We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Kaktus Albir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Kaktus Albir
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in L'Alfas del Pi
Torrevieja, Comunidad Valenciana, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic hotel and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Very good hotel and to me one of the best in the area of Albir . I always stay in this hotel during my business trips in the large area of Albir. Very recommended. Big garage.
Heel goed hotel en voor mij één van de beste in the omgeving Albir. Ik verblijf altijd in dit hotel tijdens mijn werkverplaatsingen in de ruime regio Albir. Uitermate aanbevolen. Ruime garage.

Room Tip: Always asked for the top level rooms with view on the beach. Vraag altijd naar een hoger gelegen kam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lieven0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    214
    119
    42
    20
See reviews for
121
258
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Kaktus hotel is a reasonable cheap hotel with good facilities very close to the (pebbled) beach. Nice rooms with spacious bathroom and a small balcony with/without sea view. breakfast is mediocre, lot's of elderly people milling around. Funny thing is that when you buy e G&T and take it to your room, someone from reception/bar can follow you and knock on your door, if you don't reply they will call your room and suggest that 'they can deliver anything and everything 24 hours'. Which I personally do not like at all. therefore be careful when travelling alone.

Room Tip: check that you don't get a room with a kitchenette as the 'hood' is very noisy when it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

My partner and I have travelled to Spain on many occasions and previously concentrated on Malaga or Palma Majorca resorts, having read many good reports about the Costa Blanca we decided that we must give it a try – but not Benidorm as we are certainly not ‘24hr party people!’
We carried out a bit of research on the internet and were soon attracted to Albir situated just outside Benidorm, we made arrangements to spend five nights there and we were not disappointed.
We booked the hotel, flights and transfers with easyJet flying from Liverpool airport. As usual with easyJet their first flights out of Liverpool start at 0600 hours and an aircraft departs every five minutes – ours was scheduled for 0610 and took off bang on time. After a comfortable flight, 2hrs 20mins later we landed at Alicante. With fast passage through customs and on to the awaiting coach for our transfer we soon realised that this was not going to be quick, as Albir is the final destination. There were a lot of people going to Benidorm, after some extremely fine driving in the back streets of Benidorm, in which the driver delivered around 40 passengers to their accommodation, we were off to Albir which took around 90 minutes – but in the end well worth it!!

On entering the Kaktus it was immediately obvious it is a quality hotel. Your eye is drawn at once to the open area above, which goes all the way up to the glass skylights at the top of the hotel which the rooms are ranged around. There is an identical one at the other side of the concert/ballroom/bar - which is situated between the two. There is a very comfortable quiet lounge as well as lounge seating in the concert room. Reception was very friendly and efficient, safe key available for daily charge plus refundable deposit, extra pillows are no problem. We took one of the three lifts to our room on the fifth floor; the lifts have brilliant views out to sea and are fast and quiet. Our room was massive with King size bed and a large corner seating area with coffee table, the dressing table and chair are by the large patio doors which open out on to a small balcony with table and chairs, our only disappointment was that there is no lighting in the evening, the bathroom was spotless and well-appointed with bath and overhead shower which worked very well, cleaning was done each day and towels changed if you left them in the bath a common practice now in order to save unnecessary laundering.
There is a nice roof terrace on top of the hotel which includes a spa type pool, there were a small number of sunbeds of which a few were broken, hopefully be replaced for the coming season.
The restaurant is massive and really lovely with detailed ceilings and furnishings, food is the usual buffet style and the selection is excellent, we have never seen such an array of different dishes especially on the cold/salad buffet island. There were individual crabs, full salmon which you helped yourself to and massive prawns together with many cold meat selections also a good variety of salad items. The hot buffet was also well presented with meat/fish/vegetarian items there was also a chef cooking a different selection each evening, mention has been made in previous posts about food running out – at the beginning of service there are two counters of identical dishes to cope with the ‘early rush’ and believe me it is just that, Dinner service does not start until 2000hrs – which we feel is a little late - and at the beginning there is a mad dash in fact a queue to get in, so we went down a little later but there was always plenty to choose from, after the initial onslaught one of the hot food counters is not replenished hence people think the selection has diminished. Drinks in the restaurant are not expensive – in fact even in the bars some drinks are cheaper than in the local bars – beer included! Entertainment in the hotel was very well supported there was usually an act or vocalist which was followed by dancing until midnight which plenty of people took part in, as mentioned drinks were not expensive and it was nice to sit outside looking out over the water, we did sit facing the ‘Saga’ section of the bar one evening and noticed that not one customer dropped anything in the ‘pot’ for the bar staff, that perhaps explains some of their comments about ‘surly’ staff who made them wait. The weather was excellent – apart from a couple of spectacular evening storms of which all trace had gone by morning, daytime temperatures were mid/high 70 deg.
Albir is a lovely quiet resort – very clean and relaxing with nice long promenade, turn left from the hotel and it is around 30mins stroll to Altea which again is lovely with a lot more bars and shops just off the promenade, turn right from hotel and just a few hundred yards brings you to a nice bar – Goleta Beach – very friendly staff and fair prices many drinks accompanied by a free Tapas, carry on in the same direction and it takes you to the shopping area of Albir and the supermarket.
We really enjoyed our Albir break and Hotel Kaktus and will certainly return if you want ‘lively/rowdy’ – Benidorm, if you want relaxed/quiet – Albir!!!!

Room Tip: Higher room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Lancashirerover H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Modern, spacious hotel right on the seafront. Most rooms have superb views from balconies and are spacious and well equipped. The buffet breakfasts and dinners are excellent with a wide choice. On "Norweigan" night there was venison and lobster! Parking was easy and there's a frequent bus to Altea and Benidorm. I was there in December and most guests were elderly but it livened up with Spanish guests at the weekend when there's live music. Drinks are reasonably priced - a glass of wine is €1.50

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mikethetyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed at the Kactus Albir with some friends who wer playing a cricket tournament (Ibiza Cricket club) good food efficient staff and a clean and tidy hotel - the housekeeping staff were excellent and in short everything was good.
a perfect stay.

Room Tip: the ocean fronted suites are best but all rooms are good in size and quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenJohnson66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

My grandparents went to the kaktus hotel albir for 2 weeks. They had a really nice time. They are regulars at the Kaktus hotel and everyone knows them. They enjoyed the food there and the staff were really nice to them as always. So yes i would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a hotel with a good view and wants to relax on the beach.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank The-Red-Eagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akranes
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

The Kaktus hotel is a good hotel, location was very good, rooms were good, but the bed were hard. The people who works there are friendly. The food in the restaurant is OK, but not more than that. The weather was great, 25-30 °c.

Room Tip: We was on the 5th floor and that was great with all that wiew and sunbeds on the rooftops and swimmi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Gudný Ó
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Alfas del Pi
0.5 mi away
Albir Playa Hotel & Spa
Albir Playa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 14 in L'Alfas del Pi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sun Palace Albir Lounge & Spa
0.8 mi away
Albir Garden Resort
Albir Garden Resort
#7 of 14 in L'Alfas del Pi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Cap Negret
Hotel Cap Negret
#3 of 8 in Altea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel SH Villa Gadea
1.1 mi away
Magic Robin Hood
Magic Robin Hood
#6 of 14 in L'Alfas del Pi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kaktus Albir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kaktus Albir

Property: Hotel Kaktus Albir
Address: Passeig de Les Estreles 11 | Playa del Albir, 03581, L'Alfas del Pi, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > L'Alfas del Pi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in L'Alfas del Pi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kaktus Albir 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kaktus Albir Kaktus Albir Hotel has been inaugurated in summer of 2003 and is situated just in front of the Albir Pebble Beach, in Alfaz del Pi, at only 8 kms of Benidorm, touristic capital of Costa Blanca, and 60 kms of the Airport of Alicante. It's only 10 meters from the beach, and in the old town you'll find a lot of shops, restaurants and bars. It's 10 kms from Benidorm bus station, which connects with Alicante, the airport and the rest of the coastal area, it's the perfect place for relaxing and exploring the area. We've an exterior pool for adults and children. In our roof terrace we have a second pool, that not only has wonderful views, in the winter season it is heated and covered. In the roof terrace you can also find sunbeds. The hotel has also bar service, four lifts, air conditioning, heating, and private parking. In our hotel you'll find a nice and helpful staff.Restaurant with Buffet all services: Breakfast , Lunch and Dinner . We have a Sailor's Buffet : Seafood and Fish, British Buffet and also a Special Spanish Tapas Buffet every Saturday evening. In our night Club we have Live Music 5 nights a week and several International shows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kaktus Albir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kaktus Albir Spain/Province Of Alicante - Costa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing