We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kaktus Albir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Kaktus Albir
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in L'Alfas del Pi
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We have just returned from one week bed & breakfast from this hotel.We had a room for 3 it was on the side of the building ,not a great view, the room was clean & spacious but very dated in need of a revamp & not enough storage for three. The breakfast was very good staff helpful & friendly.If you want Hotel entertainment this is not the hotel for you!!! Great location Right on the beach. Albir is a nice quite place,with lots of bars & nice Restaurants. Altea is worth a visit so easy to get a bus for a few euros .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ann d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    209
    118
    41
    19
See reviews for
118
251
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

My grandparents went to the Kaktus hotel Albir for 2 weeks and had a lovely stay as always. Food was good, service for good really helpful staff. So I would say highly recommended. A beach right in front of the hotel so you can chill out and relax. Rooms are great!. Best time of the year for weather (really lovely warm weather not like sweaty weather that is in July August) always great to go to a fab hotel ( we go there twice a year to that hotel)

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank The-Red-Eagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

I have just returned from this Hotel, I was there with my husband for 1 week. The Hotel is lovely but there are quite a few disappointments, the main one being the food is terrible, mostly served lukewarm, very little choice as it always seemed to be fish or seafood. The breakfast was awful I had toast with cheese every morning. The 2 guys who are at the dining room door Paco and Juan need some lessons on manners and how to smile at guests who are not Spanish, we were left standing while Paco showed a crowd of Spaniards to their table talking and laughing, he came back and rudely pointed over to the right and said over there, he was the same every night and Juan was not much better. The pool area is not very nice the pool is far too small for the size of the Hotel and the sunbeds need replaced they are falling apart. I was shocked to see they had no sun brollys especially were children are concerned, families had to go over to the beach and pay so their children could have some shade. I feel sorry for the staff as I think they work hard and there should be more of them. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful but wont be back.

Room Tip: 139 through to 539 are the only rooms with complete privacy on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Can't really fault the hotel itself. Bedroom/bathroom were spacious and very clean although you had to pay for the fridge. The rooms that were to the middle of the building don't have any privacy at all on their balconies as you are overlooked by everyone (my sister had room 368 which was on the outer side of the building(at the front) and beatiful views onto the beach). Roof terrace/pool had wonderful views. Most of the staff (especially the reception staff and cleaners) were very nice/friendly and helpful. Easy to travel by bus to Altea or Benidorm.

Downfall for me was the restaurant and choice of food - breakfast was great, dinner was not so great. If you don't like lots of fish/seafood there's not much of a selection (only one meat available most nights including sheep's head!). Chicken was not on the dinner menu at all when we were there. Ended up eating mostly chips/potatoes with salad and bread. Every night the "hot food" at dinner wasn't hot but only just luke warm which wasn't very good. The sweets weren't up to much either. Have been to 4 star hotels in the Costa Blanca before and the food was far superior to this.

Overall, would possibly go back to this quiet hotel but only bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caggsy675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed at the Kaktus in 2011 and enjoyed it, so when we were looking for a week in the sun it was an obvious choice.The standards were just as good, in fact I would say that the food was better than last time. Although Albir is just around the headland from Benidorm it is a world away, peaceful and pleasant. Not the kind of place I would take teenagers but there are many of us very grateful for that. Previous reviewers have commented on the entertainment but this is of a good standard and different acts are included at the week-end,if Benidorm is what you want then go there! I would far rather share my "digs" with Saga customers than other people's badly behaved children - courses for horses. I'm sure that this will not be my last visit to the Kaktus.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LizHenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We transferred here from the so called 5* Villa Gadea and were initially wowed by the bling and surface glitz of the reception and bar area in this unusually designed hotel. Actually its finest feature was the gorgeous green stone staircase and curved glass window which I doubt any of the guests even noticed! The glitz definitely did not extend to our room which was small and gloomy as a huge aged corner sofa unit (complete with holes in the upholstery) made it impossible to open the curtains further than the balcony door. The furnishings were green and tatty with the oldest TV I have seen in decades, with a dodgy aerial connection. I never did get Sky News in colour!The minibar cost 10 Euros to unlock even though we only wanted to use it as a fridge and settled for having it stocked with bottled water which we kept on the floor!! As for the bedding, I haven't seen patterned sheets like they used since the early 1970s.
I can't understand the reviewers who complain about the food,we found it delicious compared to the Villa Gadea, well cooked with great variety, plenty of choice,and different themed nights to look forward to! The dining room did resemble a care home at times, with wheelchairs, mobility scooters and trays fixed on zimmers indicating that this is a Saga used hotel and highly rated among their more aged customers. The dining room staff are more like care workers, helping the aged and infirm and even getting their food for them!
The unusual architecture has created two inside atria which, after a while, begin to resemble the landings typical of Victorian prisons like Strangeways, but carpeted. They also act as funnels for the awful row issuing from the bar pretending to be music. I never did work out if there were three different duos, or the same duo three times a week but either way they were loud & bad. No entertainment other than watching people learning to dance day in day out.
The whole place is looking scruffy and in need of a complete deep clean of all carpets, curtains and soft furnishings, but as the maids seem to get about five minutes to do each room,I'm not surprised. The attitude in the whole region appears to be, you get what you pay for, bare minimum. We didn't dare ask for more pillows or complain about the TV in case we were charged extra. I will not be visiting the Costa Blanca again.
One word of warning - definitely use the bedroom safe ( extra charge of course) as anyone can wander into the hotel from the promenade and go upstairs without passing reception. Mind you I never saw any sign of security there either. The locks on the bedroom doors are of dubious quality so keep your valuables locked up.

Room Tip: Rooms on the outside above the main entrance get the sun longest on the balcony, but don't expec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suecangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We spent a week here on 20th May 2013. Obviously I read reviews before booking so knew it was a saga hotel and so you would expect some elderly people The staff were excellent, cleaners always singing, rooms very clean and
comfortable and the choice of food was amazing, especially the salads. The location on the beach(pebbly) and the views from the balconies were superb, particularly after the transfer
from the airport by coach through Benidorm. O.K. the entertainment is non existent except for
the same couple singing and dancing to their music if you wish (ballroom not my scene) but a lovely walk along the bay after supper and Albir is a lovely small town with an excellent selection of restaurants, bars and shops.
The only complaint for the hotel was that the evening meal was not started until 8.00pm

Room Tip: I would suggest a higher room near to the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank xxx099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Alfas del Pi
0.5 mi away
Albir Playa Hotel & Spa
Albir Playa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 14 in L'Alfas del Pi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sun Palace Albir Lounge & Spa
0.8 mi away
Albir Garden Resort
Albir Garden Resort
#7 of 14 in L'Alfas del Pi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Cap Negret
Hotel Cap Negret
#3 of 8 in Altea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel SH Villa Gadea
0.5 mi away
Hotel Noguera
Hotel Noguera
#2 of 14 in L'Alfas del Pi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kaktus Albir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kaktus Albir

Property: Hotel Kaktus Albir
Address: Passeig de Les Estreles 11 | Playa del Albir, 03581, L'Alfas del Pi, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > L'Alfas del Pi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in L'Alfas del Pi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kaktus Albir 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kaktus Albir Kaktus Albir Hotel has been inaugurated in summer of 2003 and is situated just in front of the Albir Pebble Beach, in Alfaz del Pi, at only 8 kms of Benidorm, touristic capital of Costa Blanca, and 60 kms of the Airport of Alicante. It's only 10 meters from the beach, and in the old town you'll find a lot of shops, restaurants and bars. It's 10 kms from Benidorm bus station, which connects with Alicante, the airport and the rest of the coastal area, it's the perfect place for relaxing and exploring the area. We've an exterior pool for adults and children. In our roof terrace we have a second pool, that not only has wonderful views, in the winter season it is heated and covered. In the roof terrace you can also find sunbeds. The hotel has also bar service, four lifts, air conditioning, heating, and private parking. In our hotel you'll find a nice and helpful staff.Restaurant with Buffet all services: Breakfast , Lunch and Dinner . We have a Sailor's Buffet : Seafood and Fish, British Buffet and also a Special Spanish Tapas Buffet every Saturday evening. In our night Club we have Live Music 5 nights a week and several International shows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Kaktus Albir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kaktus Albir Spain/Province Of Alicante - Costa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing