We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Charming + simple hotel with friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Abdij van Dokkum

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel de Abdij van Dokkum
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dokkum
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
89 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Charming + simple hotel with friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

We stayed in Dokkum in order to be close to one of the Dutch islands (Ameland & Schiermonnikoog) without actually staying on the islands. As we considered this to be a "transit" stop, we had close to nil expectations. Perhaps as this was the case, we were pleasantly surprised by the hotel. It is located in the center of the quaint & picturesque village of Dokkum. As we arrived in the early evening, all the shops were closed, but it was nice to walk around nevertheless. We searched high and low for a good restaurant, but to no avail. Unfortunately the place we ended up going offered simple and unimpressive standard Dutch cuisine. In hindsight, we probably should have just stayed for dinner at the hotel. Please note: most kitchens close at 8:30pm in this sleepy village.

We booked the "luxury" room at the hotel, which meant we had a bit more space: a small kitchenette plus a tub in the bathroom, but it was more sober & simple than luxurious. Our room was on the 2nd floor, so there was enough light. However, it was rather inconvenient to get to the room, as you would have to cross the courtyard of the building and go up + down some potentially hazardous, neck-breaking stairs. There are really no amenities to speak of. You get a tiny bottle of shower gel + shampoo in one, that's it. There was a hairdryer in our bathroom, so that was good.

The best part of the hotel aside from the location is the staff. Everyone was super friendly and helpful. The breakfast is extra at 10.5 euro per person, and it was a decent Dutch breakfast, with an assortment of breads & croissants, confiture, ham & cheese, yogurt, fruits, etc. Again, the staff does try hard to please, so it was very appreciated.

The hotel is 15 minutes by car from Howlred, where we caught the ferry to Ameland, super convenient.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Family-C-L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    15
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
9
25
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

What a wonderful time we all had at the Hotel de Abdij van Dokkum!
I visited Dokkum with a group of about 15 friends to attend a wedding. This Hotel is centrally located, and near shops and restaurants. We were lucky enough to be there on one of the days when there was an open-air market, which was a wonderful display of local goods. The Staff at the Hotel was most willing to help and guide you, and I was relieved to find that most spoke English. Our group stayed on the first and second floors, which were all quite good accommodations, however all rooms are not equal in size. You might want to ask to see a choice of rooms before you take your luggage and get comfortable! I did not see the basement Annex that other reviews mentioned. The bar was fun and lively with reasonable prices for beer, and the restaurant was GREAT. Internet access is best in the bar/restaurant area; it is an old building with very thick walls and reception in the rooms was limited. Ask for the Internet access code, and enjoy a cup of coffee in one of the common areas.
All in all, we had a lovely stay in Dokkum. We enjoyed strolling along the water, all the wonderful architecture, the windmills, and all the beautiful doors around town. Dokkum is a lovely town, and you won't be disappointed with this Hotel!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerseagirl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2008

The trouble with our room at this Hotel was that it was so dark you could barely read a book. It was just about big enough, the bathroom was fine if a bit on the simple side, but someone had decided to decorate everything in shades of dark blue and coupled this with terrible lighting.

However, we quickly discovered that the hotel restaurant was the best in town and very popular with the locals (quite reasonably priced too). Breakfast was good with a plentiful buffet and some hot food as well.

Close to the market square, the hotel is a short stroll to the centre of this very pretty provincial Dutch town.

The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful.

  • Liked — Good Location
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CharlieDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holanda
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2008

While the facade is truly impresive and the main common areas are charmful and rustic, the lodging is mainly in an annex that grows at the back of the estate and beyond.


We stayed in room 11 which is located after a long corridor in the dark dungeon of the basement. The room is gloomy because there is little light (even though the day was bright). Since you are below the ground level the window leads to the road level in an alley where all passers by steal your little intimacy. To be fair the room is spacious. However the carpet is old, stained and smelly. A single wardrobe which makes Ikea look sturdy is the only storage room available. The toilet is roomy and renovated.

  • Liked — lobby, common areas
  • Disliked — the room
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JaimeHolanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dokkum hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dokkum
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cafe Restaurant de Posthoorn
4.1 mi away
Herberg de Waard van Ternaard
19.0 mi away
Bilderberg Landgoed Lauswolt
Bilderberg Landgoed Lauswolt
#1 of 1 in Beetsterzwaag
4.5 of 5 stars 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Post-Plaza Hotel & Grand Cafe
5.0 mi away
No photo provided
De Gouden Klok
#1 of 2 in Holwerd
3.0 of 5 stars 6 reviews
12.8 mi away
WestCord WTC Hotel Leeuwarden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Abdij van Dokkum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Abdij van Dokkum

Property: Hotel de Abdij van Dokkum
Address: Markt 30a, 9101 LS Dokkum, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Friesland Province > Dokkum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dokkum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Abdij van Dokkum 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel de Abdij van Dokkum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing