We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Albir Garden Resort
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in L'Alfas del Pi
Banchory
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Enjoyable holiday”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

After reading several of the reviews for this hotel we were a little apprehensive, It was far better than expected. We were all inclusive - the food was plentiful and had good variety, no problem with any drinks and the staff were friendly and helpful. The accommodation was a little tired but adequate, clean and comfortable. We were there early November and the hotel obviously caters for many sports-related groups. Sometimes the youngsters were more entertaining than the "entertainment". The entertainers were OK, making a good effort, but, hey ho, we were on holiday . Many reviewers had mentioned the noise from the entertainment, but all this occured indoors so there was no problem. The weather was surprisingly warm but I'm not sure if there is enough to do when the weather is not so good (even lots of the local shops were closed due to a "fiesta").
All in all a lovely week's break. We would certainly return and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    418
    319
    153
    143
See reviews for
778
259
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We went to the Albir Garden Resort 23rd September to 3rd October. Like many reviewers have said, we were to say the least a little concerned at some of the reviews..Well the weather was smashing, the hotel was far, far better than we could have hoped. We were all inclusive and never left the restaurant empty. The grounds were really well kept, just wish the pool has been a little warmer - the Pool Bar open - and some ENGLISH evening entertainment. Please people don't be put off this hotel is really good value. STAFF ALL BRILL just remember to treat them as you wish to be treated. If you go next year be considerate and quietly close your apartment door.

Room Tip: All rooms good, Its other holiday makers that can spoil your break by being inconsiderate at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scholar Green
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Last year we had a couple of nights in the Lakes, but for the same price we got a flight and 3 nights at the Albir Garden Resort. I'd say the accomodation falls somewhere between Butlins and Center Parcs. It's cheap and cheerful, a few things could have been better, general maintenance in the apartments needed doing, but not anything serious. Shower head shot back spraying water all over the bathroom, but if you didn't have the power full on that didn't happen. It was little things like that, not worth troubling reception about. Location is good, it's a pleasant 15 minute walk to the beach, there's shops, bars and restaurants, supermarkets a-plenty. If you fancy a trip into Benidorm it's a bus ride, or you could walk it as we did on the shorter route, taking about an hour. There's free entertainment onsite, but don't expect anything to blow your mind, it's strictly cabaret. Another thing, this isn't an 'English' resort, there are lots of different nationalities in Albir. There were Norweigan bars for instance, I liked that. Having stayed all-inclusive in the past, we decided we'd go self catering and this worked for us as we'd usually only have one main evening meal. There's a Romanian restaurant about 200yds down the road that's extremely popular with locals and they do a great 3 courses for about a tenner which includes a first drink.

Room Tip: A room facing the pool would have been nice. We were in block J which had a shaded balcony in the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neilsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

went here from 25th October to 1st November. No complaints at all, we were not limitd to one drink per person I often got 4 at a time for our party. Food was always hot and plenty of choice, if your fussy eaters then don't go all inclusive! Entertainment was basic but there are plenty of bars and restaurants around Rooms were clean and bedding clean, poolm area also kept clean and plenty of space. Little parks for kids to play in and about a 15 min walk to see front. Loved Albir and was close enough to Benidorm too, 1-50 euro on the bus which runs every 15 mins throught out the day till late evening and stops right outside hotel just look out for the no 10 bus which terminates in central Benidorm on street in from the beach. Will def consider using this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel as reading the reviews we kept a open mind
for the money we paid for all incusive the food was lovely something for everyone if there isn't then you must be very fussy
very clean and tidy and entertainment was same most nights but didn't bother us as the kids were happy and so was we
only thing I think is the rooms could do with updating

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2013

The resort of albir was lovely. The beach was great but the hotel was disappointing! Anyone staying there on all inclusive were only allowed to get one drink at a time at the bar and that was in plastic beakers!!! There was a constant long queue for drinks so we spent so long waiting in the queues that we just gave up in the end!!! The staff were miserable except for the very helpful reception staff! The pool was too deep too have fun in and the entertainment was pityful. We will not be returning to this hotel and we will not be recomending it!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTWs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

As always, I'm basing my review on the price we paid. This isn't a five-star resort - nor does it pretend to be. And given how cheap it is, there are bound to be niggles and imperfections. However, I think it was a bargain - the negative points were unimportant, and outweighed by the positives. Firstly, the location is pretty good. Albir is just 5-10 minutes' drive from Benidorm - close enough if you want some action but far enough away if you'd like something more peaceful. There is a bus stop just outside the hotel, although we had a hire car so didn't use it. There is a decent-sized supermarket just opposite, and lots of shops, bars and restaurants in the area. It's about a fifteen minute walk down to the beach at Albir - shingle and far smaller than Benidorm, but very pleasant. The reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We found most of the bar and restaurant staff the same - a smile and 'gracias' goes a long way! When the light in our bedroom wasn't working, we reported it to reception and someone was along to fix it within an hour - similarly with a problem with one of the pool tables. The room itself was basic but fine, the apartments are laid out in three-storey blocks of (I think) 9 apartments altogether. The layout is such that we didn't have any neighbours, which was brilliant - on the downside, you could hear everything from the stairwell, which was a problem halfway through the holiday, when some very inconsiderate and noisy people moved into the block. We had a one-bedroom apartment, which meant we could put the kids to bed and still have somewhere to sit ourselves - I think we drew the short straw though, as the sofa bed was not particularly comfy. The maids came and cleaned every day, and we had plenty of linen and towels (although they were rather small and rough). We initially had 2 blankets in the wardrobe but when they saw we were using them, more appeared in case the children needed them too (although they had bedspreads already). It was a bit lacking on space for clothes - the wardrobe was big enough, but there was a serious lack of drawers! There were cupboards in the lounge and the kitchen though, as well as a shelf, a dining table (4 chairs) and a coffee table, so there was ample opportunity for storage in general. There was a wide-screen TV but it didn't have any English channels - you could buy a TV card from reception (not sure how much) but we didn't bother. The kitchen was small, with 2 hobs, a microwave and a fridge. Not sure what there was in the way of equipment, as we were all-inclusive, but the fridge came in handy! The balcony was a reasonable size with a table and four chairs. No washing line but plenty of rail space. No cover though, which meant it wasn't sheltered from wind or rain. The bathroom was basic but adequate - no bath, but a big shower. A very small sink with hardly any space to put your bits and pieces, but it served our needs. The food was fine - the usual buffet affair really. We have eaten better food in all-inclusives, but we've also eaten far worse! There was a good choice, and I could always find something I liked - there's always chips and pasta for the fussier eaters! We stayed for eight days, and the food on the 8th day was the same as our first, so it looks like everything is repeated after a week - would get rather samey if you were there for a fortnight. They have Italian and Mexican evenings once a week, and we particularly enjoyed the Mexican food. The restaurant experience is a little chaotic - you have to find your own table and get your own drinks from the bar or the juice dispensers. You usually had to get your own cutlery too! The daytime entertainment had pretty much stopped, as we were out of season, but there was always something on in the evening. A team of one lady and two men seemed to run all the entertainment - they did a mini-disco and games for the children after dinner, which my children loved, and which catered for all nationalities. We did not stay for the entertainment after that, so can't really comment, but it seemed to be the same people in various guises - one of them men as an Elvis tribute, for example. The one time we stayed for an hour, we were pleasantly surprised at the quality of their singing. The pool was nice with no problem getting a sunbed in October (although they weren't adjustable!). There was a good children's playground next to what I assume is the kids club in season. There is also an indoor pool, although we didn't use this - partly because it was warm enough to swim outside, and partly because swimming caps are compulsory! The only real problem we encountered was with other guests. When we first arrived, they had around ten national Tai Kwando teams staying there - while they were not at all disruptive, it meant that the restaurant was extremely crowded for the first couple of days, and we ended up eating in a gazebo area for the first night. They regularly have sports teams staying there - once the Tai Kwando teams had left, there were football and gymnastics teams. None of them caused any problems other than overcrowding! For our last weekend, it was a Spanish bank holiday, and there was a sudden huge influx of Spanish families. The hotel coped with this by implementing a timing restriction for the restaurant - it didn't affect us much other than to ensure the restaurant was quiet and calm, while the new Spanish families always ate afterwards. However, we found a lot of them to be very noisy and disrespectful, shouting up the stairs to their apartments at 12am, and leaving the area outside the bar in a filthy state. We also had a lot of problems with various nationalities pushing in the queues at dinner, with one lady being very rude to me. It did put a bit of a damper on things, but was hardly the hotel's fault. Overall, we were very happy with our stay here - it was not luxury, but we didn't pay for it. I'm more worried about our room being clean that a damp patch in the bathroom. I'm more worried about the food being good than having my drink brought to me. I'm more worried about the staff being friendly than well-known entertainers. If they could just changed some of their clientele, it would be brilliant!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HolidayObsessive1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Alfas del Pi
0.3 mi away
Magic Robin Hood
Magic Robin Hood
#6 of 14 in L'Alfas del Pi
91 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albir Playa Hotel & Spa
Albir Playa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 14 in L'Alfas del Pi
1,128 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kaktus Albir
Hotel Kaktus Albir
#4 of 14 in L'Alfas del Pi
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Magic Aqua Rock Gardens
Magic Aqua Rock Gardens
#42 of 192 in Benidorm
2,112 reviews
20.9 mi away
Hotel Bonalba Alicante
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sun Palace Albir Lounge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albir Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albir Garden Resort

Property: Albir Garden Resort
Address: Camino Viejo de Altea 29, 03581, L'Alfas del Pi, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > L'Alfas del Pi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in L'Alfas del Pi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Albir Garden Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 426
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albir Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albir Garden Apartments Hotel l`Alfas Del Pi
Albir Garden Resort Spain/Province Of Alicante - Costa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing