We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good lunch for reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Berghaus Toni

Berghaus Toni
Ranked #3 of 14 Restaurants in Riederalp
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: European, Swiss, International, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: A Family friendly Hotel, Bar and Restaurant nestled in the Car-Free Village of Riederalp in the Swiss canton of Wallis. If Skiing, Snowboarding, Walking, Golf, Paragliding or Mountain Biking is your thing then your holiday at Berghaus Toni, the hotel "Among Friends" in Riederalp is the place to come! We have a 75 seat Restaurant and Bar with extensive Sun Terrace benefiting from Alpine views and for dining upto an additional 40 Customers. At Berghaus Toni we are proud to be members of the "Walliser Kostlichkeiten" / "Saveurs du Valais" Association working with Local suppliers and producers offering authentic dishes from the region.
Schilde, België
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good lunch for reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

The restaurant is situated at a location at the slopes of the Riederalp but off the centre (on walking distance or go skiing). It is owned by an English-Belgium couple. Therefor Belgium pommes frites are luckily on the menu. We as a family with 2 children had lunch. The atmosphere is very nice and cosy. The service is friendly too. Arriving at 14hr proved to be a bit late, because our plates were served only after some time. We had tosti' s hawaii and children's portions of spaghetti bolognese and a cheeseburger. Quality was good, but the burger was a bit small and had no bun and the spaghetti was a large portion. The tosti's were tasty. Oh yeah, the fries were French and not real Belgium. A bit disappointing. For the rest: a nice place to visit!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Edo_Schilde_Belgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    12
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lasne, Brabant, Belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Exceptional place to be”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

We had a great evening here. Probably one do the best entrecôte I had. James and Brit are excellent host. Wonderful place to be! I will come back

Helpful?
1 Thank Thierry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nah... not impressed!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

We visited the restaurant in a big group of nearly 40 people but had reserved our table two days in advance. However the food failed to impress half the group.

They served us pumpkin soup that tasted like melted butter and a faint pumpkin flavour. The main course was a choice between vegetarian risotto and pork (stew?). I can say that among those who chose the risotto none of them finished even half of the serving because it tasted like rice with milk porridge. The pork stew was good albeit a little too salty, but served with french fries. Though french fries is a nice nibble food it just feels not quite right to pair it with pork stew.

The dessert was panacotta that tasted good, however the presentation was very poor. Served on a tin plate it looked like children's leftover dessert.

Perhaps the restaurant is not ready to cater for a big group..... Never again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ems24_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, Owner at Berghaus Toni, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for the feedback for your recent visit. We always look to use this information whether it is positive or negative to guage the overall customer experience. Iwould like to comment that the menu was chosen by the group leader prior to the event based on the previous year's event and format. The Swine cheek stew with homemade french fries was requested specifically and is a classic Dutch/Belgian dish and has formerly proven to be highly successful. I can also confirm that we are geared towards larger groups as we cater for between 5 and 6 short ski groups each winter season who have exclusive use of the Hotel, which takes upto 51 guests. They dine with us for all 3 nights of their stay and we take on additional diners as well.
Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaffhausen, Switzerland
2 reviews
“Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Dinner menu with local products and wines, for very reasonable price (35 CHF), children menus available

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Borke V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic food at the Berghaus Toni”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

I had never tried a true Swiss Fondue before, so when I had the chance I tried it at Berghaus Toni. It was a Guiness Fondue!! Fantastic and a great social meal.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Allie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Berghaus Toni also viewed

Riederalp, Canton of Valais
 
Riederalp, Canton of Valais
Riederalp, Canton of Valais
 

Been to Berghaus Toni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing