We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, neat and clean hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Drachten
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Drachten
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
102 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Lovely, neat and clean hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

I stayed in room 37 and it was clean, neat, tidy and comfortable with a balcony. My bed was a combination of two beds together but it was still comfortable. I love the bathtub that I utilized often. Everything was working fine during my three weeks' stay there. The hotel receptionist is very helpful and friendly and I felt at ease to get their help and they always get it done. The restaurant in this hotel serves awesome food! A definite must try!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexKhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    215
    49
    10
    0
See reviews for
59
228
16
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ixworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

This was my first visit to the north of Holland and although this hotel was a little more money than I would normally like to pay, I really liked the setting and ambience of the hotel. The way the rooms are positioned apart from the main building offers quiet, relaxing and comfortable environment without any disturbances and I found the experience to be a positive and typically "Dutch" one as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrSpeedbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

Nice hotel, seems fairly recently renovated with a smart design. Bedrooms nice with very nice bathrooms. Mattress a bit soft.

Bar (and staff) very nice for a few beers and reasonable, if unexciting, food. Breakfast room is mid renovation so a bit of a building site, but I'm sure this will be complete soon. Breakfast fairly run-of-the-mill not bad but not memorable.

Having said all that - very good place for a night on a business trip for a good price.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NTHurrrzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Rooms immaculate and modern. Breakfast was also very very good and the bar area is nice to enjoy a few drinks in during the evening.

The gym is painfully basic though, just a treadmill, exercise bike and cross trainer. No free weights to speak of at all. Other than that a lovely hotel

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank willerbywanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Very modern hotel with high quality rooms, decorated nicely.
The food was good and the service from the staff was excellent.
Very pleased and will be staying again.
The rooms all have free wifi which was very quick and allowed me to do the business work I needed to complete.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
188 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

very nice room (newly renovated, i occupied no. 119). no aircon, but windows to be opened. relatively quiet vicinity. free WiFi at a very good speed. excellent breakfast and a really surprising hotel-restaurant at an excellent level. anytime again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pedrowei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slovenia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

This hotel is nicely decorated, the rooms are big, clean, with lots of light. The bathroom has a huge shower and lots of amenities for personal hygiene.
There is a safe box in your room and also a tea/coffee maker.
Fitness is included in the price of the room.
Breakfast is pretty amazing too, the choice is quite big: different baked goods, lots of different kinds of cheese, natural juices.
You can also rent a bike or an electric bike.
Free wifi in available.
The staff is polite, however our check-in took quite a lot of time (half an hour), so I would suggest they work on that.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tci210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drachten
3.6 mi away
Bilderberg Landgoed Lauswolt
Bilderberg Landgoed Lauswolt
#1 of 1 in Beetsterzwaag
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
15.1 mi away
Post-Plaza Hotel & Grand Cafe
19.5 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Sneek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Wolvega-Heerenveen
1.8 mi away
Hostel De Stijl
Hostel De Stijl
#2 of 2 in Drachten
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
16.1 mi away
Hotel Cafe Restaurant de Posthoorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Drachten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Drachten

Property: Van der Valk Hotel Drachten
Address: Lavendelheide 4, 9202 PD Drachten, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Friesland Province > Drachten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Drachten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Drachten 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Drachten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing