We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely holiday definitely recommended :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Albir Garden Resort
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in L'Alfas del Pi
Bembridge, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely holiday definitely recommended :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed in AGR for 1 week all inclusive from 12th August 2 adults 1 child (age 4). Overall the holiday was brilliant value - we booked last minute for a great price - and if it weren't for the lack of English speaking entertainment I would have starred it as excellent. Overall would def. recommend this place its great value

The rooms were basic but faultlessly clean - all beds comfortable and in good condition with proper mattress protectors and linen changed twice a week. Room cleaned very nicely everyday with new towels everyday (despite hanging ours up to use again!!). No problems in our room. (we were in H block)

The pools (all 4!) were very clean and well maintained (bit of sand in the big paddling pool but hey - not surprising as the play park is in a sand pit and wasn’t an issue at all) Life guards throughout the pool opening times who were very good and observant. I saw someone checking the chlorine levels 3 times during my stay and clearing the filters daily.

The restaurant - well, I was really impressed at how well the hectic service times were managed and how hard all the F&B and kitchen staff worked to keep the tables and plates cleared and new plates cutlery just kept coming like magic, the food was constantly replenished all hot and well prepared and cooked. Literally something for everyone (it did get a bit samey but cannot fault the quality and service - brilliant)

On the other hand the only downside in the restaurant was the guests behaviour and grumpiness in their quest to get food- it was sometimes very busy and I did experience an awful lot of rudeness, pushing and shoving not any one nationality, everyone was a bad as each other - it’s a shame because the food was so well replenished, there really was no need!! but with a really good snack bar with a constant supply of bread rolls (soft ones) hot dogs burgers chips sausages and sometimes bacon, and sandwich toasting friendly bar staff - this really wasn't a problem!

The entertainment was or would have been fantastic if they had been able to get more English speaking entertainers - there were more than enough English speaking guests to justify it and It’s the only thing I can think of that could be improved. The ents team worked really hard and I think were a bit put off as guests didn’t seem to appreciate it all – but I think that was all due to the language barrier….

There was a free Wi-Fi in the hotel bar and on the terrace by the bar - it was a bit slow but it did work to update emails and check FB *(if you want to on holiday!!) - you just had to ask reception for the password when you check in – it’s not brilliant and sometimes took a long time to load anything but if you do want to (not sure why you would - i loved escaping the internet) you can buy very reasonable fast Wi-Fi that works all over the hotel complex for very reasonable prices from reception either the desk or the machine - both fair speeds.

Our room was by the play park - which was a bit quieter than those by the main block or round the pool but all rooms are air-conditioned (very good in our room) so once doors are shut at night you can’t hear anything anyway! I love that the hotel is spread around several blocks only 3 story high and not a high rise monstrosity. The grounds are extremely well kept and really lovely.

The play park - My daughter loved it! it was really good! Couldn’t rave about it enough!

The pool sun loungers! Very funny to observe - we just aren’t the sort to join in the morning battle for a spot and reserving loungers- if you want to join in tho – you have to get up and out before 8am and put a couple of chairs with your towels out where you want your loungers then be ready for the off at 9-9.30 when they unlock the loungers (yes, unlock – they chain them up at night! – I don’t blame them people can be funny!) If you are like us there is plenty of soft grass and garden space to sit lay on around the pool and actually, it’s more comfortable ;)

The kids club ???? well due to lack of English speaking entertainers my daughter (bit shy anyway, she is only 4!) was too scared to join in anything she preferred to play with the friends she had made in the paddling pool, and was so tired out after dinner she was happy to sit and listen. Although I did see that older kids loved the activities they looked fun and older kids seemed to really enjoy it so hope that helps.

If you are wondering what the noise in the trees is – cicadas, look them up - fascinating!!
The location is really lovely – L’Albir is a really lovely place with a friendly feel it has obviously suffered a little from the recession and the fact that all the major hotels in the town/village have everything their guests need on site… – but I found it really welcoming and all shops great – there is a fab place down on the seafront at Albir to visit in the evenings with fair rides etc. and shops, bars ,cafes worth a walk down there. There is great market on Sunday mornings about halfway down the main road to the beach would recommend a wander to that. Regular Buses to Benidorm if that’s your thing?! although taxi is much quicker and not too pricey. Top tip check shop closing times – it’s not Benidorm, real people live here, so it’s not 24/7 or open into the night and they don’t appreciate a supermarket dash at closing time – oops!

The transfer time from the airport is quite long if you buy your transfer from the standard coach type company as you have to weave through the labyrinth of streets of Benidorm first for all other drop offs – don’t be surprised if you are last drop off and first pick up – having said that it’s the best value (if money isn’t an issue get a cab ;) but it really wasn’t awful!

If you can avoid flying R**n air, then do! But again it was good value (if you weigh your case carefully!) and no delays etc. read all the reviews on them before you travel!

Only slight grumble was our room wasn’t ready until 5pm on our arrival day we arrived at 1pm and the travel company had told us check in from midday but had a look at the hotels website and check in is from 5pm – not a lasting problem they issues our all-inclusive wrist bands and as I’d packed swimming stuff in the hand luggage so after a huff and a puff and a dig in the case for the sun cream we enjoyed the afternoon anyway! Anyway as said when we did see our room we were delighted so no biggie – oh any yes there is not an electric kettle but the hob kettle worked fine! If you are going self-catering it is very basic in the kitchen but it’s all clean and functional.

Yes there are a lot of Spanish people holidaying here ( it’s in Spain!?)– but in general everyone was friendly, you always get the odd nightmare family everywhere and they can be any nationality.

Staff are Brilliant and resort is fantastic value for money (but don’t expect the Ritz) its basic but it does basic very very well! I think it’s classed as quite a low star officially but I think for that classification it more than exceeds expectations. We would go again 

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank helskihels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    410
    316
    149
    141
See reviews for
756
257
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Our family (all ages) has just arrived home after a 7 day all inclusive holiday. The rooms are very dated but really clean, the towels were changed daily and the sheets once. The catering covers all tastes, although we did eat out a couple of times. As others have stated, the dining room is a free for all, unfortunately the Spanish who outnumbered the British were very rude. The staff on the whole were polite, but as there were not enough of them by the end of their shifts some were obviously tired. The entertainment was awful, although families with young children seemed to enjoy it but it was mostly in Spanish. As a family we made our own fun. It is a 15 minute walk to a lovely promenade by the beach, and there are some decent shops on the way there. Overall we really enjoyed the holiday, the apartments are set in lovely surroundings, the pools are great, and as it was quite a cheap holiday, we got what we paid for.

Room Tip: Rooms around the pool will be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jazzjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

After a 2 hour transfer taking in most of Benidorm we arrived on a scorching hot day. The room was not ready for us so we had lunch in the dining room and waited until 3pm before we were finally given our key card (check in time was supposed to be 12pm and we arrived at 1pm) the room however was OK when we eventually got in, air conditioning is a nice touch for a budget hotel, we stayed in block D which was nice and clean and near enough to all the facilities.
FOOD - Really pleased! There is always something on the menu even for the fussy eaters, I ate Steak a couple of times and there were roast chicken and Fish on most days as well as the standard Spanish fayre. Particularly enjoyed my Bacon, Eggs, sausages and beans every morning and the drinks flow freely. If you like a bottle of wine with your meals this isn't a problem either. There doesn't seem to any particular queuing system in the dining hall and don't be surprised when the Spanish barge in the queue in front of you, I think this may be a cultural thing and to be honest it didn't really bother us as there is always a plentiful supply of food, by the end of the week I found myself just barging in as they did and nobody gets offended by this. The barbecue and pool bars are particularly good if your peckish throughout the day too! A winner with the children.
POOL - Fantastic, cleaned daily and big enough to accommodate everyone. There are 4 pools all together but our favorite was the smaller of the 2 main pools with a maximum depth of 116cm so safe enough for the kids to splash around in while we soaked up the sun - the weather during our stay was faultless (if anything it was too hot - ranging from 29 to 35 degrees and we barely saw a cloud!)
ENTERTAINMENT - Dire! Our children have enjoyed mini discos on our last few holidays but even they weren't that interested here! It was mainly geared towards the Spanish guests who I would say outnumbered the English by about 4 to 1. The evening entertainment for grown ups wasn't much better either mainly consisting of 2nd rate entertainers who didn't really seem too eager to please, the only decent thing I enjoyed the whole week was a movie theme quiz, all i would say about the animacion team is okey dokey bye bye! having said that there are pool tables, air hockey, table football, games consoles and various other machines (all costing either 1 or 2 euros to play) and pay per use wifi available as well if you want to keep in touch with people back at home.

Overall we had a good stay and the hotel gave us a packed lunch to travel home with because we left before breakfast which I thought was a really nice touch and saved me some money buying overpriced food at the airport. We payed £1500 for 2 adults and 2 children and I think that's a fair price for peak season, I'd be disappointed though if I'd have paid anymore than that, it's not the Hilton but I suppose you get what you pay for so overall we were very satisfied!
Would we stay here again? Probably not but don't be put off by the negative reviews on here and the pictures of broken plug sockets it's an OK complex if your traveling on a budget.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sjones110569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Have just returned following a week here all inclusive. Cannot fault it. Not in Benidorm (fortunately). Room cleaned everyday. Place spotless. great pools. Ideal for families. Normal debacle for sunbeds in the morning, but quite funny. The restaurant was busy at times, but you learned the busy times to avoid. All staff lovely. Any problems dealt with swiflty (eg light bulb in bedroom blew and was sorted within half an hour).
We got a last minute deal so was an absolute bargain. A great mixture of guests, Spanish. Engish etc.
Regular and reliable bus service No 10 goes into Benidorm and the beautiful Altea that has a pebbly beach. 1.5 euros each. They do not appear to do return tickets.
Top tip, the entertainment in the evening goes on til midnight, so if you have children or want a quiet apartment, do not ask for the room overlooking the pool. You are better away; near the children's play area etc where it is quiet.
Surrounded by well maintained gardens and beautiful mountains.
We had a fab week, until the Clampitts arrived but that is another story.
Go and enjoy!

Room Tip: Avoid pools side and main hotel if you wish it to be quiet. ask for blocks E, or anywhere near the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Egyptv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days In July All inclusive WOW, extremely clean everywhere, apartment blocks are quiet, well serviced/cleaned daily fresh sheets/towels regularly. Air Con!
The pool is very clean and cleaned thoroughly on a daily basis, The food is fab, everything you could possibly want, from Spanish foods - English foods and always chips pasta and bread available for the more fussy eaters. Staff were very friendly chatty and helpful, A queuing system is in place on an evening for the bar, however this works well as you aren't stood about ages waiting for your drinks with people pushing in front of you Loved it an would defo stay again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Abbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Come back from albir gardens on 16th august I agree with some previous reviews game show
entertainment were in spanish so you really did not know what was going on.food in restuarant was good , crazy queing though and running out of stuff plates butter food etc which formed these ques same for the bars as well thats the queing anyway.The grounds around the pools and aparments were supperb, and rooms were tidy.alot of english people we met shared the same views unfortunately not many of them are writing these reviews and should.albir gardens had the wow factor as soon as we saw it when we arrive but has the potential to be so much better perhaps 3, 4 star with the right guidance.oh and forgot to mention the spanish holiday makers are RUDE no pleases and thank yous whats the matter with them.I will not return to albir gadens a really shame.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Just returned from a two week stay here with my family.
We all had a fabulous time. Lots to do everyday for all ages, we took part most days in the activities- water aerobics, volley ball, water polo, table tennis, bowls etc. Evening entertainment starts at 8.30pm with the kids disco and games until 10pm when entertainment is aimed at adults wirAll staff worked really hard and despite working very long hours

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tracygi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Alfas del Pi
0.3 mi away
Magic Robin Hood
Magic Robin Hood
#6 of 14 in L'Alfas del Pi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albir Playa Hotel & Spa
Albir Playa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 14 in L'Alfas del Pi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kaktus Albir
Hotel Kaktus Albir
#5 of 14 in L'Alfas del Pi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Magic Aqua Rock Gardens
Magic Aqua Rock Gardens
#42 of 191 in Benidorm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,005 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sun Palace Albir Lounge & Spa
2.9 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
#36 of 191 in Benidorm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albir Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albir Garden Resort

Property: Albir Garden Resort
Address: Camino Viejo de Altea 29, 03581, L'Alfas del Pi, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > L'Alfas del Pi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in L'Alfas del Pi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Albir Garden Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 426
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albir Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albir Garden Apartments Hotel l`Alfas Del Pi
Albir Garden Resort Spain/Province Of Alicante - Costa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing