very nice as well. Fine food, more than enough. Very good price and de wines are extremely affordable. The dishes are nicely arranged and looks tasty. The service is very kind and helpful.
Free WiFi available nearly everywhere in the hotel. No airco! (OK if the outside temperature is average).
Useful information in front of the desk (sightseeing, activities, information).
If we plan to go back in that region of the Netherlands, we probably go there once more...

Room Tip: Prefer a room at the waterside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmigoBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 100 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2012

we booked a room through a last minute site. We were allocated a nice spacious room , and were gutted that we had forgotten our swim suits as the room was just opposite the indoor swimming pool.
The only downside to our stay was when the reception had made a mistake with regards to the price of our booking , they reluctantly had to admit their error and the woman in reception gave us very frosty looks and did not apologize..
other than that ; good spacious room ( somewhat dated) nice views over the water
recommended for discovering Friesland!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Everything was super oke! Take a room with view on the waterside and breakfast in the room and enjoy your staying! Everybody traets you like a special gast! Clean , nice bed and bathroom !
We will be back , dont forget the good food! Very very tastfull! Nice waiters! Enz....

Room Tip: Room on the waterside!very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This hotel and its excellent restaurant are essentially located in the middle of nowhere. I stayed here for one night in June 2012 on my way through the region.

The room was well equipped and spacious, with nice views of the surrounding area and passing ships. Service was very friendly and attentive. The restaurant serves traditional Dutch meals of high quality. The breakfast buffet offered good choices.

As the hotel is located on a provincial road in a rural area, but there's a lot of (mostly recreational) shipping going past, I suspect that much of the clientele arrive and depart by boat.

Overall a very pleasant experience and definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sergio2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We booked a lake view room for only 49 Euro. Room and bathroom were both large. The sitting area had two comfortable armchairs and a view over the hotel yacht harbour. The swimming pool is in a pleasant building with lots of glass: great if the sun in shining. The restauramt also overlooks the lake. We had a four course asparagus menu, which cost 30 Euro and was very prepared and presented.

Only criticism was that service in the restaurant was a bit haphazard. Didn't cause us a problem, but might be irritating if they were busier.

Room Tip: The view over the lake costs 10 Euro extra, but is well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingCelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Spent two nights here for work - but the experience could definitely be classified as "pleasure" instead.

Rooms very roomy, with seperate bath and shower in one bathroom and toilet in another. My room was the soberest of our group - "only" two comfy chairs and no cooking facilities. Beautiful view on the yacht harbour too.

Facilites were well in order, swimming pool was available from 7am to 23pm, and sauna was turned on on request at any time.

Restaurant was excellent - great attention to detail in both starters and main courses. Only slight gripe was lack of knowledge of the wine list amongst the (young) waiters, but service was always with a smile and quality of the wines in question was superb.

General impression was one of considerable friendliness - we were met with smiles everywhere, and any reasonable request was immediately met. Even some weird ones were accomodated - the hotel arranged souvenirs for our group in Woudsend, 2 hours sailing away.

Room Tip: You have two choices, either with a view of the yacht harbour or the road. City slickers sleep bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dion_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

We enjoyed our stay in this nice hotel. At check-in we recieved a free upgrade to a nice room with view to the harbour. Comfy beds, nice flatscreen. Separate toilet. Separate bath and shower.
We had a good restaurant experience. Friendly service. Good menu with excelent wine advice.
Buffet breakfast was OK. Inclusive in the rate.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koudum
2.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Jans
24.8 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - Oranje Leeuwarden
11.3 mi away
Hampshire Hotel – St. Nicolaasga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Bastion Hotel Leeuwarden
Bastion Hotel Leeuwarden
#6 of 10 in Leeuwarden
91 reviews
12.2 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Sneek
3.5 mi away
Camping en B&B Welgelegen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galamadammen Restaurant Jachthavens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galamadammen Restaurant Jachthavens

Address: Galamadammen 1/4, 8723 CE Koudum, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Friesland Province > Koudum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Koudum
Price Range: $52 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galamadammen Restaurant Jachthavens 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Galamadammen Restaurant Jachthavens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing