We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but the food lets it down”
Review of Hotel Kaktus Albir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Kaktus Albir
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in L'Alfas del Pi
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Can't really fault the hotel itself. Bedroom/bathroom were spacious and very clean although you had to pay for the fridge. The rooms that were to the middle of the building don't have any privacy at all on their balconies as you are overlooked by everyone (my sister had room 368 which was on the outer side of the building(at the front) and beatiful views onto the beach). Roof terrace/pool had wonderful views. Most of the staff (especially the reception staff and cleaners) were very nice/friendly and helpful. Easy to travel by bus to Altea or Benidorm.

Downfall for me was the restaurant and choice of food - breakfast was great, dinner was not so great. If you don't like lots of fish/seafood there's not much of a selection (only one meat available most nights including sheep's head!). Chicken was not on the dinner menu at all when we were there. Ended up eating mostly chips/potatoes with salad and bread. Every night the "hot food" at dinner wasn't hot but only just luke warm which wasn't very good. The sweets weren't up to much either. Have been to 4 star hotels in the Costa Blanca before and the food was far superior to this.

Overall, would possibly go back to this quiet hotel but only bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Caggsy675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (625)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

236 - 242 of 626 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed at the Kaktus in 2011 and enjoyed it, so when we were looking for a week in the sun it was an obvious choice.The standards were just as good, in fact I would say that the food was better than last time. Although Albir is just around the headland from Benidorm it is a world away, peaceful and pleasant. Not the kind of place I would take teenagers but there are many of us very grateful for that. Previous reviewers have commented on the entertainment but this is of a good standard and different acts are included at the week-end,if Benidorm is what you want then go there! I would far rather share my "digs" with Saga customers than other people's badly behaved children - courses for horses. I'm sure that this will not be my last visit to the Kaktus.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LizHenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We transferred here from the so called 5* Villa Gadea and were initially wowed by the bling and surface glitz of the reception and bar area in this unusually designed hotel. Actually its finest feature was the gorgeous green stone staircase and curved glass window which I doubt any of the guests even noticed! The glitz definitely did not extend to our room which was small and gloomy as a huge aged corner sofa unit (complete with holes in the upholstery) made it impossible to open the curtains further than the balcony door. The furnishings were green and tatty with the oldest TV I have seen in decades, with a dodgy aerial connection. I never did get Sky News in colour!The minibar cost 10 Euros to unlock even though we only wanted to use it as a fridge and settled for having it stocked with bottled water which we kept on the floor!! As for the bedding, I haven't seen patterned sheets like they used since the early 1970s.
I can't understand the reviewers who complain about the food,we found it delicious compared to the Villa Gadea, well cooked with great variety, plenty of choice,and different themed nights to look forward to! The dining room did resemble a care home at times, with wheelchairs, mobility scooters and trays fixed on zimmers indicating that this is a Saga used hotel and highly rated among their more aged customers. The dining room staff are more like care workers, helping the aged and infirm and even getting their food for them!
The unusual architecture has created two inside atria which, after a while, begin to resemble the landings typical of Victorian prisons like Strangeways, but carpeted. They also act as funnels for the awful row issuing from the bar pretending to be music. I never did work out if there were three different duos, or the same duo three times a week but either way they were loud & bad. No entertainment other than watching people learning to dance day in day out.
The whole place is looking scruffy and in need of a complete deep clean of all carpets, curtains and soft furnishings, but as the maids seem to get about five minutes to do each room,I'm not surprised. The attitude in the whole region appears to be, you get what you pay for, bare minimum. We didn't dare ask for more pillows or complain about the TV in case we were charged extra. I will not be visiting the Costa Blanca again.
One word of warning - definitely use the bedroom safe ( extra charge of course) as anyone can wander into the hotel from the promenade and go upstairs without passing reception. Mind you I never saw any sign of security there either. The locks on the bedroom doors are of dubious quality so keep your valuables locked up.

Room Tip: Rooms on the outside above the main entrance get the sun longest on the balcony, but don't expec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank suecangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We spent a week here on 20th May 2013. Obviously I read reviews before booking so knew it was a saga hotel and so you would expect some elderly people The staff were excellent, cleaners always singing, rooms very clean and
comfortable and the choice of food was amazing, especially the salads. The location on the beach(pebbly) and the views from the balconies were superb, particularly after the transfer
from the airport by coach through Benidorm. O.K. the entertainment is non existent except for
the same couple singing and dancing to their music if you wish (ballroom not my scene) but a lovely walk along the bay after supper and Albir is a lovely small town with an excellent selection of restaurants, bars and shops.
The only complaint for the hotel was that the evening meal was not started until 8.00pm

Room Tip: I would suggest a higher room near to the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank xxx099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

If you want to go somewhere to die , please go here. Nice Hotel, Nice rooms, Nice staff, Nice food. Beautifull Location .....BUT no entertainment unless you want to sit in a vast room with the same boring duo singing 5 nights a week, the same songs while a few old spanish couples quick step around the dance floor.

The town is good, the bus service to Altea and Benidorm is fantastic, but if your under 65 dont bother and please do not subject your children to it.

Room Tip: All rooma have a nice view I would try and select an outside view as if your on the inside of the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank minesavodka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We have just returned from this hotel, second visit and we were happy with almost everything this time around. We requested by email before we went for a room on the inner part of the hotel as last time we were on the outer and it was quite noisy in the early morning (rubbish collections etc ) Depends what you prefer as inner rooms you can hear all the evening entertainment which we did not mind as we are not early to bed people. Food was plentiful and a very good selection, if you like your meal hot as l do you will need to use the microwave...,salads and seafood selection was amazing !!!!.....Just wish it would cater more for the British TV you can only take so much of Sky news and BBc news on what l can only say are very old grainy sets.......They really look after their Spanish guests sometimes at the expense of their other guests but all in all we will go back again as we love the position and this area of Spain

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travelingann45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Perhaps we were influenced by poor weather so we were around the hotel more than we hoped. Staff were cheerful, and polite.
the disapointing event -small in mny ways -happened in the restaurant where we asked for a glass of red wine and one of white. Reply -you can't have glasses you must buy a small bottle each. This despite other tables having glasses. May wife mentioned this to the restaurant manager who gave her a glass gratis. But it happened again so we didn't bother
television terrible -normally this would not bother us but inclement weather meant we would have watches some TV BBC24, Sky News and Sport and even then signal often broke up.
Certainly not a 4 star hotel

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jaybeech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Alfas del Pi
0.5 mi away
Albir Playa Hotel & Spa
Albir Playa Hotel & Spa
#2 of 15 in L'Alfas del Pi
1,249 reviews
0.9 mi away
Albir Garden Resort
Albir Garden Resort
#7 of 15 in L'Alfas del Pi
1,427 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sun Palace Albir Lounge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel SH Villa Gadea
2.7 mi away
Hotel Cap Negret
Hotel Cap Negret
#3 of 7 in Altea
666 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Noguera
Hotel Noguera
#3 of 15 in L'Alfas del Pi
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kaktus Albir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kaktus Albir

Address: Paseo de las Estrellas 11 | Playa del Albir, 03581, L'Alfas del Pi, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > L'Alfas del Pi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in L'Alfas del Pi
Price Range: $98 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kaktus Albir 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kaktus Albir Kaktus Albir Hotel has been inaugurated in summer of 2003 and is situated just in front of the Albir Pebble Beach, in Alfaz del Pi, at only 8 kms of Benidorm, touristic capital of Costa Blanca, and 60 kms of the Airport of Alicante. It's only 10 meters from the beach, and in the old town you'll find a lot of shops, restaurants and bars. It's 10 kms from Benidorm bus station, which connects with Alicante, the airport and the rest of the coastal area, it's the perfect place for relaxing and exploring the area. We've an exterior pool for adults and children. In our roof terrace we have a second pool, that not only has wonderful views, in the winter season it is heated and covered. In the roof terrace you can also find sunbeds. The hotel has also bar service, four lifts, air conditioning, heating, and private parking. In our hotel you'll find a nice and helpful staff.Restaurant with Buffet all services: Breakfast , Lunch and Dinner . We have a Sailor's Buffet : Seafood and Fish, British Buffet and also a Special Spanish Tapas Buffet every Saturday evening. In our night Club we have Live Music 5 nights a week and several International shows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Kaktus Albir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kaktus Albir Spain/Province Of Alicante - Costa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing