We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice, relaxed, modern” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Van der Valk Hotel Drachten

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Drachten
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Drachten
Certificate of Excellence
slovenia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Nice, relaxed, modern”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

This hotel is nicely decorated, the rooms are big, clean, with lots of light. The bathroom has a huge shower and lots of amenities for personal hygiene.
There is a safe box in your room and also a tea/coffee maker.
Fitness is included in the price of the room.
Breakfast is pretty amazing too, the choice is quite big: different baked goods, lots of different kinds of cheese, natural juices.
You can also rent a bike or an electric bike.
Free wifi in available.
The staff is polite, however our check-in took quite a lot of time (half an hour), so I would suggest they work on that.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tci210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    173
    41
    8
    0
See reviews for
46
185
11
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

My work colleague booked the room for me as it was on the way from his place to our office in Leeuwarden. The hotel is a little off the beaten track and if it wasn't for the hotel bar and restaurant I don't know what else I would have done for the evening.

The rooms are clean and spacious, Internet service was excellent and free, always a plus on business travel. Breakfast was varied and an add on to the room. The front desk staff was helpful and pleasant, including helping me deal with the Lufthansa baggage people over my mid-transferred bag.

For business I would stay there again. Price is right and it's convenient and comfortable. If was there to look around I would find something in an urban centre like Leeuwarden.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tyrerubber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
90 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Not much choice indeed in this city but the hotel is good. Good staff, great food (yes, it surprised me!). Rooms are clean and spacious, and because nothing happens in Drachten, well, it's quiet at night. All good? No! Beds are just bad (way too soft) and pillows huge, so big you can't use them. Don't ask me why.
So good quality/price. Deserves better sleeping "equipment", which does matter for a hotel!

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Christophe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Britsh Columbia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed for one night in May on our travels through Holland.
Would definetly recommend as it is a very convenient location and the rooms are very spacious and clean.( even had a garden patio) The staff were very helpful and it was very easy to book online.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophiaoo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We arrived after an afternoon shopping in Drachten.
On arrival there was no-one at the reception and although our arrival had been noticed behind the scene, it took a little while before sombody materialised. Once we were being served, the check-in was friendly and quick.
We were allocated a room on the first floor in the original part of the building and by the look of it, it had been refurbished not that long ago.
As in most Van der Valk hotels I've stayed in in the past, the room was very spacious, very neat and very clean with a seperate little seating area as well as coffee and tea making facilities.
The bathroom didn't have a bath but did have a very large walk in shower which we prefer anyway. Toiletries were plentiful and everything was catered for.
If I was to make any comments it would be that the tv was of the older variety and there was no mini bar in the room.
During the evening we had a meal in the restaurant which was very good, not particularly cheap but ok. Staff were friendly and attentive.
Breakfast the next morning was very good as well but all self service- so eating of a tray as no tables were laid for breakfast. It doesn't bother me but does take away from the pampering you might expect in a hotel of this calibre.
One thing happened during the night which spoilt our stay completely but had nothing to do with the hotel.
Some guests came back a bit drunk and started to make a lot of noise at about 3am and took offence when being asked to keep the noise down. It escalated and police had to be called in to calm things down and take the culprits to a different 'hotel'.
The reason I do make a mention of this is that although I was thoroughly cheesed off by this event, I had a very nice letter from the the management during the week following this, offering us a free night stay within the next three months which i think is a brilliant example of how customer service should be.Well done staff and management!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janny20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
1,099 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 545 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We had obtained discount vouchers for two nights in Van der Valk Hotel Drachten. The experience was very positive. We were allocated a refurbished room on the ground floor on the North side of the building. This was very fortunate, because tropical temperatures were reached in this particular weekend; however, due to the location of the room, the room temperature never surpassed 23 Celcius. Yes, immediately we arrive at the only drawback of the hotel. No air conditioning; so I do not envy the guests on the south side of the hotel. Leaving this behind us, the hotel is well organized, with a large parking area, clean neat rooms with a large impeccably clean bathroom with bath and separate shower. Plentiful fresh smelling towels are provided for. Free Wi-Fi in the room. It works fine on Android devices. If you booked room without breakfast, do not hesitate to add this to the booking (ask for a discounted option at the reception). The breakfast buffet is abundant and tasty. In the period of our stay contracting work was carried out on the hotel area and reception, but it was never bothersome. The stay was in one word solid. The hotel is ideally situated for visits in the neighborhood. Groningen is only 30 kilometers away.

Room Tip: When the weather is hot, a room at the North side of the building is more comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hendrik_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
91 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed in this older property right after coming from my favorite new vdValk hotel Hardewijk op de Veluwe, which may account for my dissapointment. Driving up the hotel driveway and entering the reception area is far from grand, little efforts have been done to make it bright and cosy. However check-in is impeccable... we booked a package which included ferrytickets and bike rentals for a daytrip to Schiermonnickoog island, all was perfectly prepared and explained.
As this is Friesland, things are done a bit different from the rest of the Netherlands which resulted in dissapointing dining/breakfast experiences for us... but of course this is personal.
We stayed in so called renovated rooms, clean but far from cosy.
As this package was fairly priced, I would not call this a bad hotel but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LeoRaeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drachten
3.6 mi away
Bilderberg Landgoed Lauswolt
Bilderberg Landgoed Lauswolt
#1 of 1 in Beetsterzwaag
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
19.5 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Sneek
13.0 mi away
Golden Tulip Tjaarda Oranjewoud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hostel De Stijl
Hostel De Stijl
#2 of 3 in Drachten
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
15.1 mi away
Post-Plaza Hotel & Grand Cafe
15.2 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - Oranje Leeuwarden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Drachten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Drachten

Property: Van der Valk Hotel Drachten
Address: Lavendelheide 4, 9202 PD Drachten, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Friesland Province > Drachten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Drachten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Drachten 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HRS, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Drachten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing