We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Once more a wonderful stay in an excellent kids hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Apart- und Kinderhotel Muchetta
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Wiesen
Biel, Switzerland
1 review
“Once more a wonderful stay in an excellent kids hotel”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

For me, this is the perfect Hotel to stay in Switzerland, if you like to have some quality time with your your family.
A lot of things to do in the surroundings and the Hotel Staff is very helpful in finding an alternative programm.
Very friendly, clean and quiet.

Room Tip: Unfortunately no pool for adults available, but you are in a kids hotel ;-). The hotel offers a goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pat71_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sylvia_baertschi, Inhaber at Apart- und Kinderhotel Muchetta, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Mrs. pat71
Thank you very much for your comment. Looking forward seeing you again. Sylvia Bärtschi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    25
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
58
3
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Spend there 2 nights, very expensive for what you get. Dirty towels,wormed bed sheet, a bit rundown (renovation is much required). In addition, I wish there were a friendly receptionist.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank n0_return
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sylvia_baertschi, Owner at Apart- und Kinderhotel Muchetta, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear "n0 return"

Thank you for your review. Only when our guests give us a honest feed back we can steadily improve our services.
Your comment is shocking us deeply. Please send us your e-mail-contact. We really would like to discuss this matter with you. We can not understand, why you did not come to the reception and asked for my husband or me personally.
I very much hope to hear from you.
Kind regards, Sylvie Bärtschi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

this hotel is a good choice if you are travelling with young children. We had a very relaxed stay. The childcare is good. We were also satisfied with the food. It's good value for money. Our children liked the kids menue very much. Wiesen is a very quiet village, at night completely quiet. the ski resort is 10 minutes drive away, which we found not a problem. Rienerhorn has nice slopes and the steepes blue slopes we ever came across. the sauna and pool area is small but very new and clean. the kids loved to paddle in the pool. the hotel staff is very friendly. we can recommend this hotel without any reservation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Basel2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sylvia_baertschi, Owner at Apart- und Kinderhotel Muchetta, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear family "Basel2012"

Thank you very much for your review of December 12.
We appreciate the positive remarks very much and will definitely forward them to our team members.

With an other big “Thank you” for your stay at the Kinderhotel Muchetta we send you the best wishes for your family and hope, to be able to welcome you again here in Wiesen in the not to distant future!
Kindest regards, Sylvie Bärtschi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Rooms are quite functional and clean, beds were comfortable. Also child care, facilities and infrastructure is nice and our kids had fun with it. But that's it - no more positive facts left...

The worst is the food in the evening. Some world standards and a number of local dishes. Awful taste, very loud, extremly long waits, no space to move because next guest behind you touches your backrest already, a poor kidscorner has 1.5 sqmeter and on top: if you don't like tab water, a crispy bill will wait for you at the end of every meal.

Once the evening meal has been survived the hotel gets quite which is good for the kids to sleep. But parents might not be that tired already and are tempted to play a game and have a peaceful glass. But we were kicked out of the eating room on 9 pm. as they have to clean and prepare it for the next morning: fair enough. Gone to the tiny bar we found nobody to serve us as they also close it around that time. The adjacent room like a tube not much bigger offers some couches and newspapers but the draughty clima has triggered quite soon the escape to the warm bed.

The service generally was appropriate. But the hotel offers buggies which definitively have seen better days. You might bring your own. Information from reception were always given in a rush and therefore imprecise unfortunately. You have to pay for internet access which is definitively retro.

They offer an special called "Gute Hoffnung" if a baby is expected which contains an upgrade to a bigger room if available. As were expecting that time we luckily got a bigger room but had to pay to full price at the end of the week as they didn't believe us although we had the confirmation from the doctor. Ridiculous!


Our recommendation: FORGO IT!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SwissFamily577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sylvia_baertschi, Owner at Apart- und Kinderhotel Muchetta, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your comment and the time invested. Only when our guests give us honest feed back we can steadily improve our services.

To make the hotel bar and the adjoining living room more attractive for our guests we started in June 12 organizing every week a games evening for adults at 9 pm.

As there seems to be a big misunderstanding with your booking of “good hope” we kindly ask you to get in touch with us that we can check the booking details of your stay in December 2011.

We wish you all the best for the coming festive season and remain, with kind regards,
Sylvie Bärtschi and the Muchetta team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallikon, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We have just returned from this hotel where we spent a really nice and relaxing weekend with our two children and some friends. We were 2 couples and 4 children aging between 1 and 4 years. The children really enjoyed the possibility of playing indoor in the evening after dinner. Whereas we were enjoying the dinner together. The meals were very good. We really appreciate the variety of the food and how it has been cooked. Children food was also always well presented and genuine (with a lot of vegetables).
The location of this hotel is wonderful: you have an exceptional view of the mountain, in a peaceful place very close to Davos and Lenzerheide. The price to pay for this location is indeed the travel of 20 minutes to reach the ski-resort. There is a small child slope in Wiesen, but in March it was already closed.
One of the best point of this hotel is the friendliness of the stuff. They have been always ready to help out (e.g. providing information, when we were asking for a vegetable soup for the children, ...). When leaving, our daughter forgot her sleeping peluche under the pillow, and the staff mailed it to immediately to us (avoiding big drama at the sleeping time for more than a couple of days) without charging us anything.
The kids pool is not that large but enjoyable and benefits from a great view on the mountains and the shallow water makes it ideal also for the youngest.
In conclusion a place to recommend to all the families traveling with children.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Having read mixed reviews we went with an open mind, remembering that it was a childrens hotel and not to expect luxury for us but a good time for our son and therefore a relaxing time for us.
The location was beautiful but about 20 minutes drive away from the town of Davos and from the outside it was picturesque.

We were greeted very warmly and then taken to our room where we were rather disappointed to see it was even more basic than anticipated and the childrens room also contained the kitchenette (with oven and hob!). The balcony was on a corner of the building and received no sun (and the other oddity was the height of the toilet - we were on tiptoes when sat so our son had no chance of getting up himself).

We visited the creche next which was in the attic and rather gloomy and stuffy and smaller than it appeared in the brochure but the staff were very good with the kids even though our son quickly bored of the small ball pool. The playground outside was poor. The wellness area the same and kids paddling pool tiny.

The food was the worst part of the visit, the kids food was adequate burger/ fishfinger fayre apart from the very salty vegetables and packet mash but the ice cream freezer was a winner. The adult menu was very fawlty towers consisting of much catering supply packet stuff and tiny portions with course 2 always being packet soup or fruit juice (very retro!)
The travel pass for the post bus and the use of the off-road buggies were great and we were fortunate with the weather so could be outdoors as our son didnt want to use the onsite facilities. The pool in Davos "eau la la" was great.
Also booked in for a massage which ended up being in the same room as the solarium and was perfunctory ( and the masseur was clearly a heavy smoker).
If it hadn`t been for the genuine friendliness and helpfulness of the staff our visit would have been awful particularly as we had paid a lot for the "child friendly atmosphere and facilities". Would not recommend.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank canewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2010

I wish I could give a 3.5 instead of a 4. We stayed at the Kinderhotel Muchetta in December 2010 just before the Christmas rush. This hotel is located about 20 minutes by Postbus from the resort town of Davos.

We had some trouble making a reservation. When I first called, I was told there was nothing available for the dates I wanted nor one week earlier. But then, I tried to make a reservation online and it went through with no problem.

We took a train from Basel to Chur and then a Postbus to Wiesen. This was all pretty easy, except when I called the front desk for directions, they neglected to tell me we had to change buses halfway. This type of misinformation or lack of information proved to be very typical (and annoying) throughout our stay.

The hotel van was there as promised to pick us up from the bus stop in Wiesen (although it is a short walk to the hotel and doable even with luggage and strollers and small kids).

This is a mid-size hotel with several different room types. We splurged and got a superior family room (#113). It had two bedrooms, a sitting area and a kitchenette. It was quite spacious and had a gorgeous view of the mountains and valley. There were plenty of pillows and towels provided and even robes for the whole family! (Tiny little toddler robe was too cute!) The hotel provides soap but not shampoo or other toiletries. The kitchenette was fairly well stocked with dishes, etc. but didn't have a dishwasher, microwave, or notably, a coffee/tea maker. The maid service was just okay. They didn't sweep our floors until the third day. There was also a broken soap dispenser in the bathroom that didn't ever get fixed during our stay.

We booked a half-board: breakfast and dinner included. Breakfast was fine: tea, coffee, hot chocolate, yogurt, cereals, eggs, etc. Dinner was a real let down. The "adult" food was pretty awful. The children's buffet was better and had plenty of vegetables on offer. The service at dinner was truly horrible. We often waited 25 minutes between courses, so dinner stretched into a 90 minutes to 2 hour affair. I think one night we weren't actually assigned a server, so we waited 30 minutes before getting even salad. BEWARE of hidden costs at dinner. No drinks are included so if you order water, juice, beer, wine, etc. expect a huge bill at the end of the meal.

Children older than 3 have the option to eat earlier with the babysitter and then go upstairs to the playroom. This worked out very well for our 7 year old who loved being free of her parents for the night. The babysitters even took our 2 year old most evenings because the hotel wasn't very busy.

Note that there is no free coffee or tea available except at breakfast, and you can't make it in your room (unless you bring your own tea, I guess). I was charged CHF5.20 for a cup of tea.

The childcare was really great. The caretakers (notably, Marina and Cornelia) were wonderful to our kids. There are two childcare rooms: one for 3 and under and one for 3+. I understand why they are separate, but this was a little hard since our 2 year old and 7 year old couldn't be together. But, again, in the evenings, our 2 year old was allowed upstairs, so it worked out. The 2 year old was quite happy in the daycare while we skied in Davos during the day. They have arts and crafts, stories, and a very cool and elaborate ball box and slide.

There is a very cool wading pool with fountains and with beautiful views of the mountains. The kids (and adults) loved it! Very relaxing and fun.

The hotel van will transport the kids to ski school in Davos. (The small ski school in Wiesen was not open yet when we were there). The male owner of the hotel was very vague when it came to details about sledding and skiing and really led us astray, causing us to waste several hours looking around for where to sled. We also had no idea that we needed to rent skis for our daughter in advance of the lesson (there isn't time to do this beforehand). Apparently there is a welcome reception each night where this type of information is provided but this isn't advertised anywhere and no one told us about it. There is a note on the daily program that you can buy a "welcome drink" for CHF7 in the evening, but that is actually when the information is given.

We had two unpleasant incidents where a very little boy was allowed to ride van back from Davos without his parents (an exception supposedly) and he cried hysterically the whole way home leaving only me (no caretaker from the hotel) to look after him. And somehow another kid's skis got lost; probably fell out of the back of the van as they were unsecured.

Overall, this was a an okay stay but we were disappointed about several aspects: hidden costs, food quality and service, misinformation, and not great cleaning service. The kids loved it though.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piedmontcamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wiesen
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Bellevue
3.1 mi away
Hotel Ducan
Hotel Ducan
#1 of 1 in Monstein
5.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss Davos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Kessler's Kulm Hotel
Kessler's Kulm Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wolfgang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
9.1 mi away
Ameron Mountain Hotel Davos
9.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Davos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apart- und Kinderhotel Muchetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apart- und Kinderhotel Muchetta

Property: Apart- und Kinderhotel Muchetta
Address: Aussergasse 18 | 7494 Davos Wiesen, Wiesen, Davos 7494, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Davos > Wiesen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Wiesen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Apart- und Kinderhotel Muchetta 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The apartment and children's hotel Muchetta is located in the idyllic Walser village of Wiesen, on the sunny side of the internationally renowned destination of Davos-Klosters.Switzerland's first children's hotel has trained employees to animate kids to craft and creatively play in the children's paradise, which includes a ball pool, Lego corner and workshop. Parents enjoy as much freedom as they want, for example, to discover the intact landscape of Parc Ela - Switzerland's largest natural park - on foot or mountain bike, or to enjoy a round of golfing on one of the nearby courses. During the summer season guest card holders can take advantage of free rides on all of the mountain railways, local buses as well as the Rhätische Bahn in the entire Davos Klosters destination. And in the winter there are snow proof skiing areas, cross-country tracks as well as spectacular winter hiking trails and toboggan runs for those unforgettable holiday adventures ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Apart- und Kinderhotel Muchetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apart- Und Kinderhotel Muchetta Switzerland/Wiesen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing