We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“nice room , nice setting, perfect for sightseeing friesland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Galamadammen Restaurant Jachthavens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Galamadammen Restaurant Jachthavens
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Koudum
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“nice room , nice setting, perfect for sightseeing friesland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

we booked a room through a last minute site. We were allocated a nice spacious room , and were gutted that we had forgotten our swim suits as the room was just opposite the indoor swimming pool.
The only downside to our stay was when the reception had made a mistake with regards to the price of our booking , they reluctantly had to admit their error and the woman in reception gave us very frosty looks and did not apologize..
other than that ; good spacious room ( somewhat dated) nice views over the water
recommended for discovering Friesland!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    29
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
35
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Everything was super oke! Take a room with view on the waterside and breakfast in the room and enjoy your staying! Everybody traets you like a special gast! Clean , nice bed and bathroom !
We will be back , dont forget the good food! Very very tastfull! Nice waiters! Enz....

Room Tip: Room on the waterside!very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
101 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

This hotel and its excellent restaurant are essentially located in the middle of nowhere. I stayed here for one night in June 2012 on my way through the region.

The room was well equipped and spacious, with nice views of the surrounding area and passing ships. Service was very friendly and attentive. The restaurant serves traditional Dutch meals of high quality. The breakfast buffet offered good choices.

As the hotel is located on a provincial road in a rural area, but there's a lot of (mostly recreational) shipping going past, I suspect that much of the clientele arrive and depart by boat.

Overall a very pleasant experience and definitely recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sergio2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
419 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We booked a lake view room for only 49 Euro. Room and bathroom were both large. The sitting area had two comfortable armchairs and a view over the hotel yacht harbour. The swimming pool is in a pleasant building with lots of glass: great if the sun in shining. The restauramt also overlooks the lake. We had a four course asparagus menu, which cost 30 Euro and was very prepared and presented.

Only criticism was that service in the restaurant was a bit haphazard. Didn't cause us a problem, but might be irritating if they were busier.

Room Tip: The view over the lake costs 10 Euro extra, but is well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingCelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

Spent two nights here for work - but the experience could definitely be classified as "pleasure" instead.

Rooms very roomy, with seperate bath and shower in one bathroom and toilet in another. My room was the soberest of our group - "only" two comfy chairs and no cooking facilities. Beautiful view on the yacht harbour too.

Facilites were well in order, swimming pool was available from 7am to 23pm, and sauna was turned on on request at any time.

Restaurant was excellent - great attention to detail in both starters and main courses. Only slight gripe was lack of knowledge of the wine list amongst the (young) waiters, but service was always with a smile and quality of the wines in question was superb.

General impression was one of considerable friendliness - we were met with smiles everywhere, and any reasonable request was immediately met. Even some weird ones were accomodated - the hotel arranged souvenirs for our group in Woudsend, 2 hours sailing away.

Room Tip: You have two choices, either with a view of the yacht harbour or the road. City slickers sleep bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dion_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zutphen
Level Contributor
56 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

We enjoyed our stay in this nice hotel. At check-in we recieved a free upgrade to a nice room with view to the harbour. Comfy beds, nice flatscreen. Separate toilet. Separate bath and shower.
We had a good restaurant experience. Friendly service. Good menu with excelent wine advice.
Buffet breakfast was OK. Inclusive in the rate.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koudum
12.2 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Sneek
11.2 mi away
Hampshire Hotel – St. Nicolaasga
4.4 mi away
Hanzehuis Appartementen
Hanzehuis Appartementen
#1 of 2 in Stavoren
4.5 of 5 stars 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Jans
4.6 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Boschlust
Hotel Restaurant Boschlust
#1 of 1 in Oudemirdum
3.5 of 5 stars 37 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel de Gulden Leeuw
Hotel de Gulden Leeuw
#1 of 1 in Workum
4.5 of 5 stars 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galamadammen Restaurant Jachthavens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galamadammen Restaurant Jachthavens

Property: Hotel Galamadammen Restaurant Jachthavens
Address: Galamadammen 1-4, 8723 CE Koudum, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Friesland Province > Koudum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Koudum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Galamadammen Restaurant Jachthavens 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Galamadammen Restaurant Jachthavens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing