We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big servings!”
Review of De Hekseketel

De Hekseketel
Ranked #6 of 20 Restaurants in Nes
Cuisines: Dutch, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rijssen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Big servings!”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Really good food and a pleasant restaurant. The servings are really to big for me. but I guess not everybody has a problem with that!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Geke P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    73
    29
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
433 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

It is a pancake restaurant which serves good food in the evening. All kinds of specials including mix grills (seafood/meat). It seems a popular place as there was quite a crowd despite the very cold weather.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hans750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“good value for money, quite cosy”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

we came in late, but despite that they still took our order and did not rush. try the "Ameland mosterdsoep" and of course a pancake.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank PopeyeCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
369 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 373 helpful votes
“average prices, big plates, good location”
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Okay, the service isn't the best ever, not really able to crack a joke or anything and smiling seems to be hard as well, but the location of this reaturant is great, in the middle of Nes and the food is good as well, lot's of veggies (okay, maybe slightly overcooked), full plates with lots of meat or fish, you will definately get your money's worth....

Not the most creative kitchen, but still things you can crave for. If you're a meat lover: try the 'Heksenspies', impressive! Lot's of fish choices as well and vegetarian's have again lots to choose from

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank seolram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assen, Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Avoid!”
Reviewed September 25, 2011

I really wish that I could write a positive review of this well-situated restaurant. However we were never given the chance. We booked in advance and arrived on time. We were shown to our table and then had ten minutes to savour the complete absence of atmosphere. The silence was deafening, the people subdued and lacking in any outward signs of enjoying themselves. Having been ignored for ten minutes; no menu, no aperitief .... we left, walking past the group of waiting staff conversing near the door. "Great service, NOT" I said. No response........we went to a new, nearby eatery and had a wonderful meal. Please don't frequent this 'temple to bad service' lest you end up in the witches' cauldron!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BritTravellerTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Hekseketel also viewed

 
Ameland, Friesland Province
 

Been to De Hekseketel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing